The Tale of Laughing in the Dark

Episode Reviews (18)

Superb
129 votes
9.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Exciting and in Vancouver?

    By nejihyuga21, Sep 22, 2008

    Well, Kristen was freaked out no duh! At first there were a lot of screaming going on especially in that spookhouse. Freaky wasn't it? In Vancouver and Playland was pretty much exciting but when I went there, my parents didn't leave me be but were with me there and I couldn't ditch them. Josh was so cocky and yeah, the Carney, was freaky enough. The house inside itself had nasty things going on. Weegee finally stepped up and dared Josh to do it. the legendary Zeebo made me suspicious. Zeebo's voice creeped me out big time and Josh is finally scared at last. He returned it and no harm done. The dinner and pudding was scary.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.1

    This is one of the episodes I remember most from my childhood.

    By davidhoke, Jun 04, 2008

    In my most honest opinion I believe this should have been the first scary story to be told by the kids. " The Tale of the Phantom Cab " was pivotal and this episode, though it had its flaws, was amazing. This is one of the few episodes I actually remembered watching when I was five years old or so. The only reasoning this episode doesn't get above 9.1 is because of some not so amazing acting, and because it was more of a suspense than a thriller. Overall, this is the episode you want to begin with. Forget the stupid tale of the phantom cab. Laughing in the Dark will be the only " pilot " episode you need.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Absolutely chilling!

    By Duofan, Dec 18, 2007

    This is one of my all time favorites of the AYAOTD Series. It is simply, great. I loved how the cast and the story sets up the mood. Especially when the viewers can see him snatching up the Clown's nose, we KNEW that something was about to happen.



    I am a bit too old to get afraid of this episode, but the fact that The Clown can seek revenge is a pretty scary thought.I also liked the part when he offers the clown to stop scaring him with cigars, I guess he learned his lesson?



    Either way, it is one of the best things that Nickelodeons could have produced.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.2

    Creepy! First episode I ever saw.

    By rebelu2, Jul 19, 2007

    This was pretty good. Zeebo the Clown was the best. This punk kid Josh says to his friend Weegee and his sister that he ain't afraid to go into this creepy fun house that is heard to be haunted by a ghost of a clown named Zeebo. I'm glad that little brat learned his lesson. I liked the acting of Josh and Weegee, but the best actor was Carney. He was brilliant with his line: "It's the most fun in the park when you're laughing in the dark." Brava!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.1

    If youre afraid of clowns then this episode is for you.

    By clockworx23, Apr 09, 2007

    This was another great episode. The main plot involved an evil clown and you cant go wrong with that. Overall it was a great episode that kept this show rolling out of the box.



    This episode was about a funhouse and the evil cigar-smoking clown named Zebo whose ghost supposedly haunts it. The main characters are a boy, his sister, and his cocky friend named Josh. They end up making a bet that if Josh goes into the funhouse and steals Zebo's nose then the boy will wear it to school for a week. Josh tried to act tough but once he was alone in the funhouse you could tell he was scared. He eventually takes Zebo's nose but not without conequences. Soon he starts getting small messages from the clown like smelling cigar smoke from out of nowhere. This all comes together when hes alone in his house one night. Zebo calls him, spreads a Z in spilled chocolate pudding, and blows up a balloon under his locked bedroom door with the words "Give It Back". Josh eventually goes back to the funhouse and gives Zebo not only his nose back but a box of cigars as a token of good faith. The episode ends with the man who ran the funhouse smoking one of the cigars leaving the thought open that maybe he was really Zebo.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    This is my all-time favorite episode of the series.

    By tvaddict_10, Mar 28, 2007

    Zeebo the Clown has scarred me for life. I was about five or six when I first saw this episode and since then I've been afraid of clowns. When I saw it again just recently everything about the episode was great. The actors and how they executed the strong plot. I guess Kristen and I are in the same boat. The creepy laugh of Zeebo is classic. I felt like I was Josh because the suspense of this episode was just that good. Oh and the funniest moment was when Kathy hit Josh with the garbage can top. As long as I don't have to face a clown. I can watch this episode all the time.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    This episode is about three kids who go to an amusement park and in the park they notice this strange haunted house and none of them are willing to go in because they believe it is haunted

    By WeAllLoveAYAOTD, Mar 20, 2007

    This episode is definitely the best in the entire series this one was pretty scary watching as a kid, its great to see Aron Tager in it even though he is not portraying dr vink but he is portraying Zeebo the clown. This episode along with others like the Phantom Cab, Midnight Madness, Dead Mans Float are the top episodes in the show. Without this episode in the series i believe the show wouldn't of been popular, this episode gave life to this show without it it would have been decent but with this episode the show was superb in my bookmoreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Second episode of the show.

    By Ladytink_534, Mar 09, 2007

    The acting for The Tale of Laughing in the Dark is only slightly better than in the first episode (The Tale of the Phantom Cab) but both stories were really good and the directing is well done. I actually remember seeing this episode on TV once because the clown really creeped me out. As you can guess, I’m not a big fan of clowns. That laugh alone sends chills up my spine! I wish there were shows like this still available because kids now don’t know what they’re missing!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    You can't beat the classics!

    By gbfan1, Jan 16, 2007

    This episode seemed to go for the all out scare. It was a really good episode. This episode was well directed. It was really fresh and looked almost movie quality. The plot for this one is that a smart alek kid steals a clown's nose from a fun house and the clown comes to get it back. I loved the suspences episode gave which kept me watching as a child in the 90's. Another plus for the episode is the really creepy music. It was an excellent second episode to the series and I recommend you watch this. Guest starring Aaron Taggert as Zeebo who plays Dr. Vink in the first episode and many episodes later.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews