Captain Kangaroo

Show Reviews (20)

Great
148 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Love for The Captain

    By TheMadam3605, Oct 16, 2013

    Reading all these reviews made me write my own memory of the show. I would watch every morning before school and see those baby animals and be so happy because they came from the working dairy farm that I lived on! I would get home from school and my dad would say, "Jilly guess who was here today?" And I just knew I had missed seeing Mr. Greenjeans again! I don't know if it really was Mr. Greenjeans that came to pick up the animals or if my dad was just teasing me, but I still believe it to this day! And the next morning, there would be a piglet or lamb and I would know exactly where they had come from! I sure wish we could see those old episodes again today!moreless

    0 0

  • 7.5

    The rabbit was the Best

    By RockWolf, Sep 03, 2012

    Bob made a rabbit that did not talk a focal point for teaching. Wish the teachers today would watch the show now. Maybe we could move the teachers to an understanding of real teaching vs trying to be a factory of education that produces defective parts all day long.

    0 0

  • 10

    It's Raining Ping Pong Balls!

    By DiscordQ, Jul 30, 2012

    I remember this Show growing up.I used to think It was Hysterical when Mr. Moose Would Trick Captain Kangaroo and And Ping Pong Balls would Fall All Over The Place.The Days When the Morality Lessons were more subtle,Not Heavy Handed Like in Todays Shows.i guess Fun in Kids Shows,With a Few Exeptions, is Not Politicly Correct anymore.Where are The Ping Pong Balls When you Need them?

    2 0

  • 7.0

    My dad

    By tcamaj, Jul 26, 2012

    My dad was filmed at the WTC washing windows and interviewed for this show- anyone know how to get a hold of old episodes- it would mean the world to us to have it as we lost him on 9/11 . tcamaj@hotmail.com

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Captain Kangaroo

    By LaurieMaestas, May 20, 2012

    My cousin and i was on your show back in the 60s' How would i go about getting to see your old shows? I can't ask my mom or aunt if they ever recorded it. But i would really love to see it and show my grandkids and kids that their mom was on tv on a kids show

    2 0

  • 10

    coloring contest

    By Jeffintampa, Apr 01, 2012

    Hi all does anyone have the national coloring contest I slightly remember I won and would like to watch that show to confirm

    0 0

  • 10

    I'm proud to say, in my memory Captain Kangaroo is a perfect TV series!

    By bmoshier, Jan 25, 2011

    Captain Kangaroo was and still is the best children's TV series every produced. I watched it during the late 1950s and through most of the 1960s. To me this was the Golden Age of TV and the Captain helped me learn about life, what was right and what was wrong, and gave me a foundation that lasts even to today.



    I have to thank the Captain for his part in making me someone people say they can and do look up to. It isn't me, though; it is because of people like Captain Kangaroo, Mr. Green Jeans, Mr. Moose, and many others, including God.



    I didn't have a real life male figure in my life. The Captain, though, was similar to a wonderful Grandfather who would visit with me every day.



    He helped the late baby boomers and beyond grows up. In my opinion, he gave us take a slightly different take on life than our earlier brothers and sisters (who became teenagers and young adults in the 1960s).



    I'm proud to say, in my memory Captain Kangaroo is a perfect TV series!moreless

    7 0

  • 10

    This show was so great, I wish they still played it for my kids.

    By letrbuck4, Jul 09, 2010

    This show was so great, I wish they still played it for my kids. I really miss it. It brings back such wonderful memories! I especially loved Mr. Green Jeans and Mr. Moose. To this day, I love mooses! I hope that someday they play reruns on Nick at Night or some other network as I think it is worth it. I would make my kids watch it even though they are grown up now. I do have nephews that would love it, too. I think children's shows are too grown up nowadays. They don't focus so much on being proud of who you are like the Captain did. This show will always be in my heart!moreless

    5 0

  • 10

    One of the best -- if not THE best -- children's TV shows of all time.

    By ercolby, Jul 09, 2010

    Captain Kangaroo's gentle, positive, patient approach is sorely missed these days. Bob Keeshan had a gift for making his young viewers feel as if he was talking only to them. His warmth and kindness came vividly through the TV screen, making children feel loved. One big reason is that he didn't talk down to them; he simply talked TO them. He was a friend to all the young people who watched him.



    The show had a laid-back, leisurely pace that is not common today. Hard to imagine a show in this day and age putting on segments such as The Town Clown or Dancing Bear. Certainly, there are some fine children's shows on the air these days, but there are few that give children credit for intelligence and patience the way that Captain Kangaroo did.



    The show mixed caring and nurturing with silliness and fun. That's a rare combination. It's what made every morning with the Captain special.



    Here's to you, Captain, along with Mr. Green Jeans, Mr. Moose, Bunny Rabbit, Dennis, Dancing Bear, Grandfather Clock, Fred on Channel One, Tom Terrific, the Banana Man, Mr. Baxter, etc., etc. But, mainly, here's to you, Bob Keeshan, for creating one of the best -- if not THE best -- children's TV shows of all time.moreless

    5 0

  • 10

    Wishing it was still on TV. Children this day and time need someone like Captain Kangaroo to look up too. Often times todays role models fail us.

    By DouglasSingle, Jul 09, 2010

    I remember watching this show as a child, but my greatest memory of the Captain Kangaroo show was when I got to meet him in person. Captain Kangaroo came to Thomasville Georgia and was the grand marshal of our rose bud parade for children. I got to even hug Captain Kangaroo as a child and still have the pictures of him in Thomasville to this day. We need shows like this one on our Televisions today. Shows that the parents don't have to worry about their children hearing cuss words, or seeing people getting shot, or raped, or beaten up. Was Cap't Kangaroo violence on TV? yes, if you consider how many times he got hit on the head with ping-pong balls. But Bob Keeshan was a role model to children years ago, and I can't recall one time that he was caught having an affair, or a drug problem, or any thing else like our so-called role models do today. This was a great man, great show, and great time for TV, and children's programming. I'm 36 years old now and I'm here to tell you if they showed reruns of Cap't Kangaroo I would probably be glued to my TV. I loved this show, and I love the man behind it, because things he taught me as a child, I have carried with me till this day. Thank you Cap't and may you Rest in Peace and I can't wait to hug you again in Heaven.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews