Final Cut

Episode Reviews (31)

Great
833 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Final Cut, one of My Favorites!

    By TrueTvWatcher, Jan 15, 2012

    Final Cut was a perfect episode of Battlestar Galactica because it was the rare day in the life model episode which really showcased the humanity of the characters. It was awesome to see Lucy Lawless who is one of my favorite actresses of all time because she was amazing in her role as D'Anna Biers and in the end as some one or some thing much more! Every thing that happened was interesting and the video shown to the fleet was amazingly well done and very touching. The unseen footage was disturbing and I especially enjoyed the commentary about it from the Cylon viewers in the theater. I look forward to watching the next episode!!!!!!!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 7.5

    Fuel on the fire.

    By kickdoor, Nov 23, 2010

    Ahh, the old documentary style episode, a mainstay of dramatic television. I will say the storylines didn't seem at all out of character for the show and there was some nice additions to the running plot with the reveal of a new Cylon amongst the fleet and the Cylons just becoming aware of Sharon's situation on board Galactica. Also the episode did have a ton of good character development for some of the secondary characters, especially Gaeta and Dee, or as I now feel compelled to call her, Anastasia.



    I couldn't help but laugh at that first shot of Gaeta with his collar unbuttoned and smoking like someone who doesn't have much experience smoking, and that tattoo was crazy. It was just so unexpectedly out of character. But beyond the humor what he had to say was really moving. I can sympathize with the fear of your life becoming nothing more than your career and his want to be something more than just Lt. Gaeta. Dee's story about her father and joining up also led to some emotional moments, as did most of the crew's talking heads.



    Tigh was in rare form while suffering under public scrutiny for his foul up during Adama's convalescence. Quick tip for you Tigh, when you realize a reporter is setting you up to look bad, don't then give them better footage than they could have even hoped to have gotten. I thought the death threat against him did make for some compelling drama(I was half suspecting Ellen).



    I think my favorite part was during the two Raiders kamikaze attack. Getting to experience the action the way the crew in the CIC and hanger experience it was and interesting turn. The fear and frustration of being only able to hear what's happening and not see it was a good choice.



    I was nervous about the episode format, but they pulled it off well.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Final cut was cleverly done, not as intense- an emotional journey that is irrestable and fully addicting.

    Apollo in a Towel- priceless

    By mrswhitlock, Oct 26, 2010

    Firstly, I must gush about Lee. Whoever wrote that scene wrote it JUST FOR ME! OMJ, that was fantastic and amazing and I almost died of a heart attack.

    Other than that, it was a very interesting story, and more fun than serious. it wasn't as intense as they usually are, but how they covered the Gideon Massacre was fascinating.

    Not to meantion Lee in a towel. that scene is forever on my iPod- totally worth the two bucks!

    conlduing #3 as a cylon at the end was cleverly done.

    This epsionde was not as thought provoking as they usually are, but it was a roller coaster ride of emotions. I really got into the show, as always. :D

    Apollo in a towel: pricelessmoreless

    1 2

  • 6.0

    Overall, this episode was just a distraction, pure filler, however the ending was nice.

    By Dante_Edy, Oct 16, 2010

    ***This review details –» this is a "I" perspective, based in what I like and recognize to be good or interesting, this is not a "god" where the guy thinks what he thinks is the true or the "you" perspective where I know what you will like and what you don´t.***



    This plot is a good exploration, but switching the cameras was not a thing that I appreciated. Also, through the conflict phase, it seems more like a reality show instead of a Storyline, but this was one of the intentions. What is good about this episode? There are fillers storylines like Tigh or that woman that was with a strange behavior. The only thing interesting is the end.



    Presentation Phase - » (5/10) didn´t interest me,

    Complication Phase - » (6/10) fair exploration,

    Climax Phase - » (5/10) nothing,

    Ending - » (8/10) didn´t see that coming,



    As expected, the plot didn´t move forward was more about delaying things until next episode. This storyline is weak, because of its structure, the only thing good is the payoff in the ending, but that was not big, so essentially, this was pure filler.



    Details/Progress (To point A to B) -» (5/10),

    Time and Scene Management - » (5/10) thanks to the last scene,

    Plot Details/Holes- » (6/10) can´t buy some of the pilots magical sudden bad attitudes,

    Storyline -» (6/10) not the best, but the ending it's nice,



    The only thing that is surprising is the end.



    Drama - » (5/10) didn´t care for the drama,

    Surprises/Shocks/Twists - » (9/10) nice twist in the end,



    Overall, this episode was just a distraction, pure filler, however the ending was nice.moreless

    1 2

  • 8.8

    Vice versa episode

    By Parricida, Dec 16, 2008

    My first thoughts where when I realized what this episode is about, that so many other shows have done it - having a film crew in their ship or whatever. Babylon 5, Stargate they did.. and oh.. many many others too.. so, what new can they bring into the idea so much used. And most of the time it just looked what you expect - the film crew who has a idea what they want to show soon realize that those people they are thinking bad are heroes - usual development.. But I most say, I liked the last scene, the cut version and the revelation in the end - wow.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.8

    May be a filler episode but its better than most other programs best.

    By kingrich06, Jun 05, 2008

    I like this episode a lot because of a few things that were pointed out during the episode. We don’t get to see a lot of action but it was a nice touch to see what goes on with the day to day operations on a Battlestar. One thing I like that was revealed during the crewmen interviews was that no one Colonial Personnel resigned since the attack. The revelation of another Cylon Skin Job was also a nice touch. Lucy Lawless plays the Cylon D’anna and as a reporter she does her job very well. I especially like the “film clip” that was shown at the end with the old 80’s Galactica music score.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.2

    Did you get that?

    By montaigne61, Jul 01, 2007

    A story that had been building over a season and a half culminates in a tense, mystical two-parter that brings every plot thread together, and they follow it up with a goofy little one-shot about some reporter? Whose bright idea was that? I wanted to see the fleet finally heading to Earth, and instead I get some over-the-hill Kiwi with a nauseating accent. Okay, I'll admit she's pretty nice looking, but this isn't the Galactica I fell in love with, or the hot blond Cylon I fell in love with, either. Hmm. TV.com should really add "Cylon" to the spell check dictionary. I have a feeling it comes up kind of a lot.



    Okay, we get some little story about Kat going nuts, Tigh receives a death threat, and lots of people run around with their clothes off. Is it wrong that I wish I looked more like Jamie Bamber? Damn you and your amazing torso, Apollo - now I have no choice but to hit the gym again. Man, won't you just look at those abs. Oh, great, and the reporter is a Cylon. Most viewers were probably upset at the news because it meant another spy in the fleet. I'm upset because it guarantees that I'll have to hear that accent in more episodes. Anybody have an icepick I can shove in my ear?moreless

    0 0

  • 7.7

    Not the best episode, but moments of high drama make it worthwhile.

    By speedy-Y-jive-O, Mar 08, 2007

    Final cut, from the outset, feels like the below par filler episode it is. Used to segue between bigger stories, it’s real purpose to unveil a new Cylon menace. Coming on the back of the excellent Home, parts one and two, and Flight Of The Phoenix. Final Cut is the first episode of the second season that doesn’t grab from the get go. Where it does surprise though, is in showing key events from a point of view we are rarely privy to. The film crew becoming a device used to ramp the tension of the day-to-day procedures aboard Galactica. Initially put to great use in the scenes of Kat’s abortive attempts to land her Viper. We are left helplessly watching the computer displays as crew try to talk her in, the frantic cuts and camera work adding a nerve shredding edge. The killer blow, however, is delivered during the dogfight. Normally we get to chase down Cylon Raiders right along side Apollo and Starbuck, but here we are back in the hanger and on deck in CIC. From here we are made to feel complicit in the dread and fear among all on board. As crackling radio bursts are our only information about the battle outside. It’s a breathtaking sequence in TV series that has continually delivered in the drama stakes, always putting the human element at the heart of events giving a great emotional wallop every time. Not the best episode but big points for trying something new.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Who care's that it's a filler....Lee's in a towel!

    By obsessed47, Oct 19, 2006

    Many people feel that this episode was a pointless filler that's only purpose was to introduce a new cylon model to the series, everyone's favorite reporter D'Anna Biers. I happen to think this episode was a lot of fun, even if there were no sqeuences with Kara and Lee shooting raider butt from the sky (or space). I mean, we had one pilot have a crazy breakdown because of a stim overdose, our resident cylon defect Sharon nearly lose her baby, everyone's favorite XO and his wife had a lovely little death threat written on a mirror in their quaters, and of course, every female in the world's favortie scene when it comes to Lee Adama when he is meeting with everyone's favorite reporter in nothing but a very small standard-issue towel. Ignore that it's a filler... It's too much fun.moreless

    1 1

Load More Reviews