The Witch Is Back

Episode Reviews (23)

Superb
530 votes
9.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    The Witch Is Back

    By TrueTvWatcher, Mar 24, 2012

    The Witch Is Back was a perfect and very entertaining episode of Charmed. I really enjoyed watching because the sisters are confronted By Matthew a Warlock from their Ancestor Melinda's past. The way Matthew came to be in the modern world was intriguing as Rex and Hannah plot to use him to their advantage. The sisters bring Melinda back from the past and learn how she trapped Matthew and set out to do it again. There was action, magic and plenty of drama. Prue really tests Andy's limits in this episode which was great to watch. There was a lot of character and plot development as the sisters learn more about their pasts, themselves, each other, and test the relationships of those around them. I look forward to watching the next episode!!!!!!!!!moreless

    1 0

  • 8.5

    Great, great, great, great, great, great grandma is back and looking good.

    By iltarion, Jun 11, 2011

    Along with Dead Man Dating this is one of the better first episodes. The highlights are the guest actors. In Matthew Tate we have our first really dangerous and impressive bad guy. Warlocks, and not demons, seem to be the bads of early Charmed days, and this is the best one. He is the original enemy of the Halliwell line, and he has the useful and later imitated ability to steal any power that is used against him. He is the first in a line of later bads to be able to take the sisters' powers and use them against them. The character is played with overconfident evil gravitas and a touch of sexual magnetism. He is such a handful that the sisters see no other alternative but to seek help from their ancestor- Melinda Warren. Melinda is a powerful witch and an attractive character. She is nearly so good-hearted as to be unrealistic. She became the first character to be conjured by the sisters, something that would become fairly common in regards to grams and their mom in later episodes. The subplot involving Prue and Andy is actually stupid. Of course the police would track Prue down after everything started in her office. All she ever needed to do was give them a statement of what happened. She could have easily done that and just left out the magical details. Then, Andy would have left her alone.



    Piper has a small subplot involving Leo, which is good, of course. Essentially, she has to restart their relationship now that the truth spell has worn out. I still can't get over how young her and Leo look. Season 1 might be the only time Holly looked like the youngest sister, which technically she was.



    Prue, once again, is pretty much the key to the vanquish at the end. The sisters take care of Matthew, and then Melinda returns from whence she came, unfortunately, never to be seen again.



    Yes, this is the first time we get to see a character move about through blinking, shimmering or orbing. It is cool, though not as cool as the other two methods we see in later seasons. I appreciate the improved effects of later seasons.moreless

    2 1

  • 10

    melinda!!

    By prue4ever, Apr 17, 2011

    this was a great episode about mellinda warren! that was cool when she came back from the dead. i liked the warlocks power! to copy other peoples powers and blinking! i really want to be able to blink! i liked the part about mellinda's daughter named pruedence! that was a cool episode!

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Melina Warren back in the 17th Century accuses her lover Matthew of betraying her. He has taken her powers and turned her in to be burned as a Witch. She traps him in a locket and takes her powers back. Prue accidentally releases him causing problems.

    By jyarter, Apr 17, 2011

    Another smart episode to follow up the last one. Good storyline and very entertaining. In a way this story took some setting up from pieces of former stories. Melina Warren played by Tyler Layton is the first Witch in the line of the Warren's which the Halliwell sisters are now the current descendants of. She also started the Book of Shadows. Matthew Tate played by Billy Wirth is a Warlock who stole her powers and then turned her in to be burned as a Witch. She curses him and places his essence in a locket and traps him forever. We find out that Rex and Hannah are not who they seem to be. They are Demons from Hell who are bound and determined to steal the sisters powers for themselves. Their plan is for Prue to release Matthew and have him steal all of their powers and then take them from him. So Rex leaves the locket on Prue's desk to catalog.



    I won't give you a blow by blow but let's just say Rex was successful in getting Matthew released. He now has Prue's powers and is looking for the other two women. No one can count out their ingenuity though. They summon Melina to life with them and they learn the curse spell they need to trap Matthew again. After many trials and Matthew getting Phoebe's power as well they managed to stop him and return him to the locket. When they return Melina to where she came she takes the locket with her thereby saving the sisters from having to deal with him again. So Rex and Hannah are foiled in their plan and decide they must up the stakes.



    Andy and Darryl sort of get in the way trying to investigate everything that is going on and Andy threatens to arrest Prue, but she gives him the slip. You get the feeling that this situation will come to a head eventually.



    Great episode and the second in a row that was pretty good all of the way around. Really a joy to watch. Thanks for reading...moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    A fantastic episode from start to finish when the girls must call upon the wican ancestor, Melinda Warren, to come forward from the past and help them to re-enslave a warlock whom she captured and has now been set free.

    By Lady_Lancaster, Apr 17, 2011

    Since they have accepted the fact that they are witches, the girls have been eager to learn about their past. One of the central figures of that past is their ancestor, Melinda Warren, who burned at the stake when a warlock denounced her as a witch. Melinda thought he was in love with her but, of course, he merely wanted her powers and to eliminate her so that he could conceal his true identity.



    Naturally, Rex and Hannah are continuing their evil plots and doing everything they can to help this escaped warlock gain what he wants. The way he can steal a power as soon as it is used against him is very interesting and was a great twist by the writers.



    I felt very deeply for poor Melinda Warren because she had been so badly betrayed but she got her own back in the end and the girls got to meet her so there was a great 'feel good' aspect to the ending.



