Chuck Versus the Beefcake

Episode Reviews (12)

Great
499 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 7.5

    Felt all too familiar here, but a twist at the end is promising.

    By RobGrizz, Jul 02, 2010

    Chuck jealous over Sarah going "undercover" with another guy? Check. Morgan chilling at Chuck's place at the dismay of his sister and Awesome? Check. Jeff and Lester with another lame-brained scheme? Check. I just felt like nothing original happened in this one. We've seen it all before.



    The "Beefcake" for this episode didn't really seem like one. He's kinda old and dirty and gross, with horrible pick-up lines and every cliched spy characteristic in the book. Bryce Larkin he is not. I just don't buy that Sarah would be into him. Still the pivotal bit of business here is that Chuck and Sarah's cover as a couple is history. Or was supposed to be until now they have to live together! That surprise ending has me excited to see what happens next!moreless

    0 2

  • 9.0

    good episode

    By efc91, Oct 04, 2009

    Chuck gets jealous when Sarah has to seduce FULCRUM agent Cole Barker, codename "Beefcake".



    In the meantime, while Big Mike continues dating Morgan's mother and Morgan takes refuge at Chuck's place, Jeff and Lester start looking for the "Buy More Babe" as a way of finding a new employee. Being a big fan of Jeff and Lester I am always happy to see them get a lot of screen time and this was what happened in this episode very funny those two characters always make me laugh. this was a good episode nothing speacil but still good. 9 out of 10moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Many hilarious moments; good plot; some fresh direction

    By sramv9, May 28, 2009

    This episode was great to see because a) it was really, really funny (many 'laugh out loud' moments) and b) something truly new happens as Sarah actually shows some real interest in another man besides Chuck. Sarah became more human and interesting in my eyes in the moment where I realized that she actually was attracted to the MI6 guy. He was a good guest star playing the suave british spy really well. Chuck's reaction to it all was poignant but hilarious. The cast continues to be fabulous on this show. P.s. I just read on Variety that the finale is going to be a "game changer". hmmmmmmoreless

    5 0

  • 9.0

    Chuck has a love Rival.

    By D-LinkUK, Mar 11, 2009

    Chuck is having second thoughts about him and Sarah, so after confronting her Sarah agrees they should not mix business with pleasure and get emotionally involved however Chuck get's jealous when on there latest mission Sarah has to seduce a 'Fulcrum' Agent Cole Baker, when Cole is discovered as a M.I.5 or M.I.6 agent Sarah starts to fall for him making Chuck more jealous.



    Back at the Buy More Jeff and Lester start recruiting for the 'Buy More Babe' and get themselves into some hot trouble by their interview technique's and Morgan is still shocked at Big Mike continuation of his mother that he has to stay at Chucks for a while, however this go's bad when Ellie and Devon discover he sleeps naked.



    Another great episode, loved the Jeff and Lester double team as much as I love Morgan and Chuck when they are together, also Casey is getting really funny as the series progress's.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Chuck gets jealous over MI6 agent...

    By vman85, Mar 04, 2009

    Chuck and Sarah once again broke up due to Ellie urging him to do so. Beckman assigned them to retrieve intelligence from Cole Barker, a Fulcrum agent. Sarah went to Cole's in order to act as though she was going to sleep with him, but really to steal his belt as the intelligence hidden in his belt, as Cole tied Sarah's hands up with the belt. This sequence ended with Sarah, her hands still bound, standing in her underwear with her foot on Cole's back, while holding a gun to him. Cue Chuck to come and kick the door down. It turned out that Cole was working undercover as MI6. Cole took a real shine to Sarah as Chuck tried to out outshine him every way that he could; he even tried decrypting the chip which saw him get caught by Fulcrum and getting tortured along with Cole and Sarah. The torture scene was funny itself as Chuck couldn't take it when Cole was the one taking the whip-lashing. Elsewhere Morgan temporary stayed over at Chuck's due to his mum banging Big Mike, the guy sleeps au Natural. Lester and Jeff Interviewed swimsuit models for the vacant positions at Buy More.moreless

    5 0

  • 9.0

    Chuck gets some real competition.

    By 24treehills, Mar 04, 2009

    No way you can beat a M1 6 agent Chuck ... in no possible way. This episode was kind of a wake up call for Chuck , he realizes his relatioship with Sarah is far from happening , which is good because it gives the show some kind of evolving so it doesn't stuck in the same storyline all the time. Good action in this episode not much but good. I liked to torture scene , we realize that Chuck is ready to put everything in the line when needed. This episode leads to some kind of continue to next week as the team will try to rescue Cole back from Fulcrum's hands.moreless

    3 0

  • 8.5

    Chuck tries to move on and get out of the Chuck and Sarah limbo, but ends up realizing how much she means to him.

    By WeekNightReview, Mar 03, 2009

    My favorite thing about Chuck is that EVERY week it's solid. This was just another contributing episode towards that cause, Chuck is in love with Sarah but he's still afraid to admit that he wants that with her RIGHT NOW, this is slowly pushing him away. It's heartbreaking to watch knowing that, and at times I really just wanted him to drop everything and run over and kiss her. The Morgan sub-plot was not the greatest ever but Josh still makes me laugh every time I see him on screen. This episode also added an interest for Sarah who is pretty much the oppisite of Chuck which is great for the show. (In the last season and a half we've had a few girls hit on Chuck, but none on Sarah.)moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    Great episode with excellent balance between the comedy and the drama.

    By hrgaffney, Mar 03, 2009

    There was some great writing in this episode which managed to balance the comedy (mainly on the subject of sex) and the drama almost perfectly. Awesome was particularly good which was great to see as he hasn't had much to do recently. The Buy More scenes were somewhat weaker, Lester and Jeff interviewing swimsuit models for a job at the Buy More just seemed too far fetched even for Chuck. I really liked the Cole Barker charcter so was disappointed he came to a sticky end quite so soon. Still, it was a hugely enjoyable and entertaining episode of Chuck.moreless

    9 0

  • 9.0

    Chuck flashes on a belt buckle which leads to funny torturous moments as Sarah slowly starts to succumb to the charms of a new love interest.

    By macjay33, Mar 03, 2009

    First of all this I'll admit is not their best work, but it was a solid and very fun and funny episode.



    They kind of do a little flip in the Sarah/Chuck relationship. As they did go back to the same well again with Chuck breaking up with her but this time they flipped it over as Sarah is the one whose eyes start to stray to someone else. Hey I love Chuck and Sarah as a couple but it takes two to tango in a relationship and this is part of the dance of all relationships on any show not named Battle Star Galactica, but hopefully of course the end game will ultimately be Chuck and Sarah.



    I really dig the extra urgency there seems to be in every episode now that Chucks intersect literally intersects between Fulcrum and the other agencies too. I'm curious to see how Chuck deals with living with Sarah, while not exactly living with Sarah so to speak.



    I thought it was kind of neat how Chuck almost ended up living with Morgan in a sort of wet dream nerd nightmare so to speak and than flipped the other way at the last second.



    Morgan awe naturale. Nothing awesome about that one. Uggh! Poor Awesome and Ellie.



    And that Chuck torture scene was hilarious!



    In conclusion, this was a fun episode with great performances all around, but I do think there was a slight repetitiveness to this episode with past episodes, to give it a higher rating, but it was still fun as always and I can't wait for more.moreless

    7 0

  • 9.0

    Chuck finally gets caught doing something stupid and almost pays for it. Jeffster are left to their own devices at the Buy More. Finally Morgan reveals himself and makes an important decision that will change his life forever.

    By jyarter, Mar 03, 2009

    I actually laughed a lot during this episode. The laughs came from very funny situations as well as really stupid character moves on the part of certain secondary characters and the main character himself.



    Let's talk about Chuck first. Removing his earpiece during the hotel case? The first time he finally does something smart and it could have got Sarah killed. Luckily the Fulcrum agent ends up being James Bond and on their side. Checking out the chip while his own covert agents were meeting in relation with said chip? Another bad move. (I was actually surprised that Casey and Sarah haven't realized by now that if it has to do with computers Chuck is the "one" person who could crack the devices defenses in the US.) Again he almost gets Sarah along with himself and the British agent killed. Finally agreeing to move in with Morgan. Strike Three! Of course it looks like that one will be derailed by the necessity of national security concerns.



    Oh, by the way, was I the only one who knew the Mom with the baby on the elevator was a Fulcrum agent before they showed the doll and Casey realized it?



    Now on to Jeff and Lester. The casting couch? Really? Jeff naked under the robe doing the legs crossing bit? How do these guys not get arrested? Basically a pretty inane episode for the most part, but I have to say it is exactly why I watch this show. I have to say I laughed and was pulled in for the whole forty or so minutes of the episode.



    A few last rhetorical questions. When are they going to realize Chuck is not a real spy and is in love with Sarah so having him spy on her doing her covert spy seductions will not work? Will Morgan ever realize you don't go commando on a friends sisters couch? Will Jeff and Lester really ever get their true comeuppance? Finally will Sarah ever really tell Chuck how she feels and have some pity on the guy?



    Stay tuned for those answers and more...



    Thanks for reading...moreless

    7 0

Load More Reviews