Chuck Versus the Dream Job

Episode Reviews (26)

Great
714 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    A very exciting, interesting episode - so much to love about it!

    By sramv9, Sep 30, 2010

    I loved this episode. Scott Bakula did a great job as Chuck's dad. I had been wondering all along if his dad would be a spy - why else would he be hiding away, impossible to find? But then when we meet the dad, and he plays this almost frail befuddled absent minded slightly crazy paranoid dotty old has been scientist guy, i totally bought into it so that when everything was revealed i was as surprised as chuck. I loved every minute of this one- and they did a really good job of finding a way to tie in the Buymore crowd by having them attend the tech expo at RI. Morgan's hurt reaction when he found out about Chuck getting the job at RI was pretty funny. Chuck taking on Casey was a highlight. Chuck trying to sit on the ball chair. Ellie riding the roller coaster of emotions as she is reunited with her long lost dad. yup. love this show. love it more every episode. Hoping that it gets another season!!!!moreless

    8 1

  • 10

    Chuck goes on mission by himself!

    By tvownsLEXIE, Sep 30, 2010

    Though some people told me they thought it was obvious, I had NO IDEA that Chuck's dad was Orion. I was really surprised, and pleased, by that. I'm glad that he had a reason to run out on his kids, and I'm glad that everything he did in the episode made sense. It was so well written, when Stephen said, "Aces Charles" I just thought, "That's the 'dad quote' that Ellie used in the first season!" and I was really excited to see the writers hadn't forgotten either. Caption Awesome was, well, awesome. He really seemed to have depth in this episode, which is nice to see before the wedding. Overall, it was wonderful. Chuck attacking Casey with darts was one of the best action scenes I have ever seen!moreless

    3 1

  • 10

    Chuck enters a world of pain and is great.

    By efc91, Sep 30, 2010

    From the off this episode was fantastic we finally meet Chucks dad. Chevy Chase appears to be a villian in the show and Chuck's dad turns out to be Orion, so much stuff happened in this episode that developed the story of the show, things are starting to build up to a final conclusion for this season and I cant wait to see how it turns out this episode is proabably one of my favourites so far mainly because the story developed with lots of twist and turns, I totally was shocked to see Chuck's dad was Orion didn't see it coming. There was also some very good scenes where Chuck is getting chased for robbing the trigger and Chuck Tranquilizers Casey.moreless

    4 2

  • 10

    Another oh so excellent episode!

    By hrgaffney, Sep 30, 2010

    So - Mr Bartowski senior is Orion! He just had to be, didn't he. This was a funny and at the same time touching episode of Chuck. I felt so sorry for Ellie and her disappointment when she thought she'd only just met her dad again after 10 years and then he was gone again almost straight away. The convention scenes were brilliant - just as I imagine such things to be. Scott Bakula and Chevy Chase did a great job as Stephen and Ted respectively. Not much in the way of Buy More scenes but Lester and Jeff at the Expo were great.moreless

    3 1

  • 10

    I think we all knew the "secret" but it was still fantastic!!! best episode I've seen yet! SPOILERS

    By GavinGibbons, Sep 30, 2010

    yes although everyone sort of knew that Chuck's dad was Orion the writers still put enough doubt in my mind to think that he was just a crazy old man, and when we saw the blueprints for the intersect compared to some of his scribblings (of plasma tv's and remote controls) it made you confirm and doubt that this man could be orion. Chuck suiting up was cool and made him look like a really spy and has to be a high light of the series. Finally the dynamics of Orion, Ellie, and Chuck was fantastic through out and i especially loved the scene where sarah and casey came to collect Chuck whilst Fulcrum closed the door seperating the fathe rand son! i havent seen the remaining episodes of the season yet but this so far has been the best episode for me (and there are a lot of good episodes too)moreless

    1 1

  • 9.5

    Quantum Chuck.

    By D-LinkUK, Apr 09, 2009

    This episode was brilliant on so many levels and two of them were Scott Bakula and Chevy Chase.



    The episode opens where we left off with Chuck and Sarah having tracked Chucks dad down and await for him to answer the door to his trailer house, the suspense is killing us with the director not allowing us to see Mr Barlowski Snr face until the big moment comes and what a surprise it was to Mr Bakula back on our screens, most will recognise SB from Star Trek: Enterprise but my fondest memories are of his Sam Beckett in Quantum Leap…. Anyway moving on.



    Chucks dad reluctantly agrees to come back with Chuck and attend Ellie's wedding to Devon but unlike Chuck Ellie is less than impressed at her estranged fathers return and less than impressed by his strange mannerisms and his claims of inventing flat screen TV's, Palm's, mobile phones etc, we learn Chucks dad went to college with Ted Roark ( Chevy Chase ) who owns Roark Enterprises and when Chuck flash's on a flyer for a convention he learns Fulcrum is involved and a deadly virus will be unleashed on the worlds computers making them obsolete. The team must get Chuck inside and he applies for a job but after getting the position gets the sack.



    Chuck soon learns that Roark has built an Intersect and after donning Casey's SWAT gear breaks into Roark's and tries to gain access to the room that has the Intersect, however Chucks dad is there and after a bit of a rescue we find Bartowski Snr is really Orion but is also Chucks dad…. Good Times!!! Bartowski Snr/Orion can get the Intersect out of Chuck with Roark's Intersect but when it wont work we find Roark has not finished it and needs Bartowski Snr/Orion to help…. Bad Times !!!.



    Long story short, Sarah and Casey rescue Chuck, Mr Bartowski Snr/Orion is taken away by Roark/Fulcrum and Ellie feels let down again by her dad.



