Dark Shadows

Show Reviews (35)

Great
385 votes
8.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Dark Shadows on Netflix

    By beverlyrf, Oct 24, 2013

    Netflix has episodes through 370. Amazon has through season 3. Does Hulu actually have ALL the episodes?

    1 0

  • 10

    my purchase of Dark Shadows DVD

    By AriesPorter, May 20, 2013

    This is the best American Gothic of all time DARK SHADOWS (KUDOS)! It is really great, with mixed of hilarious scenes and horror soap opera. I really adore Barnabas Collins for his terrific acting and also the rest of the actors from this show. It's a good thing it's available on video and DVD now. I bought this as an anniversary gift for my parents and they absolutely love the Dark Shadows complete collection which I purchased from memorylanedvd .com/ . It arrived with good packaging and the quality of the whole set is simply in its finest. This seller really provided me an awesome set with the complete episodes including "The Beginning"! Dark shadows will always be remembered and this is really immortal like the vampires. It simply rule in everyone's heart a true classic and legendary TV series ever made!moreless

    5 0

  • 7.0

    Dark Shadows on Netflix

    By brianbennett3, May 01, 2013

    Dark Shadows is on Netflix streaming if you have Netflix. BTW, my mom wouldn't let me watch it since I was preschool age at the time in the 60's.

    1 0

  • 10

    Dark Shadows was a very cool show, that was a different "type of

    By Scandal2000, Jan 19, 2013

    Unfortunately I was a baby when "Dark Shadows" came on during hits regular run. However, years later I got the opportunity to watch most of the reruns and fell in love with the show. I have always enjoyed the really cheesy horror films like "The Wolfman" etc. and Dark Shadows, though cheesy at times, was a lot of fun . The acting, by certain actors, could make you cringe at times but considering the show was basically filmed in one take (called live to tape), it wasn't bad . Some of the actors like David Selby and Thayer David were excellent in their craft and rarely made mistakes and women like Nancy Barrett and Lara Parker were absolutely stunning (Parker was also a great actress) The storylines were compelling and the show could be spooky at its best. Even if scary things aren't your cup of tea, I think you may enjoy this. I know have collected the series on DVD and I am getting a kick out of revisiting the Collins once again. Good stuff.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.0

    Amazing

    By SFBarbear, Oct 18, 2012

    This gothic Soap was ahead of it's time. It included Ghosts, the Phoenix, The Vampire Barnabas, a Frankenstein Monster, Werewolves, Witches and Time Paradoxes.

    All of this revolved around the Collins family in Collinsport Maine.



    Campy and often just plain silly this show was a staple for after school viewers, in an age where televison was still trying to figure out where it stood as an entertainment medium.

    4 0

  • 10

    10 years old and completely addicted

    By tleeg1, Jul 29, 2012

    I was only 10 years old when the series started. I was an odd child but felt completely at home with Dark Shadows. I learned what a "Drawing Room" was....I tried to make my room resemble it, including some burgundy velvet and fake portraits I talked my grandparents into buying......they must have thought I was nuts but they obliged without a question or complaint. Now, my mother thought I had some screws loose....I lived and breathed it...I've seen some re-runs and long for the day I can buy the CD's.I WAS a Collins (I imagined)...good memories......moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    Watching Dark Shadows

    By yantone26, Jul 21, 2012

    I remember as a 11 year old watching Dark Shadows gothic soap opera and I was terrified. I'm Now watching the dvds of the show I 'm totally hooked on them again. I only saw the last couple of the seasons during the summer as a kid but, I saw the hole series on the sifi network in the 80's.It beings back special memory's for me.

    0 0

  • 10

    all ds fans

    By vickiwinter, May 31, 2012

    I need help I love the show.But I want to see every episode I've only seen half of season 4.please help it is my goal to see every one.thank you

    0 0

  • 8.5

    A Classic that was also Unintentionally Funny. The combination makes this one of my all-time favorites.

    By azshadowwalker, Jun 18, 2010

    I was born roughly four months after Dark Shadows originally went off the air, so I came to the show only through the Sci-Fi Channel's re-airings of the show during the 1990s. When I first started watching it, it immediately felt comfortable--like a childhood memory. The more I watched, the more fun I had with it. It had all of the melodrama of a soap opera, all of the silly monsters of the horror genre of the 1960s, plus the camp and silliness that ensued from the lack of proper editing.

    At times, the show felt like amateur hour, considering the fact that flubbed lines and other bloopers were often left in because of time and money constraints. This just added to my adoration, however. I love the drama and the storylines (well, most of the storylines, anyway), but I also love laughing at the obvious mistakes--bad line readings, people wandering on set when they shouldn't be, the omnipresent boom mic, even a fire burning on the set while the cast was forced to continue shooting a scene.

    I have great admiration for the cast that was forced to work under such conditions. More than that, several of the performers were quite talented--including the beautiful Joan Bennet, an accomplished movie actress in the 1930s whose movie career ended after her husband shot one of her business managers, and the Oscar-nominated Grayson Hall. Dark Shadows will always have a special place in my heart. Now, if only we could get a new series. (Yes, I'm looking at YOU, the WB.)moreless

    5 0

Load More Reviews