Blood on the Scales (2)

Episode Reviews (27)

Superb
527 votes
9.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Blood on the Scales

    By TrueTvWatcher, Jan 25, 2012

    Blood on the Scales was a perfect episode and follow up to what was happening in the Colonial Fleet. There was action, suspense, drama, intrigue, and some great character moments. I couldn't believe that many men and women would stand with Gaeta and Zarek, but it was interesting to see those who were still on the fence. The President was aboard the Cylon ship making broadcasts and when she threatened to come after each and every traitor I was in awe of how powerful she sounded, as were the Cylons. There were some shocking moments, and things were pushed to the limit, though in the end the world has been turned right side up, and things seem to be back in order. There were heavy losses, and it was sad to see people treat their own this way. I wonder why the President or anyone didn't reveal the larger truth of Earth, or why it's not discussed more. I look forward to watching the next episode!!!!!!!!!moreless

    0 1

  • 9.0

    Another tough forty five minutes then but like all good car wrecks, you just can't look away.

    By screenagedkicks, Sep 09, 2011

    Michael Angeli picks up quite admirably from where Mark Verherden left off with the second instalment of this two parter and continues Battlestar's current trend of high quality episodic entertainment. Much of the strength of 'The Oath' is inherent in 'Blood on the Scales': the continuing use of time as a predicate for narrative progression works wonderfully in keeping the dramatic tension levels stoked. The wealth of action is also encouraging. We are barely given a chance to pause for breath as first Adama is being given the most hokum trial known to man, then the Quorum are ruthlessly slaughtered by a completely barking Zarek, then Anders is shot and lies bleeding to death after Eugene Tooms murders a rebel with a pen and then Bill is before a firing squad, facing summary execution for his apparently 'treacherous' activities. This is unrelenting, difficult stuff, refusing to bow to narrative convention or attempt to sugar coat the brutality of what is truly going on. Kudos to the production staff for being brave enough to take this complete about turn in the mechanics of the plot to its logical conclusion and not 'chicken out', if you will, from presenting the viewer with the consequences of a failed revolution. One gets the distinct impression that nothing will ever be the same on the show now that two thirds of the crew have rebelled against their leader and he's back in power. Racetrack doesn't simply bow to Adama's will: he is reticent, holding firm in his beliefs. And Zarek and Gaeta... well, we all knew Tom would hold out until the bitter end but Felix? That was a surprise, but a pleasing one. He doesn't atone, there are no epiphianic, revelatory speeches. Instead, Angeli gives us a quiet, reflective scene with Baltar that somehow manages to encapsulate the essence of the character... and then shoots the poor bugger dead, execution style. It's a harsh fate for someone so misguided, perhaps, but then, it's the only logical one within the confines of the show's pre-established militaristic politics. To have merely reprimanded him just wouldn't have seemed right. You may not want him dead but you know it's what you should get.



    The writing staff certainly weren't exaggerating when they said in pre-season interviews that this would be a climate-changing, gigantic curveball of a decathlon and that, at times, it may make for somewhat harrowing viewing. However, it's all executed so elegantly, with such poise, style and sophistication, that you just cannot help but be swept along for the ride, regardless of just how damaging to your mental health it may be. Another tough forty five minutes then but like all good car wrecks, you just can't look away. Even when Roslin screams "I'm coming for you!" in the most unnecessarily hyperbolic tone imaginable.moreless

    3 2

  • 5.0

    Why bother?

    By findusfunk, Oct 11, 2010

    These last two episodes feel like too much of a waste of time and I felt like the producers/writers were treating the viewers like idiots.



    Rebellion - decent idea. Gaeta running it? You've got to be joking.



    Rebellion execution - garbage. Rebels who are afraid to shoot and kill any main characters (the important ones to kill!), last second reprieves, Lee and Starbuck saving the day almost single-handedly, rebel marines so weak that they can't escort two unarmed men without being distracted and disarmed by their "Oh, you're making a mistake, marine" chatter. Come on, total crap! The one bit of balls the writers had in having the Quorum executed was badly let down by the rest of the plot. You knew, absolutely knew through both episodes, that none of the main characters were actually in any danger because the writers wouldn't have the balls to follow through with actually killing them off. It makes for very boring and predictable watching.



    Adama's march through the ship to reclaim CIC, gaining supporting stragglers as he went, was cringeworthy to watch. Utter cheese.



    With only a limited number of episodes left, these two were almost a complete waste of space story-wise, we're just about back to square one. Give us some proper cylon interaction! Move the story forward! Give us a storyline that's believable in that it follows through with it's threat!moreless

    8 24

  • 10

    Forces loyal to Adama and Tigh attempt to re-take Galactica.

    By amangeorge, Aug 06, 2010

    This was an astounding episode - truly gripping, painful, and wrenching to watch. The entire episode had me on the edge of my seat, terrified at what was going to happen. It took quite an emotional toll on me over the course of an hour. One of my favorite episodes this season, easily. Very well acted, brutal pacing, incredible acting (as expected) - quite the emotional rollercoaster. The ending is beautifully and unexpectedly staged. It wasn't until the end of this episode that I appreciated the whole mutiny story arc, which at first seemed like an annoying distraction from the events of the season designed to engross the audience in something other than the critical plot lines (which, still doesn't seem that far from the truth), however it ended up being extremely potent and a powerful reminder of how this show has achieved greatness.moreless

    4 1

  • 10

    While the President seeks sanctuary in the Cylon base ship, Adama, Tigh, and small rogue faction seek to return order to the Battlestar Galactica.

    By grovermerc, Aug 06, 2010

    It is a shame to me that so many people I talk to lump this show into the category of just another sci-fi show. This episode is exactly why this show has been one of the most critically acclaimed shows for the last 5 years. The way that this show unfolds in such a distinct manner, but yet ties in some relevant current topics is simply brilliant and unseen on most of the rest of the tv schedule. Any episode that can tackle racism (ok against robots), murder, treason, and executions all in one episode and continue to lead us towards the grand finale is a perfect example of the quality with which this show is made! Bravo to the people of Battlestar for making one of the best episodes of any show this year...bar none!!!moreless

    5 1

  • 10

    Wow! one the best episodes this season...

    By luvnumbah6, Aug 06, 2010

    Of course we all knew Adama and Tigh were going to make it! This episode was exciting... it was so good to see Romo take action and help Kara with Anders. And what about Zarek getting rid of the Quorum wow i felt like it was way out of character for him, I mean yes he's a revolutionary but not a cold blooded killer, and Felix realizing he was no match for Roslin, in the end they both got what was coming to them; but what about the others what will Adama do with them? Will he really have no mercy for them?moreless

    6 1

  • 10

    More than lives up to expectations

    By sramv9, May 25, 2009

    It's been a couple of amazing episodes -this one and the part one last week. Things are now moving forward at a very fast pace, with perfectly aligned music a significant part of making that happen. Outstanding performances by all the cast members. In particular, Mary McDonnell (President Roslin) - she had a couple of powerful scenes in which her character shows incredible passion and resolve. Some truly shocking things happen in this episode - it makes me reflect on the inevitabiities of armed revolution and also leaves me wondering what can possibly happen next. I'm very intrigued by what was partially revealed about Gaeta re what he told Baltar about himself. This episode was way beyond my expectations and I'm so happy that the final half of the season is turning out to be right up there with the best of BSG.moreless

    11 2

  • 10

    Picks up where the previous episode The Oath (1) left off

    By XooKey, May 13, 2009

    The command center has been seized and Admiral Adama sends President Roslin to the Cylon Baseship; right after the President leaves on a Raptor, Admiral Adama and Colonel Tigh are captured. Lt. Gaeta order his fighters to shoot down the Raptor with the President on board. Using communications, she is able to stop it from happening. This is all in the opening sequence. For a large part of the episode there is a lot of deception from Tom Zarek and Lt. Gaeta. In one scene Zarek has the whole quorum shot and killed for not agreeing with him. With the help of Starbuck and Lee the Cylons being held are rescued. When Zarek finds this out he tells Admiral Adama that Colonel Tigh was shot trying to escape. Adama is sentenced to die in a bogus trial with Zarek as the Judge. As Admiral Adama is about to be executed, Lee Adama, Colonel and their team stop it and gain control of the situation.



    During all this time the Chief has been crawling through air vents and passageways to get to the FTL drive and shut it down. He cannot logon with his account because it has been disabled. He proceeds to pull out the FTL drive just seconds before it is encaged.



    After Admiral Adama is rescued, they all take control of the command center and Galactica. The fleet is back in control of the President and Adama.



    The final scene is the business of executing Lt. Gaeta and Tom Zarek.moreless

    4 0

  • 8.5

    Cathartic.

    By wavylinez, Feb 15, 2009

    At this point in the series, is it really any surprize that people start to crack up? I'm glad the writers took the time to deal with that reality.



    If I were in a similar situation, I'd behave as Dee (suicide) or Roslyn (surrender). As Roslyn is a major player, I'm sure others would behave as Gaeta (rebel) or Zarek (attempt a coup).



    It is logical to turn inward and view your own misfortunes rather than outward and provide support to others and yet in the group is to move forward at all, we really need leadership to provide inspiration. While I sympathize for Zarek, he always seemed more interested in whining and grabbing power than leading. When did he ever really care about a group? I don't always agree with Adama's decisions either but if I were Zarek, I would state why, ask the needed questions and offer some alternatives. I never heard mention of plans to rebuild ships, provide self-sustaining water and food sources, provide education to young or most importantly continue to defend against possible future attacks. It is rather naive to assume that only Humans and Cylons exist in the universe while traveling so far. It is also rather naive to think that a military isn't necessary given that the Cylons are now in two teams and only one team is chatty with Humans. I wasn't surprized by Zarek's move and I'm glad he's out.



    Gaeta obviously feels bad about losing his leg but like everybody else, he has to deal with rationalizing the past war, the surprizing turn of events and the many possible futures. Would he feel so angry at Kara if he knew that she had seen her own dead body yet hasn't been switched on yet so like Baltar, she is constantly questioning her own motives and behavior? Would he feel so angry at Adama if he knew that he had been friends with Saul for well over a generation, they had fought together and supported each other's personal lives only to suddenly discover that Saul is now the enemy? In a better environment, there would a ship's psycologist to monitor tensions and provide faith and hope. This crew even lacks spiritual guidance. Snapping and fostering a coup d'tat is not an unexpected behavior although in the end, it doesn't help anybody.



    What's truly missing is a voice of reason, inspiration and hope. Where's Obama?moreless

    1 3

Load More Reviews