Maelstrom

Episode Reviews (37)

Great
722 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.0

    Ding Dong the wicked space slut is dead!

    By SciFiGroupie, Mar 24, 2012

    Finally,I'd almost given up. Now maybe the series can get back to being about the cylon/human battle in space now that the wreckage of Starbuck has been cleaned up. I might have given it a ten were it not for the suggestions and possibility that they might bring her back as a cylon. Maybe the female character who replaces her can be more believable, palatable and less of a skank-bag. The writers of most Hollywood dreck think that by creating characters like Starbuck they're promoting the interests of women, but in reality they end up portraying them in the most negative ways. Strong successful women need not also be sexually indiscriminate, emotionally damaged deviants with no ethics or morals ... but that seems to be the way Hollywood views women these days.moreless

    5 25

  • 9.5

    Maelstrom

    By TrueTvWatcher, Jan 21, 2012

    Maelstrom was a great episode of Battlestar Galactica and I really enjoyed watching it because the story centered around Starbuck and it was intriguing. There wasn't much action, but there were some serious issues that needed dealt with, and they were in surprising ways. It was cool to see Starbuck and the Leoben figure in flashbacks or whatever it was. The suspense of what was going on with Starbuck had me on the edge of my seat. It was sad to see things end in such a manner. I look forward to watching the next episode!!!!!!!moreless

    1 2

  • 9.6

    WOW!!! que episodio fantastico e impressionante

    By franlimarock, Aug 25, 2011

    Com certeza esse foi um grande episodio dessa terceira temporada. Esse foi um dos episodios em que eu quando acabei de ver fiquei pensando WOW !!! E tambem pensei que eu com certeza deveria falar desse ep aqui



    Esse foi um ep cheios de efeitos em todos os momentos e os fantasticos voos de starbuck persiguindo um nave Cylon e tentando atravessar a nuvem que tinha o formato do desenho q ela tinha feito...Realmente foi incrivel e tambem temos um final de episodio chocante e impressionante com a fantastica cena da nave de starbuck explondindo



    Ja falei e reafirmo, um dos melhores eps dessa terceira temporada do BSG e que continue assimmoreless

    1 7

  • 10

    Great Episode. Last scene use Matrix line! maybe a hint.

    By kobilahav, Aug 25, 2011

    When Kara tells Lee before the Viper explodes "I'm not afraid anymore" that line is taken from the first Matrix when Trinity tells Neo when he is thought to be dead at the very end...I'm not afraid anymore Neo, before she kises him and he comes back to life. Grat episode. great BSG episode. Great acting and one of the climex in the fate of Kara. Exactly the reson why I see this amazing show. Too bad that the fourth season up to know is not even close to the standards of the 3rd season. Hope they'll improve soon. Waiting for the show to pick up again.moreless

    1 4

  • 8.0

    Adama: "What do you hear, Starbuck?"

    Starbuck: "Nothing but the rain."

    By Tim_Bronx, Jan 03, 2011

    Did this episode really happen? Did the writers really kill off my favorite character? Let me count the ways this episode pissed me off:



    1. They killed Starbuck. 2. They killed Starbuck in such a pointless way. She didn't go out in a blaze of glory. She didn't die in a struggle for redemption or trying to save the human race. 3. All the talk of Starbuck's "destiny", and this is all we get? Her special destiny was to accept death? I’m just not buying it. 4. The episode left me with too many questions and zero answers. If that wasn't Leoben, who was it? What does "all this has happened before, and will happen again" mean? When will be getting answers to these questions? BSG has gotten big on the mythology lately; I just wish I understood it.



    In reality, Starbuck's death shouldn't have shocked me as much as it did. The Hollywood rumor mill has been hinting at Starbuck's demise for months now. All the references to the pilot episode; Starbuck finally acknowledging that her and Lee's relationship is going nowhere; Starbuck telling Lee where she wanted her photo to be if she died; throughout the episode I could feel her death coming, but I don’t think I was ready for how it all played out. I just wish she had died for something. Her death felt so meaningless and sudden, that I didn't even feel any emotions until that final scene with Adama.



    Is this the last we'll see of the character, though? Will Starbuck come back as a Cylon? I don't know if I'd like that. Actually...frak it. I don't care how she comes back, I just want her back. Final Notes and Quotes - Survivor Count: Same as last weeks. 41, 400.



    - We finally met Starbuck's mother, Corporal Socrata Thrace. No wonder Starbuck is so screwed up. I liked the flashbacks. More insight into Starbuck is always fine by me.



    - That sex scene with Leoben in the beginning was a scorcher. I'm sure I could apply symbolism to it if I wanted to.



    - Leoben: "You're free now to become who you really are. I'm here to prepare you to pass through the next door, to discover what hovers in the space between life and death." What the frak does that mean? Sounds a lot like what D'Anna believed she was destined for.



    - Starbuck: "After all we've been through, we are right back where we started. You're the CAG, and I'm your hot shot problem pilot. I guess that's all we'll ever be now, huh?"



    - If Katee Sackhoff's name is out of the credits next week, I might just cry.



    Final Rating: This was a powerful and emotional episode. But it's not what I wanted. Let's just leave it at that.



    - Tim Bronx Find this and many more reviews at: www.motionpicturereviews.commoreless

    3 0

  • 10

    Thank goodness Starbuck is dead. Battlestar Gallactica: Television for Women is over!

    By zzbeach, Oct 11, 2010

    Outstanding. Starbuck dies. The best thing that could happen to the show. It was just so painfull to watch her character and how this version of BSG took the only character from the original series that was fun to watch and screwed it up. The actual episode is boring but I gave it a 10 for killing off Starbuck. The writers need some more action and stop writing this Lifetime TV crap. Hopefully now that Starbuck is dead they'll be moving on to more important things other than Starbucks metal problems. Like Fighting the Cylons. Like you know...the bad guys who wiped out 12 Billion people. Starbuck is dead. Has a nice ring to it doesn't it? Ding dong the witch is dead! The wicked witch, the witch is dead! Ding dong the wicked witch is dead!moreless

    3 26

  • 9.2

    How can Starbuck be dead when she is a Cylon?

    By nathankemp, Oct 11, 2010

    There's no other explanation that I can think of. I don't think that she has been written out of the series so the only exlanation that I can think of is that she is one of the unidentified cylons.



    I guess we'll all have to wait and see when season 4 airs in the fall.



    There's no other explanation that I can think of. I don't think that she has been written out of the series so the only exlanation that I can think of is that she is one of the unidentified cylons.



    I guess we'll all have to wait and see when season 4 airs in the fall.moreless

    3 2

  • 8.0

    "Starbuck"

    Should be "Stardoe"

    Actually Should be "Stardust"

    By KidParadox, Oct 11, 2010

    The episode was depressing and the only importance it held was to get rid of a screwed up, self centered, obnoxious thug.

    Katee Sackhoff is an awesome actress and I had full hopes that the writers would develop her character better.

    The original Battlestar was campy at best I loved it as a kid, as an adult looking at reruns I'm almost embarrassed to have enjoyed it.

    That being said, the original Starbuck was 100% better. Sackhoff could have made it better, but the writers just made it depressing. I was much more put off when it looked like they were getting rid of Gaeta. I don't think she's gone though, looking ahead to Crossroads Part 2. I think she is part of the missing 5 Cylons.moreless

    1 6

  • 9.0

    Great Episode in a while

    By kingrich06, May 13, 2010

    I have been waiting a couple or even four or five episodes for a story line like this one. I can only imagine that there is a few people out there that want a little more action like me. While the storylines and the drama have been great, the action sequences have fallen to third in terms of priority. While this episode deals with a lot of flashback and dream sequences, I will take with what I can get. This episode deals with a lot about Kira and how some Cylons view her as symbol in a prophecy. I love the fact the storyline makes you keep guessing on what happens next, the last fifteen minutes has an awesome ending.moreless

    1 1

Load More Reviews