Dirty Hands

Episode Reviews (44)

Great
669 votes
8.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 1.5

    Agenda episode

    By wike15, Jun 17, 2014

    Ugh. This is such a lame episode. It is like the producers were paid by the unions to make this garbage. We get it, everyone works hard.

    0 0

  • 10

    Dirty Hands

    By TrueTvWatcher, Jan 21, 2012

    Dirty Hands was an amazing look at the background characters who keep the Colonial Fleet running and operational by undertaking the "dirty work". It was interesting to see that Gaius had been able to influence people with his book and how things really did appear to be going the way he claimed. This was a perfect story to focus on Tyrol and he was very impressive in his ability to manage and communicate. It would be scary to be a young and put in a situation with out a choice and forced to do a job you would never consider and then have a terrible accident. In the end Tyrol and the President talk about solutions and come to terms, wrapping things up nicely. I look forward to watching the next episode!!!!!!!!!moreless

    1 2

  • 8.1

    A show about labor relations.

    By imperial3, Aug 24, 2011

    I thought that this episode was very good. It shows what happens in a society that is on the run and needs to have vital needs met but the conditions under which the goods are produced are just horrific. In this episode we see that Tyrol was at first very pro Message from the president and the admiral. When he sees that the conditions are just deplorable and that if the people have no hope of ever rising above their station then people start to loose all hope their children having a better life than they had. If you don't have any hope then you don't care what you do since you don't care what happens to you.moreless

    2 3

  • 10

    I would like the so-called fans who toss around the word "Filler" like it's candy to read this one.

    By my1sunshine, Aug 24, 2011

    I have tried, really..I have struggled to maintain an "everybody has a right to an opinion" attitude toward fans who have been calling the majority of third season episodes fillers. But some reactions to this episode take the cake. This series, people..for those who have not been paying attention for the..mmm..what is it now ...almost five years since the mini-series aired...is NOT a sci-fi show. I'll say that again..IT IS NOT A SCI-FI SHOW! Can ya hear me now? Good. It is , as Ron Moore pointed out before the min-series even aired, (and that's a year BEFORE the mini-series, so that's actually six years, for whoever's counting) is a DRAMA, that happens to take place in a sci-fi universe. That means it's about people first. It's not about the scenerios cloaked in the action, suspense, tragedies, special effects, etc..it's about how those events effect the people, the characters, that we have grown to love. Every time one of these episodes comes around which do not deal with Cylons, traps, attacks, or the suspenseful plots, twists and turns which this series so well presents, then it is automatically crap, right? These reviews seem to be posted by people with the attention span of a sound bite, and a scope of intelligence just as vast. In the last episode, it was stated that it had been just under 50 days since the Cylons had last been seen. So we've been taking a refreshing look at the people in the fleet too seldom seen. The little people, the people who in fact are the life-blood of the fleet. The people without whom, the fleet could not survive. It's one of the things I love about this show, and frankly, what separates it, and distinguishes it from the rest of the sci-fi drek which numbs itself under the guise of a lot of tech. We were given a glimpse of the underbelly of the fleet. It showed, in-your-face style, things that are seriously wrong with the society, and need fixing, badly. If society ignores these issues, than what are we staying alive for, fighting for, and indeed..dying for? It was also a shining moment for Tyrol. One of the biggest challenges for all the people in the fleet, is to find a way to keep their sanity and humanity, sometimes scratching and clawing to keep it, in the face of madness, and a constant shadow of death and destruction. As Agathon demonstrated in "The Woman King", (another episode designated as filler by so many), Tyrol demonstrated that, in a culture that has lost almost everything, sometimes the most important thing, and indeed, maybe the only important thing we have left, is who we are, what we believe in. What is right, and what is wrong. This, my friends and fellow fans is at the very core of the show. It doesn't matter if it's Cylons, or dogfights, or personal conflicts, or labor disputes. It's about hanging on to, and fighting for, what you believe in. That's what Tyrol did. And it brought a hell of a drama to the episode. This was a well acted, very dramatic and , yes, very suspenseful episode. Those of you looking for the same plotlines, twists and turns, action etc., every single episode are unrealistic and silly. This is the most human type of story. And now that we've spent the last small handful of them dealing with this type of human exploration, we can look forward for the thrills and chills to resume. And indeed, we can appreciate them that much more.moreless

    4 7

  • 8.5

    Good points but..

