Chuck Versus the Ring, Part II

Episode Reviews (19)

Great
823 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 5.0

    great lead up to the showdown with shaw. other than the quirks from grimes and the buy more situations, action seemed left out...

    By runtombob, Dec 04, 2011

    took just one episode to apprehend the 5 leaders of the ring which seemed to easy and way too sweet a set up to finish off a really big bad organization. where was the fun in this? great lead up to a fight with shaw, but was it necessary for shaw to fight chuck? he had the special watch and a brain full of info could have run off and fought another day or started a new life of evil somewhere else but decided a fight with chuck would seem not meaningless but more productive? manly? who knows? nevertheless shaw wanted a fight with chuck and it seemed too uninspired as the two traded slow punches/kicks/elbows and then shaw used a 2x4, which traded hands and chuck, and well this fight was boring and not as much fun of a fight as the season finale before when chuck first used kung fu after downloading intersect 2.0 very interesting to add caseys daughter to the mix because her character seems to have too easily accept him as her father at the end of the episode. oh well at least she seems pretty attractive. overall this episode did not satisfy the season finale bang an action series should...instead of a cliff hanger it just says "oh hey, chuck has a mom and now his dad's enemies are going after chuck, huh how bout that?"moreless

    4 33

  • 10

    He actually did it...he really broke his thumbs! (Spoilers)

    By mmmshuddup, Nov 05, 2011

    Morgan actually broke his thumbs! That guy surprised me so much in this grand finale. He's a brave soul, that Morgan is.



    A truly flawless episode. And I do speak of both parts. I would venture to say that it was the best so far in the entire series..or at the very least equal to my other favorites.



    I'm still very bothered that Orion died. We all figured it would happen based solely on speculation and the few words muttered by the creator, but we all secretly prayed it wouldn't be someone THAT significant. Very tragic, indeed. He was one of my favorites..



    I knew Chuck had it in him. Putting Sarah's life in danger only serves to give him more strength. And as the late Steven Bartowski said, Chuck is special. Shaw was like Anakin, too blinded by his anger, vengeance and the dark side. His pride became his fall. Just as Obi Wan slayed the great sith lord, Chuck vanquished his foe with a mighty kung fu kick..or many. haha.



    Now to the end we all are dying to discuss; the meat, if you will, of the finale. A very compelling video left by Chuck's father and a hasty investigation by Chuck let us know two things: 1. Chuck is most certainly not done being a spy. And 2. His mother is ALIVE!?!?! :O



    Wow!!! I don't think anybody saw THAT coming.. That was even more unexpected than his father being Orion. Spectacular finale!moreless

    25 2

  • 10

    This is a review of both episode 18 and 19 of this season.

    By skhplbliss, Mar 10, 2011

    Trying to quantify and explain exactly how awesome this episode is to someone would be like explaining gravity to a camel; sure, you can speak to them, use your words, but no matter how much you talk, there is no hope in conveying the severity of the fantasticity (this episode [by which I mean both episodes which shall be treated as 1 two-hour season finale double feature] is so indescribable that a new word needs to be invented solely to described things as incredible as this episode) of the episode: you can only show them the phenomenon and allow them to revel in the majesty.

    This episode is the culmination of the past three years. It captured all aspects of the Chuckverse: the comedy (Jeff answering the phone that wasn't ringing), the action (Chuck and Shaw's awesome final battle), the romance (Chuck risking his life to save Sarah, and Sarah risking her life to save his), the camaraderie (Ellie, Awesome, and Morgan banding together to save the three REAL spies), the family love (Casey surrendering to save his daughter), the suspense (when Shaw took Chuck's watch), and the pain of loss (Chuck's father). It is this beautifully balanced blending of all of these ingredients that makes Chuck such a fantastic show that words need to be invented JUST to describe the show. Too often in television, you are left with mixed feelings; plot holes gape wide open, characters act without relation to their personality, and superfluous story-lines detract from the show. Luckily, such is not the case for Chuck. For three years, Chuck has delivered solid television that has kept me glued to the screen with tension and left me needing more like an insatiable jones.

    It has never been easy being a Chuck fan; the lack of sufficient ratings have made the past two years terrifying to experience. But yet again, luck has shone down upon the show unlike many of its fellow NBC compatriots (so long Mercy, Trauma, and Heroes!). And while I am a fan of all three of those shows, and they shall all be sorely missed, I would trade all three and both of my legs to keep Chuck on the air without batting an eye. It is this rabid nature of us Chuck fans that have kept this show plowing on for so long uphill, against all odds.

    And we were finally rewarded with two of the most fantasmagorical hours of television put forth on the boob tube. They join the final episode of Buffy and the Season 4 Finale of Dexter in the hall of fame of Television, an honor not bestowed lightlmoreless

    28 1

  • 10

    Awesome season finale! I loved it all! Just enough humor, drama and emotion... to make you laugh and cry... and laugh for crying!

    By camdpt, Oct 07, 2010

    Awesome season finale! I loved it all! Just enough humor, drama and emotion... to make you laugh and cry... and laugh for crying! I think they really brought this season together, especially in the second half of the season. I love where they are taking it now and cant wait for next season! It was starting to get old with Chuck not really being able to flash, and with him and Sara constantly going back and forth.... we were starting to get bored with it, as much as I hate to say it. But they have really brought us back in! I love how they have developed all of the characters... and yes even morgan and Jeffster. They ended this season with just enough family and romance drama to drag you in and keep you there... and then just enough humor to keep you from taking it all to seriously and be able to just sit back and enjoy! I love it... cant wait for next season. Kudos to the writers... and cast of course. THeyre all so lovable and charming!moreless

    5 0

  • 10

    Like the words of Chuck and Shaw... "mu ha ha."

    By xanderodell, Oct 07, 2010

    "are you trying to make me commit the number one villain mistake by revealing my diabolical plan? okay, you got me." hahahahaha! shaw became the ultimate bad guy, nice cloak and dagger but nothing can stop team bartowski! also, hu-a for Casey, finally getting to know his daughter.. will she be with us for season 4? i hope so. i can see it now, a lot more casey and morgan moments. its gonna be fun. and go daddy bartowski, a vigilante are ya? hehe. but like he said in the end, he can no longer protect Chuck from the dozens of bad guys since his dead. will chuck be like his dad in season 4? man, can't wait. may all the chuck fans stand and have an uproar of applauses for Season 3. till season 4 people.. till season 4.moreless

    12 2

  • 10

    What a show... Awesome...

    By armagedors, Oct 07, 2010

    I have already been to eager to next season.. What a season final.. What a show... 'Chuck', one of the best shows I have ever seen.. :))) I really surprised first... Action, fight, love, drama... All of them were in the final episode. Chuck was in bad situation and he could not flash as well. He was weak and his enemy was stronger than him. I thought first that whether Chuck will finish!! No, no... The story is just beginning... :))))



    Yeap.. Everything is beginning now... His father died.. And what about another mystery. His mother? Nothing will be same as before...moreless

    5 2

  • 10

    Amazing end to season 3!

    By norcalgirl83, Oct 07, 2010

    I am so happy Chuck has been renewed for a fourth season. This finale had everything that makes this show great: suspense, humor, romance, action, and touching moments between Chuck's family and friends. I must say I love that Chuck and Sarah are living together now, the writers of Bones and Castle could learn a thing or two from the writers of Chuck. Getting a couple together doesn't mean the imminent demise of the show. I'm so glad Shaw is finally dead, I didn't like that guy from day one. And just when we thought things were wrapping up nicely, they gave us a big cliffhanger ending. I CAN'T WAIT for season 4 of Chuck!moreless

    7 3

  • 7.0

    The Ending !

    By ChiragSamtani, Sep 10, 2010

    Before I could say anything... It would be that I could say that the finale did have a good ending. I knew somehow when they started pronouncing about the necklace, that the character of Chuck's Mom would show up... There's only one thing that I was wondering..?

