Pilot

Episode Reviews (22)

Superb
523 votes
9.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    about this episode

    By JordanWelch, Aug 14, 2013

    I find out very funny. It had wonderful script, directing and single-camera picture editing.

    1 0

  • 8.5

    101

    By Canogaparkcindy, Mar 23, 2011

    The pilot episode of Arrested Development definitely delivered with it's introduction. Certainly it wasn't the best episode of Arrested Development, but it was a great introduction to the series, and it was one of the best pilots I have ever seen.



    We've got very interesting characters with dynamic plots. It tied together very well, and it just gave us viewers a very good feel at the end. In the beginning, it was a bit slow paced, but that's the beauty of it, isn't it? My favorite characters from the start would definitely Jessica Walter's character or Michael's Cera's character. This show isn't afraid to cross any lines, which makes this show what it is. Too bad it got canceled so early in the game, but definitely a good pilot episode.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    This is the story of a wealthy family who lost it all and the one son who had to keep them all together. Moments after Michael Bluth decides he is leaving the family company for good his father is arrested for shady bookkeeping.

    By TraHag, Feb 14, 2011

    This one of the best pilot episodes that anyone can make because of the whit that its written in its easy to get a great grasp on who the characters are and its funny and all the comedy works. This episode won an emmy for Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series.

    2 0

  • 9.5

    Awesome.

    By Sarah_LOST, Oct 12, 2010

    Michael anticipates becoming the new president of his father's homebuilding company, having put up with his family for years in order to achieve it. This includes living in the attic of a model home with his son George Michael, and learning his sister Lindsay, brother-in-law Tobias and niece Maeby have been in town for a month without telling him. Instead, the position is given to his mother Lucille, shortly before his father George Sr. is arrested. Michael, reluctantly, returns to run the family business to steer them while his father is incarcerated, and Lindsay decides to become close to Michael again. So I thought I would start watching this since my brother has all of the series on box set. By the second line this show had me laughing. A good start so far, I can't wait to watch more.moreless

    1 1

  • 8.5

    Everything about Arrested Development - from the perfectly timed editing to the outstanding character acting - is ridiculously good!

    By iLoveOlivier, Sep 24, 2010

    I think the moment I heard "Look what the homosexuals have done to me," delivered dead-pan by the Bluth matriarch...I knew I had stumbled upon greatness. With each family member being presented, the audience begins to form an idea of what kind of family this is. Characteristics developed throughout the three seasons begin to become more evident for each familiy member - George is the family patriarch with a knack for illegal business practice; Lucille is George's power-hungry wife; Job is a perverted, immature man with a love for magic; Buster is prone to panic attacks; Lindsey is obsessed with living a luxurious lifestyle; Tobias is a clueless and talentless actor; George Michael is Michael's shy son; Maeby is George Michael's rebellious and witty cousin; and Michael (the main character) is the only sane one in the family. And the probable theme of the whole series - "We are one extremely disappointing family. But we are family."moreless

    1 0

  • 9.8

    Great Start to a great series

    By efc91, Aug 23, 2008

    Michael anticipates becoming the new president of his father's homebuilding company, having put up with his family for years in order to achieve it. This includes living in the attic of a model home with his son George Michael, and learning his sister Lindsay, brother-in-law Tobias and niece Maeby have been in town for a month without telling him. Instead, the position is given to his mother Lucille, shortly before his father George Sr. is arrested. Michael, reluctantly, returns to run the family business to steer them while his father is incarcerated, and Lindsay decides to become close to Michael again. This show is so funny I cant beleave it was cancelled by supid FOX.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.7

    Love it

    By loveGOB, Apr 21, 2008

    This pilot introduces the bluth family very well. The introduction of all the characters made me love them all because of their quirky and different ways, and the extended pilot on the dvd is even better.



    The way all characters are introduced makes the pilot and instant success as they become memorable and likeable through their jokes and lifestyles. My particular favourite being Gob.



    The episode would get viewers hooked on the witty jokes and banter between characters. Some can be overlooked the first time it is watched and discovered the next, which ensures fans will still love the show after watching it over and over.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Review

    By WhipMyAss, Jan 16, 2008

    This episode of Arrested Devlopment was very good. The acting was great. The introduction to the show was very well done and this is probably one of the best pilots I have seen. This show is addictive and really cool. No Wonder it did terrible in ratings this show is to smart for most people!



    This episode of Arrested Devlopment was very good. The acting was great. The introduction to the show was very well done and this is probably one of the best pilots I have seen. This show is addictive and really cool. No Wonder it did terrible in ratings this show is to smart for most people!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.1

    GREAT

    By jacobp76, Jan 10, 2008

    ...although I'm particularly talking about the Extended Pilot, which didn't air on TV but is available on the DVD. I've heard people say that pilots are typically weak episodes, but if that's the general rule, the AD pilot is the exception that proves the rule. It's one of the best episodes in the whole series. In it, the hard-working Michael Bluth finds himself in charge of the family business when his father is arrested for massive corruption. The episode has the burden of introducing all the characters and storyline, but in the process we get classic dialog from the character GOB, who informs us that magicians practice illusions, not tricks, because a trick is something "a whore does for money." Additionally, we learn the head of the family George can't be considered a mastermind because "he can barely work our shredder." We learn the family is composed of shallow people and snobs who don't get along, and yet by the end we get the sense that they care about each other... even when they're still trading insults. This is what made The Simpsons brilliant, and AD catches that dynamic just as well or better.



    There's sort of a cinematic feel to this episode, particularly the extended version, and there's definitely an exciting feeling at the end that the Pilot has set up an amazing roller coaster ride of a series. If you don't believe me, this Pilot won more Emmys than any other AD episode, for writing, directing and editinmoreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews