American Idol

The Finalists Are Revealed In The First Live Results Show

Season 12, Ep 17, Aired 3/7/13
Rate Episode
2 votes
Write a Review
  • Episode Description
  • Tonight in a special extended edition, America's vote and the American Idol finalists will be revealed in the first elimination show Live from Los Angeles.

  • Fan Reviews (0)
  • Be the first to write a review!
  • Trivia & Quotes
  • Notes (3)

    • After each Top 10 contestant was revealed they sang a Victory Song. Songs sung tonight were:
      Paul Jolley-"Alone" by Heart
      Burnell Taylor-"Ready For Love" by India.Arie
      Curtis Finch, Jr.-"So High" by John Legend
      Devin Velez-"The Power of One (Change the World)" by Israel Houghton
      Lazaro Arbos-"Bridge Over Troubled Water" by Simon & Garfunkel
      Janelle Arthur-"Home" by Dierks Bentley
      Candice Glover-"I'm Going Down" by Rose Royce
      Angie Miller-"I Was Here" by Beyoncé
      Amber Holcomb-"I'm Every Woman" by Chaka Khan
      Kree Harrison-"Evidence" by Susan Tedeschi

    • For the first time ever Ryan announced the results for all of one gender before moving on to the other. Usually, he reveals results for one and then after the commercial break will reveal results for the other, and alternate throughout the results episode.

    • At the end of the show Ryan mentioned that there would be an 11th person going on tour. The top male and female vote getter who did not make the Top 10 will be having a Sing Off and then America will vote for who will go on Tour. This will be the second time 11 people go on Tour, the first being the Top 11 of Season 10.

    Trivia (6)

    • This episode took place at the Finals venue (in LA), even though the performances were done in Las Vegas.

    • There was no Group Number tonight.

    • This season, instead of having all the contestants on stage and then Ryan bringing up each contestant to center stage and revealing if they are safe or not, all contestants were in the back and only those who were safe were called upon. Ryan announced (in no particular order) one-by-one the safe contestants secretly, as the audience and Judges could not hear him. Then he brought them to the stage and the doors opened and revealed them. They then sang a "Victory Song". The contestants in the Top 10 are: Paul Jolley, Burnell Taylor, Curtis Finch, Jr., Devin Velez, Lazaro Arbos, Janelle Arthur, Candice Glover, Angie Miller, Amber Holcomb, Kree Harrison. The contestants who did not make the Top 10 were: Adriana Latonio, Aubrey Cleland, Breanna Steer, Charlie Askew, Cortez Shaw, Elijah Liu, Nick Boddington, Tenna Torres, Vincent Powell and Zoanette Johnson.

    • This episode's Twitter hashtags were: #ImWatchingIdol and #idoltop10.

    • After Paul's Victory Song, Ryan's mic was off for a few seconds, and then while Keith was talking and Ryan headed to the back, his mic was left on and you could hear his voice talking to one of the producers.

    Show More Trivia
  • Add a Comment
    In reply to :
    • There are no comments yet. Be the first by adding your thoughts above.