Animal Rights

Episode Reviews (19)

Good
43 votes
7.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 6.0

    Overblown attempt at Animal Rights vs Human Rights

    By LukeRademache, Feb 15, 2011

    I am an Omnivore and a Human. The rights I have are not the same as an Animal. I am Higher on the foodchain. I love Animals. I have 2 cats in my house who are my Pets, they are my fur-babies. I love them like my family. I love to eat Meat. However I am allergic to various things Two of which is Dairy and Shellfish. So I tend to eat a healthier diet. I live eating Vegetarian and many of the aspects of the Vegan diet also appeal to me as well. However the whole PETA thing is disturbing to me. This guy George the Hunter who goes to Los Angeles and is forced to live with a family of PETA activists who are Vegan is appalling. These PETA People are simply put overzealous and as bad as any KKK or Neo-Nazi person out there. This show was messy. I liked the guy who had to sit/stand and be forced fed this stuff. He was a good ol boy who was MORE Open AND Accepting than the PETA Family he was stuck with. There is nothing Wrong With Eating Meat.

    I personally don't agree with Hunters or Hunting but On the same side I don't think Harassing people as PETA does is the way to spread your message.moreless

    0 0

  • 2.3

    This show was a biased PETA slanted work of editing that was full of one sided opinions half truths and out right lies and for the first time I am disgusted with this show it seems that 30 Days is going PC and that's a sad Day

    By Doug158, May 30, 2010

    I have been waiting to see this show since it was first listed since I am an advent hunter and at the beginning I could tell from the way it started that George Snedecker was going to be portrayed as a southern redneck. Then when he gets to California to live with the vegan Family it turns out that she is an Official with PETA. Then thru the magic of editing the rest of the show is a long commercial for PETA that was full of one side conversations half truths and out right lies and is supposed to lead us to believe that George is now a vegan PETA supporter and I don't believe that BS for one minute. I really liked the out right lie told in the middle and repeated at the end of the show where we are supposed to believe that dead and sick animals were ground in to hamburger and sold to the public. I call BS they are picked up and rendered down for other purposes such as soap and other industrial uses it is never sold as food and why wasn't the Fact that PETA kills animals such as cats and dogs and throws them in dumpster mentioned. I also saw that the Lady at the rescue farm keep saying that anyone who doesn't believe in animal rights is in the same league as Hitler and the Nazi's and what they did to the Jews. I can't tell y'all enough how Disappointed and Disgusted I am with the slant and tone of this episode and sad that this show is turning into a Politically Correct liberal mouth piece we already have enough of those Doug158moreless

    2 6

  • 1.5

    One-sided and dishonest.

    By uloctralen, May 29, 2010

    Knowing that Morgan Spurlock is married to a vegan, I wasn't expecting this episode to be as balanced as others I've seen. The extent of the bias was still pretty shocking, though. This episode was basically an hour long advertisement for PETA. Despite being a self-proclaimed animal lover who opposes creuelty to animals, the hunter (George) was portrayed as an ignorant hate-filled redneck in desperate need of a "re-education" from the saintly vegans, who fed George a steady diet of lies, extremism, and self-rightousness throughout his stay. He was told that sick and dead cattle are ground up for human consumption. He was forced to participate in 2 protests, one of which was fairly extreme in its glorification of violence against the meat industry. He was told that meat eaters are no better than Nazis. He was chastised for placing the lives of humans ahead of those of animals. The show was blatantly propagandistic the whole way through.moreless

    3 7

  • 10

    Fantastic. Every second.

    By MisMeryMack, May 29, 2010

    I think it's sad that people honestly believe what was displayed on this episode was false. It's hard to realize you are endorsing something immoral. Admitting this implies you would need to change your life. We can't have that now can we?



    Everything displayed in this episode was true. There's nothing 'PC' about it. Fact is fact. If someone was changed due to this episode, well, then the show was a success.



    Denying the truth changes nothing about the reality. You can trash every activist until you are blue in the face. The facts will remain and people will not stop fighting for this.moreless

    2 2

  • 10

    Amazing and revealing. Very touching.

    By ATLshawty1313, May 29, 2010

    I thought this episode was amazing. There is no way to be one sided when it comes to animal cruelty, it's wrong no matter how you slice it. They showed what really happens on factory farms, how is that deceptive? George saw with his own eyes what happens to animals and it changed his opinion on animal rights, there is no getting around that. The family was incredibly genuine and that came across in the episode, especially when Melissa reaches out to George to understand his side of hunting. The behavior shown by the handlers on factory farms is inexcusable. It wouldn't matter if it was PETA or a different animal rights group, something has to be done to stop the cruelty. This episode did an amazing job of encompassing what the animal rights movement stands for. Hands down, this episode was phenomenal.moreless

    3 2

  • 10

    He lives with a family which probably most folks would imagine more stand-off-ish than they actually are. He starts to see that there is a lot of substance to the family's arguments and good reasons to live as they do.

    By AntiSean, May 29, 2010

    I was stunned to see how well-composed and calm Ms. Karpel and her family remained despite more-than-moderate heckling from their visitor and others. The episode probably annoys a great many people who, like myself, have grown up under the assumption that there is little or no problem with using animals as we see fit and aren't particularly eager to make adjustments in their lives to help others. I hadn't though about virtually any of this beforehand, but now I've got a lot on my mind and am honestly don't think eating animals or wearing them sounds too particularly appealing to me, especially since I live with one (a cat). I've got a lot of thinking to do and will begrudgingly go watch all of PETA's videos to make up my own mind.moreless

    4 3

  • 10

    Morgan is my hero. He does show both sides of the story. In this episode,George thinks farm animals are just food but then changes his mind. Even if he doesn't become Vegan he still thinks animals should be treated better than they are in factory farms

    By DebAMiller36, May 29, 2010

    This episode is just what we need to open peoples' eyes to the torture and mistreatment that animals endure. How are cattle and pigs so different from our dogs and cats that we all love? I know I can't eat beef or pork now and not think of how that animal was tortured. I hope it makes people think. There are so many alternatives to meat and healthier, too. I think anyone who goes to a factory farm and sees how they are treated cannot leave without wanting to do something to change that. It is a horrible site.moreless

    4 1

  • 9.5

    Another great "30 Days"

    By LCT4, May 29, 2010

    Once again, Spurlock has done a great job choosing his topic and casting interesting people with opposing viewpoints. Despite their diametrically opposed viewpoints on animal issues, the vegan family and the hunter showed respect for each other. I was surprised and moved by the hunter's ability to keep an open mind despite his strongly held opinions. His eventual conviction that the animal abuse he had witnessed was morally wrong was a tribute to his ability to take a hard look at his lifetime opinions in the face of new evidence. This is hard for anyone to do, and I applaud him for it. I also applaud Spurlock for taking on the often-ignored topic of institutional animal abuse in this country.moreless

    2 1

  • 1.2

    This episode should be pulled from the air.

    By farmer2008, May 29, 2010

    This episode should be pulled from the air. The people that call themselves animal rights people should be jailed for stealing the calf. The cause more problems than they fix. These idiots steal, lie and forge to get what they want. I personally have seen them take five horses and thirty cows just because the farmer had a twenty-two year old horse that didn't look very good, but all the other animals were fat and happy. These idiots didn't even take as good care of the animals as the farmer did they lost weight and some got so sick they had to be put down, because the people who took the animal didn't know how to take care of them. All of the people who think animal rights people are helping the animal need to truly look at the whole picture. And to anyone who thinks they are doing well by STEALING the animals should be JAILED, if the owner doesn't take care of the people stealing his animals.moreless

    0 5

Load More Reviews