Hostage

Episode Reviews (23)

Superb
229 votes
9.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Mac is held hostage and things go wrong

    By 7dixob, Aug 19, 2012

    This episode has been a perfect ending to the best CSI NY season yet and the episode continues into season 5.Mac is held hostage when the hostage taker wants Mac to prove he didn't commit a murder and says if he doesn't he will shoot all the hostages.Things go wrong for Mac when he actually disarms the hostage taker and the hostage taker tricks Mac into thinking that his family is in danger and they need to get to them but Mac drives him away and with the police not knowing where they are.This will continue into season 5 and I think that season 5 will just be as good as season 4.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Mac held hostage to prove a bank robbers innocence.

    By Catherine65, May 17, 2011

    Really great ep, not quite as good as Snow Day but a vast improvement on some of the eps this season, which verged on soap opera. Being a fan of Mac, Flack and Stella I Loved it!



    Loved the opening, although I had read the spoilers so I knew what was happening I thought it was nicely done. Could have done without the virtual autopsy, WAY to many gadgets this season, but it was nice to see the Sid and Hawkes interact with each other. Also nice to see Mac getting more and more dishevelled as the episode progressed, nice continuity.moreless

    2 0

  • 4.0

    I have seen better!

    By JoeyDC83, May 17, 2011

    This episode is without a doubt one of the most boring ones of all seasons so far. I expected something more thrilling for a season's finale, but instead I almost fell asleep watching! In my opinion, some scenes were very predicting and you could tell what would happen next. This episode was mainly about Mac who, of course, volunteered to examine a dead body in a bank which was under control of a bank robber. He wanted Mac to prove his innocence that he didn't kill the victim. I wish the whole cast would have been more involved in this episode. In comparison to other cases, this one seemed very slow and plain boring. The open end might have been the only interesting part of the whole episode.moreless

    1 2

  • 7.4

    A slightly disappointing finale, after a brillaint season.

    By vicky24c, Jun 06, 2008

    This episode opens with Mac going into a bank through the back door, where he is met by a gunman. Mac also has his crime kit with him. When Mac enters the bank, he can see that there are hostages on the floor, all of whom seem to be alive. Mac convinces the gunman to let some of the hostages go. Mac then finds the body and the man tells him that he didn't kill him and that Mac has to prove it. Stella arrives at the scene and is shocked that Mac is inside. Mac sends photos of the crime scene and the body to the lab. The victim is Walter, the bank manager. It is discovered that the bank was already robbed once that day. Stella discovers that the gun used to kill Walter is a super gun that is very high tech and not yet realised. When cops go to victim's house they found another body, his wife. Mac attacks the gunman and gets his gun from him. As Mac is about the take him outside, the gunman tells him that they have his family and that they are watching. We learn that his family have also been taken hostage and that he lives across the street from Walter. The robbers from the first robbery left their phone behind and he had to go in and get it. When leaving the building they make it look as though Mac is being taken against his will, in case the kidnapers are watching. They get into the car and Mac and the gunman drive off. Stella and team go to house, where his family are sussed to be held against their will, and find that there is no one there. And that the house is empty. It is then that we learn that the gunman has kept a bullet and makes Mac keep driving. It is there that the episode ends. Overall I think that this episode should have been used as a filler episode. I think that the previous episode would have been much better as the finale. The only part I enjoyed of this episode was the end, when Mac drove off with the gunman & Mac realised what was actually happening, that he himself had been kidnapped and there was no family. Also the beginning of the episode was not the best, I think that it could have started off with a bang, and then the rest of the episode would have been a better storyline.moreless

    2 0

  • 7.6

    This was a good episode, but not really season finale material, in my opinion.

    By DeanW8r, Jun 02, 2008

    I did like this episode, i think it was well written and acted, but i found two major things wrong with it(besides the specifics of the crime and the way they handled the whole thing, which i don't really think is normal protocal).



    #1: This was not really season finale material to me.I woiuld have like to see the final Cabbie Killer episode be ther season finale, but instead, they just get done with that, and do and episode totally different than the normal ones! It sounds like CBS ordered all the CSI shows to end on cliffhangers thi year, and NY had to hurry up and find one. I think this would have been a good episode in the middle of the season, but not the season finale.



    #2: it was the Mac and Stella show again! (well, mainly just Mac this time) i love them, i think they're great, but i want equal time with all of the team!! It seems that this is the only CSI to do this, and i don't know why. Are we, the fans, sending a message that thats what we want to see? is there a Mac and Stella Show petition somewhere that people are signing??moreless

    3 1

  • 8.5

    Already counting the days until season five starts...

    By seikhoqueen, May 31, 2008

    It was an OK episode I guess, and as usual the season ender centered around Mac. He volunteered to be the CSI sent to a bank robbery at the request of the bank robber. The request was made because there was a body found in the vault and despite him wielding a gun, the bank robber claims he didn't do it. Mac went in rather than sending one of his own and Stella took over managing the team. The case itself was interesting with a lot of twists including a mysterious gun, and a body count that was piling up and a very strange bank robber. There was also the appearance of Adam Baldwin as a flirtatious Fed, and was it just me or was there another hint of something going on between Stella and Mac? The episode ended with a true cliffhanger, though after watching it a few times, the less likely it seems that Mac would have been so careless (no background check on "Joe"? Really?)

    What I would have liked to see was a bit more Hawkes (who seemed more like a recurring character this season) and a resolution to some of the romantic drama that happened this season. Hope that it just means an explosive season opener.

    Wow...September seems sooo far away....moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Not what I expected for a Season Finale.

    By saleblanc, May 28, 2008

    Well, at least Mac didn't blow anything up. Overall I really enjoyed the episode. It didn't have the action that I expected for a season finale. But ending with a cliffhanger was almost as good. The idea of a bank robber wanting to prove that he didn't kill someone was pretty interesting. This was definitely a Mac centric episode, but they usually are. However, I wished they would have given some more air time to the rest of the team efforts to help him. I loved Stella taking charge and heading to DHS to get info on the weapon. I liked the interaction between them. Sid's new toy was a little to Sci Fi for me, but neat none the less. Counting the days until Season 5 premiere.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    What can I say this was a great way to end the season, of course nothing beats CSI: Miami, as far as the CSI's go. But, this was a good way to end this season. And, yes a single guy can hold up a bank like that!! Here in the U.S. it's very possible.

    By KkMc7080, May 26, 2008

    This was another great installment. I never liked CSI: NY until this season. CSI went down fast this season. And, the way they ended this season was great!! A sole bank robber, possible other connections. This was truly a nail biting episode. Whoever didn't like this episode doesn't understand fine writting, directing, or acting, and yes a single guy can hold up a bank. Shows you a little insight how our society handles hostage situations!! This episode is going to give new life to the third intallment of the CSI franchise. I know I'll be waiting til next season to see what's going to happen.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.9

    Mac centered episode again!

    By JPPT1974, May 24, 2008

    Again we get a Mac centered episode in which the bank robber, after a failed attempt, makes matters go from bad to worse. With hostages in them, he takes full advantage of it. Meanwhile, Mac offers himself up on the condition that the robber confesses to not killing the bank person in charge.

    As the other group has to stop the SWAT from making matters worse as well. While trying to process the evidence and give it to Mac in time before all else breaks loose.

    How could one person take the bank hostage when it should had been like a group of people. That kind of confuses me!moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews