Pilot

Episode Reviews (53)

Great
960 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.1

    think Jake 2.0 but without the super powers and better action sequences-- and it doesn't take itself half as seriously

    By mgrafstrom, Mar 07, 2012

    think Jake 2.0 but without the super powers and better action sequences. The scenes with CIA agent Bryce Larkin are pretty tight. The other stuff is also movie quality. And then there are some decently comical moments mixed in to keep you grounded into yet another slacker turned somebody story (see also "Reaper"). As cliche as that is getting-- this one works for me and I am looking forward to seeing more of this series once it comes out (found a preair torrent to give the review this early).moreless

    6 1

  • 10

    It has always been my habit of judging a show by what the Pilot showed us. Although I do admit that some shows, I'd give them a second chance with their second episode but with Chuck, this was not the case.

    By xanderodell, Dec 06, 2011

    After the credit was all over and commercials were already pouring on my TV, I was still there sitting on my couch stunned. My jaw suddenly unhinged and dropped to floor. When I regained consciousness I grabbed the remote and started yelling, "What!? It's over? I want more! That was awesome!" This was the best Pilot I have ever seen since House, it introduced the characters but also gave you something to look forward to for the next episode. I remember thinking, "Casey's going to betray Chuck, or not? Hmmm.." It was funny. The action was pretty good and let's all face it, the first time Yvonne Strahovski walked into Buy More we fell inlove.moreless

    3 3

  • 9.5

    "don't freak out"

    By Sarah_Is_Lost, Jan 12, 2011

    Chuck receives an email from Bryce, an old roommate and friend who is a rogue government agent. The email contains government secrets which are downloaded into his brain. The CIA and the NSA both want to get the data back, so they send their agents Sarah Walker and John Casey to retrieve the data.

    I have heard about Chuck from all my friends telling me it is amazing, and well it is. This episode really set the tone fro Chuck, which is amazing. Chuck and Morgan are so funny. And I think Chuck is really cute. This show is really exciting and funny. All in all, a great start for Chuck can't wait to watch the rest.moreless

    3 2

  • 10

    Chuck is the funniest TV series ever!

    By Joniboy88, Nov 11, 2010

    Not only has it got a great plot, a fantastic cast, eye candy for us lads and superb scripting, Chuck has to be one of the funniest things I've ever watched. I can relate to all the old school references, film quotes, character names, and props and I can certainly relate to that geeky side too!

    If you like fun packed action, comedy, adventure, cute CSA agents and old films like Star Wars and Back to the future (the episodes have far too many references to note) then this is for you!

    I love it and I'm addicted to it! A must see for everyone!moreless

    1 5

  • 9.0

    A great start

    By Chuck_Off, Nov 10, 2010

    Chuck Bartowski is an average computer geek until files upon files of government secrets are downloaded into his brain. He is soon scouted by the CIA and NSA to act in place of their computer. Chuck's Pilot episode is fast paced and exciting, the writers did a great job setting the tone to the series. It showed plenty of potential. I thought that the premise at first sounded weird and far fetched but when you realize this show isn't about realism it easy to forget. I noticed a lot of use of music in the episode which in my opinion can lead to a bad thing but in the Pilot the songs fit perfectly, I have always liked the songs played on this show.moreless

    1 1

  • 9.5

    Well written.

    By Sarah_LOST, Nov 10, 2010

    Chuck receives an email from Bryce, an old roommate and friend who is a rogue government agent. The email contains government secrets which are downloaded into his brain. The CIA and the NSA both want to get the data back, so they send their agents Sarah Walker and John Casey to retrieve the data.

    I have heard about Chuck from all my friends telling me it is amazing, and well it is. This episode really set the tone fro Chuck, which is amazing. Chuck and Morgan are so funny. And I think Chuck is really cute. This show is really exciting and funny. All in all, a great start for Chuck can't wait to watch the rest.moreless

    0 2

  • 9.5

    "Oh my God, I'm gonna die" - Chuck

    By efc91, Jan 08, 2010

    Chuck Bartowski is an average computer geek until files upon files of government secrets are downloaded into his brain. He is soon scouted by the CIA and NSA to act in place of their computer. I think that this episode is a fantastic start to the series, really setting the tone of things to come, there is a great blend of comedy, action and drama here. The writing here is very impressive because it is hard to introduce a show like this with it's odd plot but the writing quickly explains how Chuck gets the secrets in his head. The introduction of the characters also fit in perfectly. Most of the episode there is the use of music, I liked this but it gets toned down in later episodes. The pilot shown a lot of promice in the show, this would soon be delivered.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.0

    An okay beginning.

    By Canogaparkcindy, Dec 27, 2008

    At first this show seemed boring and not attractable at all, the jokes never flied. And the show to me was just plain stupid. Towards the end, the show got more intriguing which made up for the horrible beginning. I really thought I wasn't going to like this show but it seemed interesting when the writers put all the cards on the table, I guess I have to watch more episode to see if I really like the show. Sarah is my favorite character by far. Morgan just annoys me. Captain Awesome annoys me as well. Like I said, I have to watch more.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.0

    A good way to set up a new show, and a good example of what will be.

    By allaboutmoxie, Sep 03, 2008

    When I first heard of the show Chuck, I thought it was going to be silly. A computer geek/nerd who becomes some kind of spy? I mean, how silly is that? But with some good reviews (and Adam Baldwin/Jayne in the main cast) I thought I at least had to try it out. I was not disappointed. The pilot episode did a good job in introducing the characters and the main storyline to the viewers. It has somehow found a right middle between over the top and just plain funny. In my opinion, a large part of this is the character of Chuck, a lovable nerd who steals your heart immediately. When he gets that e-mail from his college "buddy", his whole world changes. He is just like so many others, and that makes him so easy to relate to. Some of the other characters are still stuck in their clich├ęs (the tough guy, the embarrassing friend), but I have no doubt that this will change over the course of the season. Also, the use of Captain Awesome as stereotypical character shows that the show is not afraid to poke fun at itself. Overall, a good show that I am going to enjoy catching up on.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    The Nerd Herds very own Chuck Bartowski is in for a life of excitement when government secrets become locked in his brain.

    By crazygirl184, Jul 09, 2008

    I must admit I had never thought much of this programme when it was on, but I should never trust just what I see in trailers as they can often disappoint. I was amazed by how different the show is and there is never a dull, uninteresting moment. Chuck (Charles Bartowski) lives with his sister and her boyfriend in L.A. On his birthday he receives an email from an old buddy, Bryce Larkin, an agent for the CIA who's dying moments was to send Chuck the governments secrets via subliminal messages within pictures. Unfortunately for Chuck he views all this information and gets random flashes of information after seeing something to trigger them. Now the CIA and NSA are after him and he must team up with them and help them do their jobs while they protect him from all others who desire what he knows. Chuck is clearly a man who is not into danger and freaks out a lot, which makes the character all the more interesting to have as the lead, because he would constantly be in some sort of dangerous situation, and somehow manage to cope with that side of his life and also not letting his family know what is going on. I love the moment in the car chase when they go down some stairs in the nerd herd car and pass some kids who reply "woah computer emergency". Overall it had been an incredibly interesting pilot to the series, certainly showing that it won't be a disappointment. It becomes slightly addictive when you need to know what's going to happen and whether Chuck will ever get out of the situation, which clearly won't happen.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews