There is Another Sky

Episode Reviews (10)

Superb
204 votes
9.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    There is Another Sky

    By TrueTvWatcher, Jan 28, 2012

    There is Another Sky was a perfect episode of Caprica. I really enjoyed watching this episode because there was a lot of character and series development along with great special effects, costumes, acting, and editing. The Adama's hold a ritual for those they lost in the accident while Daniel Graystone makes a bold presentation to the Board of his company and so begins the birth of the Cylons. It was interesting to hear how he envisioned their use as slave labor, amongst other things. Bill Adama has some serious anger issues to work out as he went a little crazy over some bullies. This episode had every thing you could want. It was also cool how Tamara discovered a whole new world in the Virtual World along with some unique abilities. Also cool was how she sent that kid to find her father, and when he did he ran. I certainly look forward to watching the next episode!!!!!!!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    Tamara explodes into the V World in her attempts to return to reality while the Adamas practice a ritual farewell to their lost loved ones. A grevious Bill Adama looks for answers from his uncle and Graystone industries looks set for a revolution.

    By AdrianCremona, May 10, 2011

    This episode shows us some of the rules and laws of the V world and also introduces a new element of underground activity. New Cap City features prominently and seems to be a playground for many future episodes.



    This episode opens up the possibility of thousands of cylons (not just the one with Zoe in it), finding sentience, all with Tamara as the original AI template. I find it difficult to describe without spoling the episode, but suffice it say, we have been given an insight into a major player in the Caprica Universe and i cannot wait to see where this ride is going to take us.moreless

    8 1

  • 1.0

    What a pity to milk down a good show

    By overfiendavi, Feb 04, 2011

    Do not get it but judging by the number of reviews here with high score, we know that not a lot of people are watching. Thank god for that.This show is just milking the cow.This is a brilliant failure and i pity the people who watch it still..may be out of desperation or something. Who cares about how cylons became to be cylons. what i hate is people are watching a melodrama which has very little to do with science fiction and are in rave about it..well those who are giving the 8 and 9 scores.Please cancel this horror which is an insult to the BSG franchisemoreless

    1 31

  • 9.0

    Good.. really good.. best so far?

    By Parricida, Oct 25, 2010

    Totally loved that and it was unexpected. I never thought Tamara would have some significant storyline and after dissapearing, I thought.. that's quite it with her.. but no.. she is back and with amazing storyline. She is almost as special as Zoe, (and even if I like Zoe).. she just.. the whole way of little innocent girl, scared, wanting get home.. and getting in one gang with wrong people and then seeing "New Caprica" virtual reality. It was visually stunning, the different kind of color schema.. The whole way that place.. the rules, the atmosphere.. the bank.. the way she realizes that she is special and what she can do.. and that scene.. she walking alone on that street.. powerful.. Want to see more of thatmoreless

    3 0

  • 10

    What are you? I'm awake. Who didn't get a chill from that?

    By DornHetzel, Oct 07, 2010

    At least for me, the heart of this story is what's going on with Zoe and Tamara, and I really feel like that stepped up to whole new level with this episode. Zoe looked so happy in the first part of the boardroom scene, until, well, until her father described the race of slaves he would build and made his point by ordering her to rip off her own arm. Tamara has been the scared and lost one, but not anymore. Is it any wonder the Cylon's had such a bad attitude by the time of BSG, if this is how the Human's treated them right from the start! ?moreless

    6 0

  • 10

    "New Cap City" is the world you are in right now, reading this review.



    "It's almost like figuring out the object of the game is the object of the game."



    "When you die in New Cap City... you never come back"

    By PatrickMitche, Oct 07, 2010

    Can you be free if you're not real?



    If you think you are real, you have a long way to go down the rabbit hole.



    If you know why the 'answer' to life is 42 then I think we could have some interesting discussions.



    If you can see the patterns all around you, including the stories that spring up from the collective subconscious, the 12 tribes of humans, and the recent acceleration of awakening... you aren't alone.



    Take a good hard look at the episodes of this series, or battlestar, carnivale, misfits...



    watch waking life again



    diviner's sage



    there is another sky. and if you're game... you could probably find it. how far on your hero's journey are you? need help up the ladder?moreless

    8 0

  • 5.0

    *** Spoiler-free *** Disjointed arcs, potpourri virtual story, demonstrative but superficial Adama arc and interesting but rushed Graystone story

    By goa103, Oct 07, 2010

    Since the poor Reins of a Waterfall when it comes to Caprica I'm on guard. Of course Gravedancing was better but there was still some disappointing elements, like the intrusive soapy drama and questionable young adults acting. This fifth installment was a mix of both.



    First I can't stand the Dallas-like recaps. Nostalgy should be used to unleash creativity, not to asphyxiate it. However I definitely think it's interesting to picture the collision between two families.



    Second the three arcs were awfully disjointed. Either the storyboard guy was drunk or the editor is a sleep walker. One minute you see Joseph Adama fishing with his young son in bright daylight, the next Tamara Adama trapped into the dark virtual world. Moreover she's portrayed by Genevieve Buechner and I found her performance not convincing at all.



    Third the virtual arc didn't feature Zoe nor Lacy when the last is played by Magda Apanowicz, the best young actress of the three in my opinion. In fact I don't think Buechner lacks talent but the situations she's involved in are inappropriate for her age and nearly absurd. I mean if you want to pull a Trinity you get Carrie-Anne Moss ; a beautiful, talented and charismatic actress. And if you want to go all Neo on some guys you get Keanu Reeves, or the gravure model next door. As for its story I thought mixing science-fiction and film noir was original but I found the execution lacked authenticity. It's like if they gathered as many ideas as possible, specially from The Matrix, throw them into a jar and prayed for their invocation to succeed. It wasn't a complete failure but only decent entertainment and I have higher expectations.



    Fourth the Adama arc was demonstrative but the stories developing in parallel made it less intense. I think they should have focused on it like in Gravedancing instead of trying to cover too many topics at the same time, or leave it for the next episode. When you hunt too many preys the risk is not to catch any. However its ending was intriguing even if I found it rushed. If they don't want to lose more viewers they really have to properly connect the arcs. Lost is a role model when it comes to the process and in its sixth season dual stories are developed and edited in a very creativity manner. Such mastery should definitely inspire its peers in the future.



    Fifth and last the Graystone arc was interesting but far too short. I only remember two scenes. One involved Daniel's wife and even if her motivation speech was inspiring their scene was just misplaced between the two other arcs. In fact he had to deal with what he said on the talk show about his first major invention, the Holoband. The Cylon was also featured and it actually reminded me of the RoboCop film series. Daniel's speech was engrossing but nothing Isaac Asimov didn't write decades ago. However if you're new to topics like artificial intelligence and morality then you should be fascinated by his scene. Still I didn't like how it ended because I think what happened just ruined it.



    To sum things up there were some pros and cons so it was watchable but not memorable. Considering it's already the fifth episode I worry that the whole season will receive the same treatment. It's a pity because Caprica has potential and some of the topics covered fascinate me but there're still far too many disappointing elements. However I'm not ready to give up on it because despite its flaws there're plenty of things to appeal the audience. If I was a teenager I would probably not be so picky but for the moment I believe the show is not mature and smart enough.moreless

    0 2

  • 8.5

    After two disappointing episode, this was the best episode so far in the series.

    By bcagen, Feb 28, 2010

    I thought the show was toast, but I really enjoyed this episode. Good pace, no filler scenes and the hour just flew by.



    Of course, I loved all the scenes in New Cap City. I can imagine what Tamara must feel to exist in a place where she cannot die and has control over other avatars. I also liked them stealing of that rich old guy's avatars and then his 'money' so they can have influence in this virtual world. Very interesting.



    My only compliant is about Daniel's argument about the Cylons to his board of directors, but I did like his argument for abandoning the Holobands. This new Tamara plot was unexpected, but I really enjoyed it. Well done.moreless

    7 0

  • 9.0

    Finally the show is gaining momentum! These last episodes I was praying to the one true God, this show would lift off. Today it did.

    By Damian300669, Feb 27, 2010

    Hopefully, the writers keep this pace. Gone are the tedious dialogues and the slow storytelling. This episode looks to be the start of the show I was hoping for. I knew it! Too bad for all those people who already gave up on this show. Ratings have been dropping, but hey, people, give the show another chance with this episode and I guarantee you'll tune in again next week. Tamara is trying to escape the V-world and there is real action going on to reach that goal. And Daniel Graystone introduces the U-87 to his board of directors. They agree to mass produce the nice little robots. What will that lead to? As I already said: Three, two, one...and we have lift-off!moreless

    8 0