Blood+

Show Reviews (65)

Great
908 votes
8.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    wow,so amazing

    By KatieKatBryant, Apr 16, 2013

    I wish they would make 50 leaves you wanting to know what happens so bad :( I hope,even though it's 6 or 7 years later,that they will finally make was so amazing and I wanna see a continuation(:

    0 0

  • 6.0

    Im so in love.

    By Deneelennox, Dec 03, 2012

    This show came out long ago, and I had just watched it on Netflix because I remember my cousin telling me about it years ago, I watched a clip years ago with her and I didn't ever watch it. But when I saw it on Netflix I was drawn to watch it. Wow wow wow. One of the best anime I ever watched. Good theme music, story plot, bad ass characters. This show is so good. I watched it all in a matter of three days. I particularly love the ending, hagi lives! And he and saya confessed their true feelings, you can thank Kai for that lol. I think anyone could like this show not just us anime freaks :) but I'm ranting, I love this show. Hagi hagi hag. And i think the anime starts off in a good way, you don't learn everything all at once, but i love the cliffhangers. I really have no words to describe my feelings toward this show. I love hagis cello music lol. It creates intensity. Saya made me sometimes mad when she didn't fight directly, and people died because of it, but only because she was so in shock of it all. Kai was all in all worthless and got in the way a lot. Each show reviews more and more about her past, you can't miss one or you'll be lost, it's about action, romance, loss and overcoming the hardships and dealing with loss. But I'm sure enough a lot of others are just very glad hagi didn't die :) lol but that's it, I'm ranting a lot.moreless

    0 1

  • 8.5

    So Far So GOOOOOD

    By dreamgoat, Jan 26, 2012

    I wasn't a fan of this show in the beginning. But, the more I watched the more I loved it. I haven't completed this anime yet but so far is been really great getting involve with the anime. It has good character development and story, so don't miss out if you like the blood, violence and action :D.

    0 1

  • 10

    This is my new favorite show!

    By CrystalRain817, Mar 14, 2011

    This is one of the most amazing animes I've ever seen and my favorite show by far. Ever since I saw the first episode I've been hooked and can barely stand to wait a week for the next one. Every episode has the perfect balance of action and story. The plot is so unique and interesting. Each character has their own personality;no one is ever out of character. As I watched this show, it was like I felt a connection to each character, I felt happy and sad right along with them. I'll always love this show and will never get tired of watching it.moreless

    3 0

  • 8.5

    Although Blood+ could have been executed much better, the end result is a show that is utterly enjoyable and emotional at its core.

    By malachi_27, Mar 14, 2010

    Blood+ derives from the old 2000 anime movie premier, Blood: The Last Vampire. Even though The Last Vampire is where Blood+ got its roots for the entire basis of the show, it carries over very little of what the movie was, creating a very unique show with just a few faults that may turn some viewers away.



    Saya Otonashi is our protagonist of this story. Saya is an amnesiac and an anemia-infected school girl that lives a normal life with her adopted family who owns a small bar in Okinawa, Japan. Soon, Saya's life is drastically changed when she learns the importance of her blood and the existence of a secret species known as the chiropteran that threaten humanity. As Saya learns of her mysterious past, she and a large cast of others find a way to rid the world of chiropteran.



    When I say "large cast," that is by no means and overstatement. Many characters enter the show, either because of the central plot or because of the attachment of other characters. Blood+ does a good job of giving many key characters enough time on screen for the viewers to know and get an idea of their role in the overall show.



    Blood+'s characters are supported by the unique world and setting created in the showm, with a beautiful (and usually moving) soundtrack composed and stylized by Mark Mancina and Hans Zimmer. Classical pieces of music by famous musicians make their notice in the show as well. As the title implies, blood is the main idea in Blood+. Blood is very graphical and gives the show a sort of textural and natural feel to it. The graphical violence and great action sequences only help Blood+ in its atmospheric presentation as a whole.



    Blood+ takes a few sharp turns of emotions and plot throughout its two seasons. There is very little humor found in Blood+, and that could be a little awkward for some viewers who appreciate humor along with serious plots. Blood+ is a very sophisticated anime. Lacking the outstanding and noticeable traits that many animes carry, Blood+ is strictly here for beautiful presentation rather than comical relief. Most episodes consist of conversations, most of the time ending with a cliffhanger that forces you to anticipate the next episode. While Season 1 seems to drag on more, Season 2 is very guilty of making you wait until the next episode. Staying with Blood+'s plot is very important, and wanting to find out the end result of the show is what really drove me to finish the series, and I'm glad I did, because it ended much better than I could have hoped it would.



    Blood+ may not hold the attention span of many viewers because of its really slow start, but if you can find yourself to stick with Blood+, you will discover a very rewarding and emotional tale that, when it's all said and done, has you appreciating the show altogether, and leaves you beckoning for more.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    If you liked the Blood: The last vampire movie then thisis right up your street.