    Superb episode with a great script and some excellent acting.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.0

    After Prue is tricked into releasing a warlock from a locket, the sisters summon Melinda Warren, their ancestor, to the present for help.

    By knitwitch86, Jan 19, 2011

    As strange as it may sound, Matthew Tate is actually one of my favorite CHARMED villians. Not only does he have a cool and infinitely useful power, but he's actually a force to be reckoned with (unlike some previously forgettable villians). Plus, he oozes sex appeal, making it easy to see how he could have seduced Melinda. And speaking of, I love that we finally get to meet the infamous Melinda Warren, founder of the Warren/Halliwell line of witches. Also, I like that Phoebe's power advanced so that she could see the past, and that her power was the second that Matthew copied as it would've been too predictable to me if he had copied Piper's power after having already copied Prue's. In fact, the only thing I *didn't* like about this episode (and this seems to be a popular complaint) was the whole subplot of Andy investigating Prue, but that's only because it went nowhere and served no purpose this time around. All in all, though, a fantastic episode worthy of 9 lockets out of 10.



    Highlights -- Melinda Warren cursing warlock Matthew Tate into the locket he gave her; Matthew's remark that "lawyers haven't changed" since his time; the sisters summoning Melinda to the present; Hannah and Matthew discussing "false modesty"; Melinda and the sisters cursing Matthew back into the locket; and Melinda foreseeing "many generations" of her "beautiful daughters".moreless

    0 0

  • 8.3

    The past comes to the present

    By prada212vogue, Jan 17, 2011

    When at Bucklands Prue opens a locket and releases Matthew a demon who was sent to stay inside the locket by the girls ancestor Melinda Warren. This demon can steal a witches power when they use it against him and he makes it his mision to kill Melinda and steal the charmed ones powers. Matthew teams up with Rex and Hannah. Andy gets frustrated at Prue because she is involved with a lot a the crimes in San Francisco and demands to know why and what her involvment is.



    Good episodemoreless

    0 2

  • 9.2

    This episode almost make you cry about what they did to witches back in the day. But of course Melinda Warren took her faith and excepted it to save her life line, her daughter. And now she is back to protect her life line again.

    By charmedfan1983, Jan 17, 2011

    This episode is about Rex and Hannah gave Prue a locket to examine. When she does a warlock was released and copied her powers. Soon the three sister learned who he was and called on the power of there past and brought back Melinda Warren, the witch who started it all. Melinda teaches them a few things and also teaches them the curse to capture the warlock back into the locket. But before they did this the warlock captures Phoebes power also so now he knows what is going to happen next. Then Andy gets in the middle of it and trys to arrest Prue at the muesum, where she was getting the owl feather the last ingerdient to the curse. When he does this she gets away and gets home just in time to curse the warlock. Andy still doesn't know what to think about Prue being involved with all this, he lets it go for now but now he is watching her more carefully. At the end they had to send Melinda back to her faith even though the sisters didn't want to see her go.moreless

    1 1

  • 8.8

    An Old Witch with New Tricks

    By lenzinoH20, May 29, 2008

    The Witch Is Back-A warlock from the past is released from his curse and tries to steal the sisters' powers with the help of Rex and Hannah, but the sisters resurrect their ancestor to combat him. Meanwhile, Piper works up her courage to ask Leo out and Andy gets frustrated by Prue's continued involvement with bizarre police investigations.



    I love it when the writers explore the sisters' witch ancestry and this was the first episode to do so. The introduction of Melinda Warren, the first witch of the Charmed Ones' life is a great moment. It's interesting to learn about how the Charmed Ones' coven came to be and how Melinda started the coven. Tyler Layton (Melinda Warren) is good in the role as well as Billy Wirth as Matthew Tate. He's a formidable foe who introduces signature warlock power of blinking which makes for a simple yet cool looking effect. The only nitpick I have with both characters are their tendencies to ask a lot of questions in a post mordern world, as it got only...fast! Though both actors work well together especially when Matthew seduces and threatens Melinda at the manor. Another annoying development is Andy going after Prue after taking an owl's feather from the zoo. It's a ridiculous sub-plot and the writers couldn't make Andy look more like an idiot in this episode than they tried. Rex and Hannah's storyline get developed on more in this episode as they arrange Matthew's release. This devilish due were the first real recurring villains for the series and their mini-arc really kicks in with this episode before only being hinted on in the past episodes. While their plan fails here, it's a nice lead in to the next episode where both characters really shine. The episode has some nice action and special effect pieces like the opening teaser with Prue and Matthew using their powers again each other and Matthew jumping out Prue's office window. Then there's the vanquishing scene where Melinda and the sisters curse Matthew back into the locket. All and All, this is great episode that has develops the sister's family line and develops Rex and Hannah's dark storyline as well.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.2

    A fairly good episode which really warms up the whole Rex storyline and we get to meet the start of the Halliwell's magic!

    By Charmed1408, Jan 10, 2008

    A fairly good episode which really warms up the whole Rex storyline and we get to meet the start of the Halliwell's magic! Melinda Warren, that is in which they bring her back from the past to help them vanquish a demon from her time that Prue unlocked. All in all, I liked seeing Melinda, it was interesting, shame about her actresses acting. But the best part was the Rex Bucklands storyline. I remember being so captivated the very first time I watched the episode by that storyline, it's heats up heavily in this episode. The whole Piper/Leo story was great too.moreless

    0 1

Load More Reviews