    By Parricida, Aug 24, 2011

    In the level of idea - I loved the episode.. all that Tyrol proved this episode - working with that heavy machinery and the situation of people around the fleet and those hard works and no free time - and how there is difference of people - are you a military or deck hand.. and your son will follow your path and this will be the only way. And I specially loved when he asked (I think it was he) if there will be anyone else leading this fleet than man named Adama.



    So, there were really great points and the story - it had some very similar lines with real life events and things happening, the class difference and that all.. but.. oh.. it missed something on the other hand - it was not emotion for sure - as there was so much anger and hate.. but there was something missing..moreless

    1 2

  • 8.5

    Another great dramatic episode.

    By kingrich06, Aug 24, 2011

    Once again the writers of the show tackle a hard subject of forced labor. If one person, who was a mechanic in his life in the colonies, is destined have the same profession? Will his children be subject to the same career or does one has a freedom to choose? This is the main topic of the episode. It sort mimics what happened in Medieval time where a family of farmers will always be a family of farmers. Another point that they made is something of a principal that most governments have today. Never negotiate with terrorists. I like the way Adama handled the situation and the subsequent results of his decisions. The look on Tyrol's face at the end was priceless.moreless

    1 1

  • 5.5

    Fueled by Baltar's(?) Socialist Manifesto(!?), inhumane conditions on a trillium refining ship get the workers riled up. Adama & Roslin flaunt their power like thick-skinned aristocrats. The Chief gets invovled with the union and is crushed and humiliated

    By davidpsmith, Jul 13, 2010

    I am not one of the sci-fi purists who dislikes BSG's forays into socio-political issues. In fact, that's what makes this show so riveting, its ability to function as fable and mirror contemporary issues in a fantastical fictional setting, complete with GUT-WRENCHING ROBOT WARS! So you'd think I'd be a sucker for this episode with it's class warfare themes, and I was drawn in, the story had some merit. I could forgive the clumsy visual references to early 20th century industrialism, but the episode was rife with plot and character inconsistencies I couldn't stomach. Problem One, Baltar's socialist manifesto: no one who endured his stint on New Caprica would give it any credence. Problem Two,Adama and Roslin sit around sipping wine like French aristocrats, blowing off complaints from key crew members - definitely outside the parameters of their characters. Problem Three, the story is developed quite well, then the writers realize they have 10 minutes to wrap it up and do so in a jumbled mess. Adama threatens to put Cally up against a wall and shoot her? The crew he considers family? Get a grip, this extremisim is not believable. Roslin does a complete inexplicable flip flop, burbling and cooing to The Chief about the union and democracy and what not? We witness the call but not the fall-out from the Chief's phone call to Cally when he tells her to call off the strike. The premise for this episode was decent - too bad it went up in smoke.moreless

    2 1

  • 9.8

    The fleet faces social upheaval and widespread unrest after the release of Baltar's manifesto.

    By RunYetiRun, Mar 15, 2007

    Quite simply the best of what makes this series great. The acting was stupendous, the topic was meaningful and it added depth and texture to what was already a realistic portrayal of a civilization on the edge. There's no doubt in my mind that this episode will get the same criticism from certain fans that other episodes low in Cylons and explosions have gotten; that its boring. But that's being too short sighted. Its only because of episodes like this that episodes like Exodus are so great. When the fleet has to fight or face a Cylon crisis they approach it with the urgency of people that have something to fight for. That wouldn't make sense unless we saw why they fight. Unless we saw what they are sacrificing on a daily basis to keep their very way of life, not to mention their lives.



    I like the turn that Baltar's character has taken. Portraying himself as a political prisoner who has the interests of the people close to his heart (while not nearly true) is much more interesting than just being they guy that sold everyone out. The scene with him and Tyrol when he slips into his native accent was riveting. And so was the episode's conclusion- Tyrol and the President forming the worker's union. Dealing with social issues like this, and having the writers address them rather than leaving huge gaping assumptions and leaps of faith makes me appreciate the series that much more.moreless

    1 1

  • 9.5

    The summary is better described already, so I'll leave out most of it. Basically, the Chief helps lead a class-struggle/union battle.

    By jlink7, Mar 12, 2007

    I think it is unfair that some people are writing this episode off as "filler." It is episodes like this that make BSG real for so many people.



    In my opinion, the best part of BSG lately has been the ability of the writers to portray social issues in controversial ways and still keep it interest. It is also a great way to get people to watch the show that may be otherwise turned off because without the socio-political story lines, the show would literally just be any other sci-fi show like so many out there already. I can actually get people that aren't into science fiction to watch BSG because of episodes like this.moreless

    0 1

Load More Reviews