Sozin's Comet (2): The Old Masters

Episode Reviews (16)

Superb
308 votes
9.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Sozin's Comet (2): The Old Masters

    By TrueTvWatcher, Jan 16, 2011

    Sozin's Comet (2): The Old Masters was a perfect and very entertaining episode of Avatar The Last Airbender. I really enjoyed watching this episode because we got to see some familiar faces from the past, there was lots of action, drama, and intrigue. I thought it was cool how all the old masters came together through the White Lotus. Zuko learns more about his destiny as the gang learns that only Aang can face the Fire Lord and end the war peacefully. I enjoyed the ending of this episode where Ozai is ready to start his campaign. I look forward to the series finale of Avatar The Last Airbender!!!!!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Surprisingly emotional.

    By ZaleIsBackAgain, Feb 26, 2010

    With the planning of the first invasion, we thought that all of the allies of the Avatar were already gathered and captured, but an even stronger underlying force has been revealed to be hiding in the shadows; the old masters. These kinds of stuff, turning tides within a battle and hidden twists that greatly shifts the power struggle of the war, just makes your adrenaline rush! Plus Bumi single-handedly taking back Omashu by himself was a sweet sight. Though Avatar might have also served itself its finest emotional scene, one that deserves an award! The reunion between Iroh and Zuko was truly sweet!moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Sad that it is getting closer to the end, but episodes are getting better..

    By jbrianjr, Sep 15, 2008

    The thing I like about the episode, was for one, Zuko finaly catches up with Uncle, 2 anyone who did not see the short "Escape from the spirit world" got to see the past Avatars one more time Roku, kyoshi, kuruk, and yangchen before the show ended, and three - after all this talk about a lion turtle, we finaly get to see one. point's I like were that Zuko kept uncle's sweaty sandle from Book 1 water Chapter 7 Winter solistce part 1 the spirit world, which I found funny. June remembering Zuko from season 1 and thinking that Katara was his girlfriend, getting to see paku, jeong jeong, bumi, and master piando again. Over all this episode is a great episode, but is not the last.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    The gang finds themselves near Ba Sing Se at the camp of the Order of the White Lotus. As Zuko reunites with his uncle, Aang wakes up on a deserted island. Aang soon realizes he is on a lion-turtle, and the wise creature gives him significant knowledge.

    By SalKing2, Jul 29, 2008

    This was another amazing episode of the series finale. We start off by finding the Order of the White Lotus. I've been dying to find out who they are and what they do, and we finally find out! Piandao, Bumi, Iroh, Pakku, Jeong Jeong, and Iroh are all members! It was such a shock finding out that Bumi, Jeong Jeong, and Pakku are members of the White Lotus! I kind of knew everyone else were members. It was also so funny to hear that Pakku is Katara and Sokka's grandfather; Pakku finally married Gran Gran! It was funny yet so heartwarming to hear that. The most touching part of this episode was definitely when Zuko reunites with Iroh. It was so heartwarming and just so touching. It was so sad to see Zuko trying to say sorry, when all of a sudden Iroh just turns around and embraces him. It was touching! What was also interesting was to see how everyone splits up: Zuko and Katara head off to face Azula, the White Lotus plans to conquer Ba Sing Se, and Suki, Toph, and Sokka try to disrupt the Fire Nation airship fleet from burning the world. What I also loved about this episode was seeing how Aang talked with his past lives. It was wonderful to see Roku and Kyoshi again, and it was such a treat to see new Avatars, Kuruk and Yangchen. It was interesting to see their advice, and my favorite was Yangchen's advice that the Avatar is attached to earthly problems and must "do whatever it takes to protect the world." What ticked me off was that it was so hard to understand the lion-turtle's voice. I was still able to fully hear it, but it took some effort. The lion-turtle provided an interesting piece of amazement for me. As the lion-turtle said, they lived long before the Avatars and told Aang to fight the darkness. Although I was confused, it all made sense with the next two episodes. This seriously a touching, beautiful, and knowledgable episode. Part Two of the series finale was exactly what I expected: freaking great!moreless

    2 0

  • 9.9

    Pakku, Iroh, Bumi, and others are member of white lotus

    By azulasexxy, Jul 26, 2008

    this was a great episode. its amazing how they gathered all those masters in to a group. its admirable.

    its brilliant how the whole series finale flows like a river.

    it all adds up and makes sense.

    i was surprised about Iroh trying to take back Ba Cing Se.

    he tried to capture that city but his son Lu Ten died.

    he was humiliated at the battle.

    im proud of what nickeldeon did with the avatar.

    hope the movie is good.

    andd they shuild have season 4.

    to tie up all the loose ends.

    wheres zuko's mother?

    what will happen to fire nation?

    when they grow up?

    too many questions.

    plzzz make another seasonmoreless

    0 0

  • 9.7

    We meet the "Old Masters" from past seasons of Avatar: The Last Airbender.

    By ThereGoesHalo3, Jul 26, 2008

    NOTE: Please read my review for Part I: The Phoenix King, before reading this review. Thanks!



    Kinda a very special episode for Avatar. Since this is Part 2, Katara, Zuko, Sokka, Toph and Appa meet some "old masters" for Aang, after Aang's disappearnce with Momo.



    I was freaked out (Again, :P) with the lion turtle, that scared me (alot). It was weird, how they put that in, but that was one way that Aang could have not killed the fire lord. Maybe, they shouldn't have put that in, and maybe put in, the first episode or so. That way Aang would have a flashback kind of thing.



    Overall, 9.7. Good episode.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    A wonderfully emotional episode with a burning question answered.

    By carlsonem, Jul 23, 2008

    After a lackluster part one, part 2 of the finale did not disappoint. This episode mainly focuses on the re-introduction of the mysterious white lotus. The reason i enjoyed this ep so much was because Iroh is back baby! The moment between Iroh and Zuko was absolutely beautiful. I even cried. A wonderful moment that shows that Iroh really is the Father Zuko despiertly needed. I also thought the return of Bumi, Paku, Joeng Joeng, and pandoi was very nice. In a time where adolence are expected to save the world some real experienced masters could provide the needed guidance and wisdom. On the FN side Azula's obession with her power has grown to an all time high. She begins to banish everyone in sight. This continues the mental lapse of Azula. The end of the ep sets the stage for an incredible finish.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.6

    Part 2 of 4.

    By crzza, Jul 22, 2008

    "Sozin's Comet Part 2: The Old Masters" was an episode of the great television show, "Avatar: The Last Airbender" that was part of the mind bending two hour movie that ended the series, "Sozin's Comet" which aired in the premiere week of episodes that showed the final 10 episodes of the series called "Countdown to the Comet" and it was pretty great. It wasn't the best of the 4 part 2 hour finale, but I'll say it was still pretty awesome, and the 3rd best of the 4 episodes. It was so great, it had alot of great action. Great episode 9.6/10moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Whoa. Second episode of Sozin's Comet.

    By avatartytdunk, Jul 21, 2008

    Part 2 of Sozin's Comet, Chapter 19, The Old Master, was very revealing and shocking. After gang's attempt to find Aang is not going so well, Zuko thinks his Uncle Iroh might know. They consult an old friend/enemy to help them. They lead up to Ba Sing Se. They're they rest outside, camping in the night. Soon, it is revealed that the White Lotus, is there. Members of the White Lotus are alos revealed. Meanwhile, Aang and Momo are thinking of a way to stop the Firelord peacefully. Aang refers to his past lives, including Roku, Kyoshi, Kuruk, and Yangchen. Aang finally comes to the deciscion that he has to kill the firelord. Overall, this episode was very surprising and revealed a lot of things on the gang's mind.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews