Boardwalk Empire

Show Reviews (41)

Great
1,546 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Boardwalk Empire is great

    By PElf, Aug 17, 2014

    This show is awesome. From the cast, the script, the scenario, ecc ecc.

    I just finished season one in 2 days and I'm already watching season two, this show is addictive.

    I truly advice everyone to give a shot of this show because is a great one.



    The only problem that I have with the show, like for a lot of movie too, is the fact that all the "Italian" speaking dialogues are not done in Italian. Every time a character is supposed to speak Italian he is talking gibberish with he add of some casual Italian words. It's extremely annoying, especially for the Italian audience. They spend million on this show, why not bring someone who really speak Italian and teach some lines to the actors??!!

    It's like when a movie character is present as Chinese but in reality he is speaking Japanese during the entire movie. Most of the people will not see the difference but for a lot of others this is kinda of annoying.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    The blues never felt so good

    By ripleyisabadass, Dec 01, 2013

    Iv watched Broadwalk Empire from the first season and I just wasn't sold until this season. It always looked great but the pacing at times was always a little off for me. I know it sacrilege to say but I thought it was better than breaking bad this year. The characters are fleshed out and the music has been a really nice element. Chalky and Capone have taken up more of the stage and the show is better for it. Watching this and then the standard network procedural, there really is a enormous gap in every aspect. You wont regret giving this your timemoreless

    2 0

  • 10

    One of the best shows on TV

    By Belfaborac, Nov 29, 2013

    I loved this show from the very first episode. HBO seems to be pretty much the only non-Brit outfit which bothers to produce fully realised shows these days, with three-dimensional characters rather than cardboard cut-outs and lame, improbable storylines Worth a straight ten in my book..

    3 0

  • 10

    Boardwalk Empire rules!!

    By GeronimoX, Nov 26, 2013

    One of the best shows currently on TV. Everything's spot on: casting, scenario, wardrobe, music, sets, props, cinematography; It breathes the Twenties and feels real. Especially the casting of Steve Buscemi as protagonist Nucky Thompson is at least as good as picking Bryan Cranston as Walter White. Like many of the characters the fans suffer blow by blow but keep coming back for more. Always a few nasty surprises and demises of loved characters when you least expect them. Just like it would be in a thug's life. Too bad this season's already finished again, but Boardwalk Empire will be back for a fifth season. Al Capone is finally a capo and my beloved mister Pink is more ruthless than ever, so it'll be a long wait but definitely worth it. It's a real slow burner this one so it's not everyone's poison but if you have the patience to see it through Boardwal Empire delivers time and time again. Not for the faint at heart 'cause some scenes can be extremely brutal, but what would you expect gangsters playingmoreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    Feels authentic

    By WithoutPopcorn, Nov 19, 2013

    This show had a very slow burn of a first season but if stuck with it you were rewarded with fully fleshed out characters and story lines each season thereafter. The costume sets, music are all top notch and makes you feel like you are in the era. If you don't appreciate character development and only want action this show may not be for you. There are many episodes that are slow burns but quite necessary for both story and for the action scenes to be more effective. This show is tied for HBO's best currently running shows.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Great season

    By Eliseer, Nov 11, 2013

    I've been watching since the beginning, and the funny thing is that every other year, BE is never what I look forward to the most. The quality is top notch; but the pacing seems to falter at times, and the sheer glut of "minor" characters often forces even the more interesting ones to be marginalized for the sake of the greater stories of each season.



    That said, and as one reviewer has already put it, if it's all taken as a prelude to what's happening now, then WOW has it been amazing! This season has been fan-damn-tastic! Chalky, Al, van Alden, and Richard have so much more to do- and even better: these supremely awesome characters are starting to intersect. It's mostly completely separate from the main Nucky stuff, for now, and it's been better for it IMO. Those guys definitely have the chops to keep our attention!



    Meanwhile, Nucky's story, along with nephew Willie's intro the family business, had been good to.



    There's not a single thread this season that I'm not enjoying- tho I didn't miss Gillian this past Sunday...moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    Hooch! if you love Boardwalk Empire, you will love this

    By jasonwashburn, Aug 07, 2013

    I am a huge fan of the 1920's and the prohibition era! if you are as well check out this project.

    Hooch on Kickstarter!

    You will not be disappointed!

    0 3

  • 9.0

    Loyal? Begrudgingly ;)

    By bsgjOO3, Jul 16, 2013

    I've seen every episode from the start. Fantastic show. Recommended to everyone. Spoiler alert when Jimmy dies I was pissed. Very much so. But it turns out there was some discord between Michael Pitt and I think Terrence Winters. Or something like that, apparently it was irreparable. So what can you do? I like many swore off the show, but than had an off season to cool off. By the time the next season premiered I was back on board the boardwalk. I personally love Margaret and I think Nuckie stained her. The new trailer looks great but I was hoping that Gillian was dead. She should be dead. Anyway can't wait.moreless

    0 4

  • 10

    New to the series as of January 2013

    By scgiants, Feb 03, 2013

    I am not a subscriber to HBO and therefore never heard of this series. After Christmas I was at the store and I seen this series for sale - upon reading the basics and seeing the main actor, director, etc. (names are not my strongest point) I decided to try it. From 5 minutes into it I loved it. My wife at first hated it and thought it was boring. Fortunately for her I kept watching and now we are both addicted to it and love it. We haven't watched any television since and are now just starting season two on DVD. This is a GREAT show! Not since the Shield or the Wire have I been so enthralled by a show. I do hope they continue this show for many years as it seems all the best ones end too soon (Deadwood, The Wire, The Shield). They need better advertising though - if I didn't stumble upon this by accident I would have never discovered it.moreless

    3 0

  • 9.0

    Amazing for people that UNDERSTAND..

    By PeterAnderson3, Jan 17, 2013

    After reading a few comments about people saying they will quit watching because of the violence.. What did you think this show was about? Nookie and Capone sharing tea at a dinner party? People that get sick to their stomach and easily offended obviously have not experienced the dark side of the world to appreciate the writing and those actual scenes that go into making a show like this and bringing the truth to the "simple" minded folk.



    World is bad enough? Well some people do not know anything about the world.. You think what is done nowadays is worse? Least we get to see that it was always there for some people.. In fact on more of a inappropriate level back then. Makes you appreciate the laws of our society a bit more I would think.



    Boardwalk is quick witted and has some of the best endings per season. If ya do not like it that is understandable.. but to bring up the fact ya do not due to violence and sick scenes.. Well ya should not have watched this kind of show to begin with or got started in it.. It was pretty obvious what it was all about.. even on a synopsis. move on to like BIg Bang Theory or Vegas ;)moreless

    8 1

Load More Reviews