Alias Smith and Jones

Show Reviews (17)

Great
232 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    As good as ever!

    By steveacoustic, Sep 01, 2014

    Yup, I agree entirely with mal2pool. AS&J looks as good as ever and I'm enjoying the re-runs on ITV4 hugely. They'll be over all too soon of course, with five episodes a week being broadcast. I've got the DVDs but it's somehow even better to watch them on live broadcast. Such quality scripting, dialogue and acting.

    0 0

  • 10

    Enjoying it again

    By mal2pool, Jul 02, 2014

    Watching the show again on ITV4. Still as good as the first time. Love the banter, they made a great team Pete Duel and Ben Murphy. Last of the great western series

    0 0

  • 9.2

    The show I remember insisting thefamily watch.

    By FlyGiT, Jun 28, 2007

    I have very fond memories of this show, along with my brother. As young boys, sat in front of the fire drying off on bath-night, eating crisps and bread'n'butter, glued to whatever was in store for the intrepid duo. I cannot recall any individual show, but I do remember that they were all enjoyable to watch. The whole series for me was excellent - hard to explain why.



    So without viewing each episode on this website, I look forward to the release of the DVDs - in the knowledge that I shall be 'glued' to the tv again in later life.moreless

    0 0

  • 5.0

    To waste your time, watch it.

    By da_dunker, May 03, 2007

    "Alias Smith and Jones" debuted on ABC in January 1971, little more than a year after the release of "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid," and that's hardly coincidental. The series was undoubtedly an attempt by Universal to cash-in on the success of the Paul Newman-Robert Redford megahit. The resemblance series co-star Ben Murphy had to the man with the blue eyes wasn't coincidental either. But "Alias Smith and Jones" was created by Roy Huggins, the man who gave us "Maverick," which one could say inspired "Butch..." so if anyone had the right to pattern a series on that movie, it was Huggins. Besides, this series achieved what the overrated "Butch" only aspired to. It had wit and style, was well-written, and had a first-rate cast. There was a solid chemisty between Pete Duel and Murphy, and the guest stars were also well chosen. I have fond memories of this show, although its quality deteriorated somewhat in February 1972 when Roger Davis took over for Duel (who died on New Year's Eve 1971 from a self-inflicted gunshot wound). It would be nice to see it released on video or at least added to the lineup on TV Land.moreless

    1 1

  • 10

    Last of the Great American Western tv shows. But not the least of what is probably the best ever made.

    By Inapendents, Jan 06, 2007

    In the end of the Classic American Western tv shows during the early '70s came this gem. In the history of wild west tv shows this could rate along with Cimarron Strip as the best ever made. Cimarron Strip more action drama this show had style and humor. A very hip show for young people at the time. It brought the long hair generation back to westerns. I was a little grasshopper at the time but could watch this with my big sister in high school. Mom and dad had Gunsmoke we had Hannibal Heyes and Kid Curry. Two outlaws of the ole west trying to set things right but to no evail. A laugh every week with the adventure they are on you can't wait for next time to bring them into your home. Very slick comedy with action and well written plots. I have never believed that Pete Duel killed himself. The chemistry between the two really made the show click. Now in Feb 2007 1st season dvds will be released to main stream video stores. Brisco County Jr one of the few westerns produced since then is great but more like a Wild Wild West with more humor. I think the scifi cult show Firefly picks up the style like Smith and Jones. Firefly has the feel of Alias Smith and Jones. Good guy outlaws who help folk in need when they can with humor and action. In the os Battlestar Gallactica I always thought that Apollo and Starbuck had the same chemistry as Heyes and Curry. Great American heroes of the Ole West who never shot anyone.moreless

    1 2

  • 8.0

    Despite being a "Butch" rip-off at its roots, ASJ is a fun show.

    By tvan01, Jul 19, 2006

    Glen A. Larson has been known to take succesful movies and "creating" a new TV series from its core concept. (Battlestar Galactica/Star Wars, BJ and the Bear/Smokey and the Bandit, Automan/Tron.)



    This was his first, taking the success of "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid" and cleaning it up for last 60's prime time, what with the "nortiuous outlaws but never killed anyone, so they're really OK guys" bit.



    However, the result is really quite good. The two leads have good chemistry and banter, the plots are very well contructed, and the guest stars are a lot of fun.



    I suggest watching Butch & Sundance before watching the series again, it's very interesting to see what was lifed and what was not (there's even a line in B&S "Which am I, Smith or Jones?" when they attepmt to go straight.)



    I'm watching the whole series on the Western Channel now, and enjoying it (note, the Pilot and the Day They Hung Kid Curry are 90 mins, and not part of their syndicated package. Hunt the Internet for those until a DVD is released one day.moreless

    2 0

  • 5.2

    Oh my god, this episode was really quite terrible and cringworthy to watch! The acting was very bad but it matched the writing.

    By Welshy31, Jun 18, 2006

    Oh my god, this episode was really quite terrible and cringworthy to watch! The acting was very bad but it matched the writing. The appearance of Pete from Fall Out Boy was just silly and the way as many of the characters could just be in a scene with him learning how to cook or kissing him due to believing it was dream!?!

    0 2

  • 9.0

    Two outlaws, Kid Curry & Hannibal Heyes change their ways and have to keep it straight until the Governor of Wyoming gives them amnesty.

    By Mettie, May 27, 2006

    I first watched this show with my dad the day I got my wisdom teeth pulled. I had heard of the title, but had no idea what is was about. Being a big Western buff, I fell in love with this show...the chemistry between Pete Duel and Ben Murphy made the show..cheesy scripts and all. It was like the "Love Boat" of the early 70's..fun to see who would be in the next episode. From Jack Cassidy to Sally Field to even Sorrell Booke ("Boss Hogg"), Alias Smith and Jones was a fun show I have just discovered...32 years after the last episode aired. I hope it is released on DVD so my dad and I can watch it for years to come.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Could have ran for years

    By kkirkup, Dec 01, 2005

    Alias Smith and Jones was my favorite show when I was 9 years old. When Pete Duel died, as a kid I was shocked. Now I watch the show with my 9 year old and it brings back memories. A classic show that could have ran for years if Pete hadn't died.

    2 0

Load More Reviews