Charmed Noir

Episode Reviews (15)

Superb
408 votes
9.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.5

    Charmed Noir

    By TrueTvWatcher, May 04, 2012

    Charmed Noir was a superb and very entertaining episode of Charmed and I really enjoyed watching because the story was fun, different and full of intrigue. It was great to see Paige and Brody working together as she opens up the magical world to him more. Piper decides to ask Leo for help despite every thing else and he gets help from the other Avatars. The fictional world inside the book was great and well done by all production staff and the actors. I liked the way every thing ended, like a truly good story should. I look forward to watching the next episode!!!!!!!!!moreless

    1 0

  • 8.5

    The 30s Are Alright

    By lenzinoH20, Sep 27, 2011

    Charmed Noir-Paige and Agent Brody, are drawn into an unfinished novel that takes place in the 1930s, and they must elude the gangsters in pursuit of the famed Burmese Falcon. Meanwhile, Phoebe, Piper and Leo work to re-write the novel to help get Paige and Brody out of it, before they're killed.

    Well, this is somethingyou can't really say enoughabout Charmed during these years of the series: What an awesome episode! I have to say, when I first watch Charmed Noir back when it aired, I was bored out of mine. But since then, I come to appreciate and love film noirs, there's just something about that era of Hollywood that is legendary and mesmerising. I've even wrote a film noir fan fic! So upon re-watch, it's no wonder I fell in love with this episode. Sure it starts off in a non-surprisingly bad fashion, with a garden gnome (thank God only for the teaser!) gets shot! Now if all someone would kill all those fairies, nymphs and other magical creatures thatruin this show with their sweetness were killed, I'd be in heaven! Anyway, after that, the episode...well...rocks! I have to say, I haven't seen an episode of Charmed this fun since the early years. The script had some snappy dialogue and great characters, not to mention once Paige and Kyle are sucked into a book, it really does feel like a film noir! Also, for the first time in a while, Rose McGowan is taking her lines seriously as well as having fun throughout the episode. Which isn't surprising considering Rose is a major fan of the 1930s and 40s style as well as film and has said numerous times that this was her favorite episode of Charmed.

    The noir lingo was also pretty hilarious like Paige and Kyle being called "Lana and the Fed" and one of the gangtsers telling Paige "don't get smart with me legs!" Once again, I loved the guest stars like Bug Hall as Eddie and especiallyAl Sapienza as Johnny the Gent who is perfect in the classic sleazeball villain role of the noir. We also get some nice moments with Phoebe, Piper and Leo trying to save Paige and Kyle. I loved that whatever Phobe wrote, it happened in the story yet they couldn't write them out. It's great way to get the sisters and Leo to help without being completely sidelined by Paige and Kyle's adventure. I especially loved the part where Phoeb writes the corrupt cop to make Piage flirt with him. The direction in the episode is really top notch, which is rare for Charmed. Not just the use of the black and white film, but the awesome camera angles and shots like when Phoebe writes in the flashback about Eddie's borther being murdered and the way it fades into the background behind Eddie was a brilliant effect. Even the rather cheesy ending with Paige and Kyle's kiss was great and ture to the noir style. All and All, while it's probably the most underrated episode of the seires, "Charmed Noir" works in all levels giving the audience both style and substance. More episodes like this, please!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    Paige and Brody get sucked into a book that is based in the 1930s. Starring: Alyssa Milano, Rose McGowan, and Holly Marie Combs as "Piper", Brian Krause

    By budde22, Jan 02, 2009

    Rose McGowan loves the 1920s, the 1930s, and the 1940s and such, and the writers gave her the episode so that she could get the experience, i guess. Well, for several shows that have episodes in the past like this, like Smallville and One Tree Hill, they seem to turn out disastrous, and Charmed turned in a good episode, one that i really enjoyed. I liked the feuding between the staff for Magic School, and i thought it really showed some of the experiences that Paige (Rose McGowan) could go through. I liked how Piper (Holly Marie Combs) and Phoebe (Alyssa Milano) could throw in plot twists. I really loved that Phoebe began to call Brody, Kyle, i thought that it was funny. I was really shocked on the content of the episode as i expected it to be worse, and enjoyed the episode.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    PAPERBACK WRITER

    By Blinksterboy, Nov 10, 2008

    Paperback Writer



    After a very weak start, this turns out to be one of the most novel (pun intended) episodes of the whole series, with Paige and Kyle getting sucked into a very cool black and white world inside a book.



    The first fifteen minutes are very slow, with the writers bizarrely thinking we'll be interested in who has shot a garden gnome. Errr....no! Far too much time is spent faffing around at the crime scene when it's obvious the book is the answer. Phoebe's little lecture about finding love is incredibly annoying - I'm not sure what Curtis Kheel was thinking here.



    The moment Paige and Kyle enter the book, however, the episode changes completely. Inside, the set designers have created a very faithful reproduction of an old detective movie, with classy costumes and stacks of clever references. It's beautifully filmed and Rose gives an excellent performance throughout - it's clear she's really enjoying the role. I'm not a fan of black and white films myself but I can see why those who are would absolutely love this episode.



    The story inside the novel is non-existent but that hardly matters. The clever part is that Phoebe is able to change the plot by writing in the book - but only up to a point. She can add single events (the piano crashing down is hilarious) but the book always finds a way to cross her. I guess it's in the title.



    By way of a sub plot, Leo is trying to get Piper to go on a date but Piper is suspicious of his sudden change of mood. She's right, of course, but I still feel for Leo - he only became an avatar to save her life. Liked his trick with the roses btw.



    So we've now had the Charmed Ones inside a painting, a film and a book. Better stay away from that Xbox, girls!



    Score: 9.2moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    I love this episode!

    By Danny2312, Mar 20, 2008

    After the very disappointing episode "Once in a Blue Moon", this episode shows that Charmed is still one of the best series in tv. Good episode, not filler at all. Agent Brody and Paige are sucked into a unfinished novel written by two magic school student 20 years ago. Inside the novel they are chased by a group of gangster. Paige power's doesn't word in the reality world, so Phoebe, Piper and Leo help her by finishing the novel. Oh My God, this is the best episode I've ever watch in this series yet!! I totally love this episode. I LOVE CHARMED!!!moreless

    2 0

  • 8.0

    Great episode but being in black and white bored me a little.

    By charmed1102, Apr 13, 2007

    While investigating a murder at Magic School, Paige and Agent Brody are sucked into an unfinished novel written 20 years ago by two students. They suddenly find themselves in a 1930s film noir, where they are chased by gangsters in pursuit of the famed Burmese Falcon. With no way to escape, Paige and Brody must help Eddie Mullen, the missing young author of the novel, learn to be a hero so the story can end. Back at Magic School, Phoebe, Piper and Leo frantically try to rescue Paige and Brody by writing clues into the pages of the novel. Meanwhile, Phoebe tries to help Leo win Piper back, but Piper is still struggling with her feelings.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.6

    Crossed and Double crossed

    By forever3charmed, Dec 28, 2006

    In the libraryt at magic school a teacher is found dead outside of a book. Paige and Brody go to investigate it but get sucked into the book. The book is called crossed and double crossed. The only way to get out is if your dead. Everyone in the book is looking for this mysterious falcon. The novel is set in the 20s so Paige and Brody have to look the part. Phoebe learns that she can write in plot twists to save them but that isn't enough. A guy shot Brody and tried to kill Paige but then the kid who wrote the story destroyed the falcon. Everyone came out and the boy went home to his parents. Phoebe finially called Brody Kyle. This episode was so cool since I wasn't around in the 20s.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Getting into books litterally.

    By sh811a, Sep 21, 2006

    This is one of my favorte episodes of them all. Once again the show takes an experimental approach and it's a sucess. This episode is obviously a love letter to the Noir genere. I myself am a fan of Noir and mysterys. I mainly got into the genere when I watched Magnum P.I. when I was about six. In a strange way this episode is slight similar to a noir episode the show Magnum P.I. did one time. Anyway this show has the black and white cinamatorgraphy which captured the feel and look of film noir movies back then. The narrative style, the fashion, even the dialog was clever and creative. And of course there were some little in jokes in the dialog to Humphy Bogart films like "Casablanca" and "The Big Sleep". Even the plot in the book was an injoke to "The Matanese Falcon". And of course the whole adventure plays fair with the world of books and noir. For example: Pheobe tries to write a set of sentances to end the book imediately but all the pens don't work and Piper explains the reason why is because it wouldn't be fair; Pheobe can only put in a few obsticales or create situations but it's up to the heroes in the story to get themselves out of it so the story can write itself. Much like in the video games you play you have to do the work to get to the next level. But most of the credit has to be handed to Rose and Kerr. Both of them acted perfectly and you can tell both enjoyed doing the episode. Page defently fit the Female Fatale role reminicent of Lauren Bacall. And Brody as sort of a Humphy Bogart factor. Although the show wasn't just all fun but actually developed more of the Page and Broady relationship which doesn't disapoint from begining to the end when both of them kiss for the first time underneith a neon sign romantic noir style.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Beyond Brilliant

    By Charmedfran, Aug 03, 2006

    I knew this episode was going to be good, after reading some reviews and reading a tiny part of the plot I knew for sure this was going to be one of the best episodes ever!



    While investigating a murder at Magic School, Paige (Rose McGowan) and Agent Brody (Kerr Smith) are sucked into an unfinished novel written 20 years ago by two students. They suddenly find themselves in a 1930s film noir, where they are chased by gangsters in pursuit of the famed Burmese Falcon



    I was glad Paige was the sister who got sucked into the novel, she was perfect for the part. I loved the romance between Paige and Agent Brody it seemed soo real and true Rose Mckgown acted extremly well and looked good for the part aswell. You could tell that both Rose Mckgown and Kerr Smith both enjoyed filming this episode, due to their fantastic peformance. It was also good seeing a story revolved around Paige, as mostly every episode has been revolved around Phoebe for a number of seasons.



    The black and white idea was extremly good and made the episode actually seem like it was in the right time, the costumes looked really right and well chosen.



    This episode was good from the start till the end. (A MUST WATCH)moreless

    1 1

Load More Reviews