    As I said at the top This episode was brilliant on so many levels, I loved Scott Bakula being Chucks dad and I hope we get to see him again, loved the 'Oh Boy!' comment ( Quantum Leap era ) when he first met Ellie and Devon and how he later became Orion, part of me now is hoping Chuck will get the Intersect out of his head and can form a proper relationship with Sarah and his family and friends even though I know that when that day comes it's the end of Chuck the TV show.moreless

    5 0

  • 9.0

    Fun episode with some great moments, especially Chuck gearing up for combat...

    By BlueSunCo, Apr 09, 2009

    This was a fun episode and I've been enjoying re-watching bits of the last few days. It had seemed pretty obvious as the season progressed that Chuck's dad would end up being Orion, since the writer's kept dropping mentions of the scientist/computer-genius dad who mysteriously abandoned them years before, while simultaneously introducing the idea of the intersect's reclusive creator. Hmm... But I have to admit, they threw me off a bit lately (though Orion's "death" was obviously fake). This episode was definitely Buy More-lite, which is too bad, but they were clearly trying to get through lots of revelations on the home front. It was great to see Chuck finally get his "dream job," even if it was short lived. Sarah and Casey going undercover as "nerds" in plaid shirts and glasses was pretty funny, particularly Casey's nerdy clapping in that scene. I really enjoyed the scene where Chuck geared-up and the way that was edited, with the great Crooked Fingers song over it. The confrontation with Casey was great, seeing Chuck pull a gun on him (and competently too) was kind of step for Chuck. And then Casey was pissed it was a trank gun. Casey getting tranked (reminiscent of Firefly's Train Job ep, anyone?) was hilarious, mostly because of the noise he made right before he passed out.



    Chuck's a great show, but it can be a little uneven sometimes. I was annoyed when Casey and Sarah were so dismissive of Chuck's second intersect theory, as he's supposed to have gained some cred with them by now. Sarah was particularly arctic to him there, after all the closeness and bonding over the father issue, and week-after-week of bucking him up about how he really is a spy. And it seemed silly since it was obvious what Chuck would do when they wouldn't help, but I suppose it was necessary to the plot. The revelation about Chuck's dad was kind of anticlimactic, since we'd seen it coming for so long, but what I really missed out on was Chuck's father finding out Chuck was the intersect. Obviously he'd known about Chuck for a while as Orion. Apart from the Jill story-arc we've yet to have anyone from Chuck's circle of family or friends find out the truth, so that would could have been interesting if he hadn't already known (particularly as he's intersect's creator). And it seems unlikely the Fulcrum agents at the end would've just let Chuck go without interrogation, or better yet keeping him prisoner as leverage so Chuck's dad would do anything they wanted. Until Casey and Sarah showed, it seemed strange that they would let him go. As of the end of the episode, we've got some security issues, since a bunch of Fulcrum agents know Chuck under his real name as a CIA agent and Orion's son. I can only hope we address that further in the last few episodes. So not a perfect episode, but damn good. Lots of great music cues and editing. I'm glad to see the story moving forward and Chuck manning up since he has a different agenda from the team. I can only hope the next episode follows through on its title, since that could be some major character evolution for Chuck.moreless

    3 0

  • 5.5

    Orion's secret not so secret.

    By xlovedust, Apr 09, 2009

    Orion is Chuck's father? Who knew that? Duh, everyone did. The episode was not executed that well and for me, it was a hit and miss. Chuck 'wins' a spot as Ted's new employee who happens to be Chuck's father's rival. It turns out that work site is where they hide the intersect! All the clues led up to the point and who was the one to try to stop them? Chuck. Mr. Charles Carmichael! I thought the highlight of the episode was when Chuck was getting into his spy gear and of course, Casey knew what he was up to and Chuck being Chuck, he tranquilized Casey who uttered, "When I wake up, I'm going to kill you." I love the guy. :) I have to admit, the scene where Chuck and his dad have to part was pretty sad so yeah, the episode was just okay. SAVE CHUCK!!moreless

    0 11

  • 10

    It was great

    By turkisme, Apr 08, 2009

    This episode was really good one, it shows a lot of whats going on and who is chuck's father, it was cool when they where together, although i did nt get what chucks father said when he said, trust your handlers, i think he meant Sarah, honestly i never saw an episode that was bad or average, i like the show and cant wait the rest of the final episodes. keep on the good work keep on the good work keep on the good work keep on the good work keep on the good work keep on the good work keep on the good work :)moreless

    7 1

  • 6.0

    It all ties together - Jump the Shark?

    By landloord, Apr 08, 2009

    SPOILERS BELOW - Read at own risk



    When I was a kid, one of the things I most disliked was that the villain was always the same. Every time something bad happened, it was the fault of the same villain. In the old shows, the villain would escape at the end, to return next week with another scheme.



    As I watched Chuck this week, I wondered if the show had jumped the shark. In one episode, the show changed. Originally, it was about Chuck, a shlub who mistakenly had a computer dumped into his brain and the resultant consequences.



    Suddenly, the backstory takes on the air of conspiracy. Chuck's father invented the Intersect. Chuck's father is Orion. So it was not just Chuck the shlub who had the bad luck to get the Intersect, but Chuck the son of the inventor who had been underground for a decade.



    Of course, we will learn next that the reason Chuck could withstand the Intersect while everyone else turned into a gibbering idiot (or died) is because the computer was structured in some way to work only with the Bartowski genetic code. The premise of the show required a certain suspension of disbelief. This show stretched the suspension to breaking.moreless

    0 10

Load More Reviews