Boardwalk Empire

Show Reviews (44)

Great
1,560 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    SUITS AND TIES AND GREEDY FLIES

    By jeredhitsman, Oct 14, 2014

    I'M PISSED THAT THEY ARE CANCELLING BOARDWALK EMPIRE. STUPID RATNGS. IT'S SUCH A GREAT SHOW! PEOPLE JUST DON'T GET HOW IN DEPTH EACH CHARCTER IS AND WHAT THEIR STORIES HAVE TOLD BEHIND IT. MORE OF THIS EPIC STORY COULD BE REVEALED, BUT WHEN YOU HAVE COMPITITIONS (WHICH DOESN'T HOLD A CANDLE) TO BOARDWALK EMPIRE, THE BIG WIGS AND THEIR GREEDY LITTLE SNOUTS SHUT DOWN SOME OF THE MOST ARTISTIC, HISTORICAL SHOWS CAUSE LITTLE TEENY BOPPER SHOWS LIKE TRUE BLOOD AND OTHER LAME PROGRAMS PERTAIN AROUND MORE DRAMA THAN A VARIETY OF SORTS. SO I GIVE A BIG MIDDLE FINGER IN THE AIR AND SAY POOR CHOICE YOU GREEDY LITTLE SWINES. HAVE YOU EVER HEARD OF THE DEADLY SIN "GREED"? WELL YOUR BATHING IN YOUR OWN GREEDY FILTH.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Enjoy the Ride!

    By CoachCam77, Oct 13, 2014

    "Nucky" et al, create a fascinating look into the lifestyle of the prohibition era, and the "Roaring 20's". As a Historian I certainly take issue with what is passed for fact. Irregardless, the show is interesting and entertaining as a fiction series, where I wait with baited breath for the next instalment. I do have a question however. Why is it ending after the eighth episode of season 5? The other seasons having gone for 12 each? Was there a dispute? Was it cancelled?moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    One of HBO's best

    By mothershaboo, Oct 04, 2014

    Great show. Writing, casting & costume and set design are excellent, a joy to watch.

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Boardwalk Empire is great

    By PElf, Aug 17, 2014

    This show is awesome. From the cast, the script, the scenario, ecc ecc.

    I just finished season one in 2 days and I'm already watching season two, this show is addictive.

    I truly advice everyone to give a shot of this show because is a great one.



    The only problem that I have with the show, like for a lot of movie too, is the fact that all the "Italian" speaking dialogues are not done in Italian. Every time a character is supposed to speak Italian he is talking gibberish with he add of some casual Italian words. It's extremely annoying, especially for the Italian audience. They spend million on this show, why not bring someone who really speak Italian and teach some lines to the actors??!!

    It's like when a movie character is present as Chinese but in reality he is speaking Japanese during the entire movie. Most of the people will not see the difference but for a lot of others this is kinda of annoying.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    The blues never felt so good

    By ripleyisabadass, Dec 01, 2013

    Iv watched Broadwalk Empire from the first season and I just wasn't sold until this season. It always looked great but the pacing at times was always a little off for me. I know it sacrilege to say but I thought it was better than breaking bad this year. The characters are fleshed out and the music has been a really nice element. Chalky and Capone have taken up more of the stage and the show is better for it. Watching this and then the standard network procedural, there really is a enormous gap in every aspect. You wont regret giving this your timemoreless

    3 0

  • 10

    One of the best shows on TV

    By Belfaborac, Nov 29, 2013

    I loved this show from the very first episode. HBO seems to be pretty much the only non-Brit outfit which bothers to produce fully realised shows these days, with three-dimensional characters rather than cardboard cut-outs and lame, improbable storylines Worth a straight ten in my book..

    4 0

  • 10

    Boardwalk Empire rules!!

    By GeronimoX, Nov 26, 2013

    One of the best shows currently on TV. Everything's spot on: casting, scenario, wardrobe, music, sets, props, cinematography; It breathes the Twenties and feels real. Especially the casting of Steve Buscemi as protagonist Nucky Thompson is at least as good as picking Bryan Cranston as Walter White. Like many of the characters the fans suffer blow by blow but keep coming back for more. Always a few nasty surprises and demises of loved characters when you least expect them. Just like it would be in a thug's life. Too bad this season's already finished again, but Boardwalk Empire will be back for a fifth season. Al Capone is finally a capo and my beloved mister Pink is more ruthless than ever, so it'll be a long wait but definitely worth it. It's a real slow burner this one so it's not everyone's poison but if you have the patience to see it through Boardwal Empire delivers time and time again. Not for the faint at heart 'cause some scenes can be extremely brutal, but what would you expect gangsters playingmoreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    Feels authentic

    By WithoutPopcorn, Nov 19, 2013

    This show had a very slow burn of a first season but if stuck with it you were rewarded with fully fleshed out characters and story lines each season thereafter. The costume sets, music are all top notch and makes you feel like you are in the era. If you don't appreciate character development and only want action this show may not be for you. There are many episodes that are slow burns but quite necessary for both story and for the action scenes to be more effective. This show is tied for HBO's best currently running shows.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Great season

    By Eliseer, Nov 11, 2013

    I've been watching since the beginning, and the funny thing is that every other year, BE is never what I look forward to the most. The quality is top notch; but the pacing seems to falter at times, and the sheer glut of "minor" characters often forces even the more interesting ones to be marginalized for the sake of the greater stories of each season.



    That said, and as one reviewer has already put it, if it's all taken as a prelude to what's happening now, then WOW has it been amazing! This season has been fan-damn-tastic! Chalky, Al, van Alden, and Richard have so much more to do- and even better: these supremely awesome characters are starting to intersect. It's mostly completely separate from the main Nucky stuff, for now, and it's been better for it IMO. Those guys definitely have the chops to keep our attention!



    Meanwhile, Nucky's story, along with nephew Willie's intro the family business, had been good to.



    There's not a single thread this season that I'm not enjoying- tho I didn't miss Gillian this past Sunday...moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    Hooch! if you love Boardwalk Empire, you will love this

    By jasonwashburn, Aug 07, 2013

    I am a huge fan of the 1920's and the prohibition era! if you are as well check out this project.

    Hooch on Kickstarter!

    You will not be disappointed!

    0 3

Load More Reviews