    Is Chuck Mom the director of the Ring, the one that forms the Ring?? The suspense is killing me, although I wasn't as amazed with this finale ( I thought Season 2 Finale was better, when Chuck could fight ).. Still I will be staying on Chuck for the sake of the suspense. Now on the Subway part => Yeah.. !! I knew it, I knew Shaw would shoot Stephen, although I didn't expect It would be that way, I thought Stephen would like do his Risk my life to save Chuck bit. This episode was good overall, I liked the ending when Ellie said that doing this will change their life forever. Loved Joshua Gomez and Awesome in this episode. They really did their part..



    The only thing I could say is: They Don't Quit Surprising Us...moreless

    5 4

  • 10

    As Devon says ... "Awesome!"

    By surge21xx, Aug 02, 2010

    The Two Hour Finale of Chuck could not be better described than with Captain's favorite word "Awesome". From beginning to end it had everyone stepping up to the plate and gave everyone their moment. you can tell this was set up as a "series" finale instead of a "season" finale, but they give you that added scene in the end that sets up the next season. I didn't think this show would keep me hooked for 3 years, but it certainly has not disappointed as a show and improved with every episode it airs. I cannot wait for the new chapter in chucks life and I certainly hope it lasts at least 2 more seasons.moreless

    15 1

  • 9.0

    You're special

    By RobGrizz, Aug 02, 2010

    Not sure what is was, but I liked the first half of the finale a little better than the second. Where Chuck vs. The Subway had more exciting, "holy crap!" moments like Ellie finding out the secret, General Beckman getting apprehended, Casey and his daughter, and of course Chuck's dad getting shot, Chuck vs the Ring focuses more on the fallout of those things. This is by no means a bad thing, (its narratively important) but it just doesn't play on as high a level, in my opinion. Not to say the episode wasn't good- there is plenty going on to make this one of the best entries of the season, and easily the best of the extra six episodes, that once again sets us up for an interesting Season 4.



    The flashbacks with Chuck and Ellie as kids was nice, and helped round round out a driving force of Ellie's character: She swore to protect her little brother no matter what. This means, of course she doesn't want Chuck to be a spy anymore. By episode's end Chuck does indeed quit, and I wonder if him being a civilian again isn't being a little repetitive plot-wise. We need to move forward, not backwards. I expect there will be plenty of episodes where Chuck wants to help, but he's 'not allowed' because he's not officially a spy anymore. We've kind of been there already. At least the Sarah/girlfriend element should lend some surprises. Everything was leading up to Chuck vs Shaw, who I wouldn't mind becoming Chuck's long-time arch nemesis; the 006 to his 007. Believe me, considering how much I can't stand Brandon Routh, coming from me, this is like the greatest compliment ever. The big fight however, honestly, didn't look great, outside of the first flying kick. Combat on Chuck is always hit-or-miss for me. Sarah's fights tend to look pretty good. But anything with Chuck throwing a punch just continues to make me laugh. I don't think that's the intention. 'Jeffster's faces on monitors throughout the battle didn't help, either. I wanted a serious fight! There was a blatant Subway sandwich moment with Big Mike early in the episode that annoyed me, and the rest of Buy More's plot didn't amount to much until the end. Jeff and Lester convinced Mike to have a 'going out of business' sale, and the group spent most of their scene hiding from corporate, who wants to close them down. The Buy More went BOOM thanks to Morgan's clumsy broken thumbs (he found Shaw's detonator, but dropped it) and Jeff and Lester, who suggested burning the store down earlier, are now fugitives on the run! Okay, this is kinda awesome! The big reveal at the end shows Chuck finding out about his mom. This should be pretty cool next year, but after this plays out, I think they are kind of going to run out of parents to pop up at the end of seasons. With his mom in the spy game, too and a reveal that Chuck downloaded an early prototype of his dad's intersect at the age of like, 7, I wonder if they are coming at us with a bit too much to keep the show grounded in any sort of reality anymore. Jeez. But like I said, fans should love all this just fine, and it IS interesting to see where they go with all this next season. (Renewed!) I'm glad Ellie is no longer in the dark about Chuck's secret, and I look forward to Some Morgan-Alex-Casey shenanigans!moreless

    9 5

Load More Reviews