    By drdan2410, Jan 23, 2009

    The shows follows Saya Otonashi who is high school girl with amnesia living in Okinawa. However, he peacful life is shattered when she discovers that she is in fact one of the last living vampire's and her blood is the only weapon against strange vampire like monsters called Chiropterans. As such she sets off to defeat them once and for all.



    This is a great show. It has some great fight sequences and some really interesting characters. In particular the relationship of Saya with her adoptive family - especially in later epsiodes when her memory returns is really compelling. The supporting cast are very well written and in my opinion one of the strongest elements of the show.



    This is a really brilliant show which more people should be watching.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Great showing pulling off a surprise turn around in storytelling that made the show a classic. Starting off slow and perhaps meandering for too long. We have Saya reluctant hero and denier of her true vampire nature. We

    By danharr, Aug 26, 2008

    Great showing pulling off a surprise turn around in storytelling that made the show a classic. Starting off slow and perhaps meandering for too long. We have Saya reluctant hero and denier of her true vampire nature. We suffer endlessly almost watching Saya lose fights and whine to no end. However in one of the greatest turnarounds in an anime series. Saya becomes the protagonist we all expect. Showing power and fighting ability with winning fights and still maintaining her girl next door appeal. Once established as a fighter Saya successfully morphs again. This time into a distant being coming down from Mt. Olympus to battle monsters and having no connection with human emotion. Thanks to a great supporting cast Saya does another turnaround and is brought back to humanity and the story is the better because of it. For some the show raised nurture vs nature questions but for me things were pretty cut and dry. Chiopeterans weren't absolved from evil status simply because they were born blood suckers and I don't think the show did that much for dualism on the subject either. This doesn't matter however if you want a well animated and thought out series this one is the ticket. I found it compelling and I still see the faces of the characters during emotional moments months after seeing it very good show.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Really great show only real downfall is that if you miss a few episodes you can be totally lost, but perfect amount of action and character development

    By doomedsoul89, Aug 01, 2008

    Really great show only real downfall is that if you miss a few episodes you can be totally lost, but perfect amount of action and character development, I mean all the characters are great and they weren't afraid to kill characters off, i hate how shows keep tons of characters and have them barely survive like 100 times and not one ever dies for any reason, this show is simply one of the best animes and i think it's unfair that people don't give it a chance because they want something more cartoony like naruto or bleach which half the time the storyline doesn't even make sensemoreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    Immense



    So far, only 5 episodes of the new show "Blood+" have been released, I've seen up to episode 4 and I must say that this is one incredible show!

    By TinnieMaster, Jul 28, 2008

    With a design that merges CGI and Hand drawn animation so seamlessly and a storyline that is more exciting than Buffy and more addictive than anything else I've ever seen (Except maybe Naruto) this is one immense show that is a definite tribute to the film.



    Originally, back in 2001, the creators of Ghost In The Shell decided to create a 6-episode OVA series about a vampiress who kills vampires. The first episode was made, being one of the first to blend CGI and hand animation so brilliant, and also becoming an instant success over here in the western world. However, the cost of the first episode was too much, and there wasn't enough money to support the 45 minute episodes, so the show was cancelled after the first ep. The first episode was then re-released onto DVD, simply entitled as "Blood: The Last Vampire" and took itself as a 45 minute film.



    But, with the success of DVD sales for the film, the company started up on the project again, this time creating a 52 episode series entitled "Blood+" which was created to give a bit more background to the series and also to add more characters and more story, allowing the original story to be developed even further than the original 6 episode plan could have done. The show is still just beginning, but it is already incredible, within the first 2 minutes of the first episode I was hooked. This show also does that evil technique of ending each episode with a cliff-hanger (Much like Naruto) and as each cliff-hanger is sooo exciting, you watch the next episode the following week to find out what happens.



    This show is still finding its ground, but thanks to the roaring success of the Film, the gorgeous action, interesting and believable characters (ignoring the fact 1 of them is a vampire...) and an attractive story, this TV show should become one of the great anime-classics such as Evangelion, Cowboy Bebop, Naruto, Rurouni Kenshin. I have a whole year until this show is completed, and I will watch as a devoted fan. I hope you all do too as this show is just INCREDIBLE!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.8

    Not bad... didn't enjoy this one thoroughly, because honestly there are better things to watch, but still it deserves more attention than normal.

    By rhcpvisigoth, Jun 05, 2008

    Blood+ follows the journey of Saya and her friends to defeat the chiropterans all over the world. The story is intriguing and compelling enough to keep you hooked onto this show long enough for your to recognize it's true potential. Animation was somehow "dated", though I'm not sure that term can be applied here. Recommend this show for anime fans of all genre, as there's plenty of action, emotion and drama in this show to keep everyone entertained. I was just hoping for a prettier female antagonist :D! The show has also gained a lot of praise for it's soundtrack. . .moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews