227

Show Reviews (12)

Great
224 votes
8.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 2.2

    I never wrote this review or rated the show, I have never seen it

    By sh1fter-shinken, Nov 28, 2011

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    I never wrote this review, never seen the show....

    Hope this is okmoreless

    0 1

  • 10

    Bye Sandra!

    By p5280j, Feb 26, 2009

    This episode is such a "227" classic.



    This marks Jackee's (Sandra) last appearance on the show. I will say this- she went out with a bang!



    There's no explanation of her character leaving, but this episode rocks. It's so funny and kind of a bitter sweet end for Sandra. Throughout the whole series Sandra and Mary have been fighting and arguing and in Sandra's last episode Mary steps up to help her when she knows that Sandra has been treated unfairly. Can we say the two ended on a friendly note?



    If so, that would be very ironic because the reason of Jackee's departing of show was because of a feud between her and Marla Gibbs. After Jackee won her Emmy, Marla (who was the head of the show) didn't send flowers or allow the other cast members of the show to throw her party.moreless

    0 1

  • 10

    Should Be Released As A DVD Box Set!!!!

    By lovesexydarlene, Nov 10, 2008

    227 is a fabulous show, i wish the whole 5 seasons Should Be Released As A DVD Box Set!!!! And in the SPECIAL FEATURES / BONUS:

    1. Behind-The-Scenes DONT FORGET THEM!!!!!

    2. Bloopers during the making of the scenes

    3. Jackee's pilot eposide of her own show (which flopped) as a bonus.

    The customers in amazon.com also says the same. Since everything is released on dvd now, even a one-season- only flopped shows are released on dvd! why not 227! They brought out Jackson 5, The Good Times, Different Strokes, The Cosby Show, Girlfriends, My Wife & Kids, etc.... why won't they release another one black comedy on dvd box set!!!!moreless

    1 1

  • 8.5

    loved it

    By texas2008, Oct 15, 2008

    A classical show with a hilarious star. Marla Gibbs is a funny lady. Jackee set a tone for all ladies to be not only sex but kind of clueless. Pearl was the funniest always had a crack whether on Sandra or her grandson. This tv show went off of air too quickly. I loved the show and the characters. It showcased and started many careers like Regina King who is a very good actress whether in comedy or drama. Thumbs up on this show. They should show reruns of this show.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!! !!!!!! !@!!! !!!!!! !!! ! ! ! !moreless

    1 0

  • 8.1

    It's an OK show.

    By tvaddict_10, May 23, 2007

    227 is one of my mom's favorite shows and thats how I was introduced to it. She bought the first season on dvd and I watched it. It's a funny show and I like it but it seems mediocre. Marla Gibbs was at her best in The Jeffersons but she was only ok in this show. I guess because I'm a guy it doesn't appeal to me as much and because it's an 80s show. Regina King was great though and its good to see how she started out. 227 isn't one of my favorites but it is worth watching.moreless

    3 0

  • 8.6

    Marla Gibbs is great.

    By telvisnostic, Mar 12, 2007

    As a fan of all things sitcoms, I was happy this show came about.

    Mary was a very good mother, even if she was overprotective towards her daughter Brenda.

    Lester was a loving and supporting husband who basically ran his own company.

    Her friends were great.

    Rose as the man hungry yet shy woman, Pearl as the wise old yet funny woman and Sandra as the man hungry not so shy woman rounded out the show.

    And who could forget Calvin, the hearthrob of the show that never was given a chance to truly develop.

    They dealt with problems and showed strong values when some shows strayed away from it.

    Unlike The Cosby Show, 227 did not mind talking about church and going to church or paticapating in church.

    This show was a personal favorite of mine, that has yet to be matched in the black family sitcom era.

    I miss this show alot and am very angry that only Season 1 is out on dvd.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    a great family show

    By Nick1978, Mar 11, 2007

    This popular sitcom that starred Marla Gibbs, who played Florence Johnston for many years on The Jeffersons, got her own show. She played Mary Jenkins, a housewife who lived with her contractor husband, Lester and their 14-year-old daughter Brenda. Mary's best friend was Rose Lee Holloway, who used to sit out with her on the stoop of the apartment building (#227) and discuss many things, especially Sandra Clark, the wise-cracking, hyperactive, and often scatter-brained woman from upstairs. Rose had a daughter named Tiffany. Next door to the Jenkins was the gossipping, yet loving, Pearl Shay, a crotchety busybody who lived with her grandson Calvin Dobbs, who was Brenda's first love. Throughout the final two seasons, several new characters appeared.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    a great family show

    By Nich978, Feb 21, 2007

    This popular sitcom that starred Marla Gibbs, who played Florence Johnston for many years on The Jeffersons, got her own show. She played Mary Jenkins, a housewife who lived with her contractor husband, Lester and their 14-year-old daughter Brenda. Mary's best friend was Rose Lee Holloway, who used to sit out with her on the stoop of the apartment building (#227) and discuss many things, especially Sandra Clark, the wise-cracking, hyperactive, and often scatter-brained woman from upstairs. Rose had a daughter named Tiffany. Next door to the Jenkins was the gossipping, yet loving, Pearl Shay, a crotchety busybody who lived with her grandson Calvin Dobbs, who was Brenda's first love. Throughout the final two seasons, several new characters appeared.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.7

    227: There's No Place Like Home

    By ahsfresh2def, Jan 01, 2007

    227 is an American sitcom that originally aired on the NBC network from September 14, 1985 to May 6, 1990. The program revolves around the lives of the occupants of a Washington, D.C. apartment building numbered 227, nearly all of whom are African American. Mary took a no-nonsense, old-fashioned approach to life, and Mary and Rose's views sometimes clashed. As the show went on, Jackée Harry's portrayal of man-hungry Sandra became very popular and, for all intents and purposes, displaced Marla Gibbs as the show's "star." In 1987, capitalizing on her popularity, Harry decided to just go by "Jackée". A good show.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    When your watching 227, it doesnt makes you feel like your anywhere else but home.

    By ANT890, Oct 12, 2006

    When I first watched this show in the TV One network I just fell in love with the comedy and theme music. I especially liked the last season, except how they would play crazy music at the end of every scene or punchline. I also liked the devil of a landlord, mister Julius C. Barlow, he was rich. I would also watch the show because I liked Sandra and her smart allecky mouth and she was a cutie. Also, I would love to see what pearl spotted going on in the neighborhood. However, the top reason I would watch 227 was because of Marla Gibbs. I loved her no non-sense attitude and her comical remarks after someones response and how she would dress up just to be nosy.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews