Around The Horn

Show Reviews (41)

Great
421 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 7.5

    Tony Reali is VERY biased in awarding points, but... I still like the show!

    By 211of211, Jul 10, 2014

    I've been watching Around the Horn for probably about 5yrs now, and the one thing that frustrates me is how biased Tony Reali can be when awarding points. Some days it's worse than others. I have noticed that Woody Paige and Jackie MacMullen are the 2 panelists that Reali neglects the most when awarding points, while he often awards points to Bomani Jones and . Adande generously. At least in the episodes I have seen that is. It seems more often than not Reali awards panelists based on their witty responses and personality instead of awarding points based on actual sports statistics. I still enjoy the show very much, I just wish points were awarded more fairly that's all. I try to catch both Around the Horn and Pardon the Interruption on a daily basis. Both are a guilty pleasure of mine, though I do prefer PTI more. So yes, Tony Reali has his flaws, but most of the time he's entertaining enough to distract me from said flaws. If I'm judging the show fairly though I'd have to give it a 7.5 out of 10. PTI gets close to a 9 though.moreless

    0 0

  • 2.0

    Women participants

    By rodburgess, Feb 27, 2014

    I find it very interesting that this show spends a great deal of time supporting civil rights for blacks and gays but promotes misogyny. Every time Jackie MacMullen , or for that matter any woman, is on the show she almost always get knocked out in the first or second round. On the few occasions that she may win Reali treats her like she is just lucky to be there. I know she is paid for appearing but, maybe it is time women boycotted crap like this.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    get out blackistone

    By crush, Nov 08, 2013

    I find it very disturbing the diatribe of Kevin Blackistone regarding the segment about our National Anthem. The anthem that is sung before each sporting event is to show respect for those who lost their lives for this great country which allows the BLACK -I-STONES of the world to babble his banter to all of us. I used to respect his knowledge and his articulation, but now he's just another disgruntled black man spewing out garbage about what this nation stands for. He disgusts me and as of now I probably won't watch the show anymore as I watched it religiously on a daily basis.moreless

    0 0

  • 2.0

    Ravens vs. Patriots

    By CharlesA, Jan 23, 2012

    l live in Baltimore...a big Ravens fan. MICHAEL SMITH is completely right! l'd have given him 100 points on his comments of the Ravens! l couldn't even watch the Ravens attempt the field goal last night! How could John Harbaugh give up a measley 4th and 1 attempt inside the 25 yard line still with one time out to burn when he had the team attempt 4th and 6 beyond the 40 yard line with over 6 minutes to go in the game? How much sense did that make putting up a kicker known to fail half his attempts within 35 yards in the regular season!!? lt hurts to say this, but the Ravens deserved to lose.moreless

    0 2

  • 8.5

    Great Sports [Game] Show With Biased Point Score

    By pudgebyrd722, Dec 21, 2011

    I have to say that I like this show much more than other sports shows on ESPN like Pardon the Interruption, despite the cocky host, Tony Reali and his biased point score to determine which of the four panelists wins that day's episode. Sometimes I think the people whose opinions I agree with the most don't win because Tony agrees but he's too distracted by their great point-of-views that he forgets to "up" their points. Plus, I love Woody Paige. And I have to support my homestate Tim Kowlishaw's opinions.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    An entertaining sports show that features four sports panelists that argue over different topics that revolve around the world of sports. The arguments that the panelists give are scored by the host. The panelist with the highest score wins.

    By TRGS-4, Jul 15, 2010

    Around the Horn is a very entertaining show to watch. The Panelists are often very funny to watch, and they often add amusing interjections to the conversations. The panelists are knowledgeable about the wide variety of sports topics that are discussed on the show. My only problem with the show is that the host, Tony Reali, often does not score the arguments fairly, but i do believe that this adds some degree or enjoyment to the show. However, I believe that this does not occur very often, and therefore, it should only be considered a minor problem.



    Other then the above mentioned minor problem, the show is very good, and is very enjoyable to watch. The arguments that revolve around the different sports topics are enjoyable to listen to and offer a different perspective about what goes on in the world of sports. If you get a chance, watch the show, and be sure to watch for panelist Woody Paige's witty says that appear on the board behind him.moreless

    1 0

  • 5.2

    Reali needs to review his shows and see if he honestly feels like he is unbiased in the awarding of points.

    By mslynnn62, Jun 26, 2010

    I watch Around the Horn almost everyday, with my husband. I am constantly amazed at Reali not giving Woody points. He then will turn to Mariotti and give him a point for saying the exact same thing that Woody just said, and got no points for. We are not from Chicago or Denver, so we do not read either of their columns. Reali needs to review his shows and see if he honestly feels like he awards the points on an unbiased basis. It is obvious that he is partial to Jay! We just don't get it!moreless

    2 3

  • 10

    Ten Topics, Four Sports Writers, Four Mute Buttons, One Host, and One Daily Champion. In between all that is lots of sports news and yelling!

    By Baycityrookie, Aug 05, 2008

    If you need a daily sports news fix, Around the Horn is the show for you. Tony Reali is an excellent host. He always has a smile and is having fun with the colorful panelist. The two main panelist are Woody Page (Denver) and Jay Mariotti (Chicago). Other panelists that rotate through the weeks are Kevin Blackistone (Washington), Tim Cowlishaw(Dallas), JA Adande (Los Angeles), Isreal Gutierrez (Miami), Bob Ryan (Boston), Jim Armstrong (Denver), Bill Plaschke (Los angeles), and Jackie MacMullan (Boston). Not only is show funny with everyone arguing, everyone seems to have a good point. It's a great show for you sports news fix and see all the topics in the day of sports. I give this a 10 of 10 from a sports perspective. I hope you all check it out!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    An very interesting way to analyze sports topics.

    By sportsrock95, Aug 04, 2008

    I watch this show, because it displays a very interesting way to break down sports topics and see what everyone has to say, and for Woody Paige. =D



    Woody Paige is a smart panelist for the show, don't get me wrong, but he kind of reminds me of another Lou Pinella, or however you spell it. It's like he likes to argue, but trust me, the audience loves it. Well, almost every time besides the day he made it a pointless game by saying something, and the host did not keep score. =|



    But overall, the show is great. And like I said-they make it a creative way to discuss sports topics, by having four different panelists a day (I like it especially when at least Woody Paige, JA Adande, and Jay Mariotti are in there, and better-all of them) and they each have a chance to discuss sports news. When they say something good/smart, the host gives them a point or two. My favorite showdown: Woody Paige and Jay Mariotti. =Dmoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Witty banter, combined w/ sports puts me in a good mood, now if they would only be more kind to the teams I love :)

    By anorthview, Apr 29, 2008

    While they try to balance out the west coast and the east coast correspondents, denver and texas don't really count as the mid west, and while Chicago is, Jay is not the most open of people, he locks onto an opinion and doesn't budge.

    I would like to see a revolving 4 th guest, someone from Detroit, Kansas. The show is quick, they cover the top stories always, and make it fun even when the topics are dry. The point scoring is about as accurate as a broken watch, but it is all part of the entertainment.

    Tony has become a great host in the wake of Max leaving, he has made the show his own.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews