Defiance

Show Reviews (95)

Good
803 votes
7.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 6.0

    Better living through cooking

    By PatriciaGitsanasopon, 21 hours ago

    This show reminds me of Smallville before Rosenblum left. There is always one thing that happens that doesn't make me wasting my time watching this.



    So let me get this straight. Nolan gives a man that he doesn't know, and that NOBODY can vouch for, a weapon and lets this man come with him on a mission.



    This same man tells the townfolk to stay huddled in the cave and they obey him because of... reasons. Why would Nolan be ON POINT? If it was a trap then his army would have lost his general. But whatever, we needed redshirts to die for some potential drama down the road. Nolan must have survived the Pale Wars on sheer luck.



    Also if the stasis net could be used in such a fashion then there really wasn't much of a threat, was there?



    Why not simply bury a transmitter into the ground at all of the entry points as a precaution? Or devise a way to launch the transmitter far enough over the gate? But we needed a way to keep Datak alive, so scratch that.



    I did not think that Datak was going to cut off his arm, that was a nice touch. Luckily he timed it PERFECTLY. He has a really good sense of time.



    Now for Kindzi, she couldn't have found another way to get rid of Stahma, besides giving her the entire plan? Last week T'evgin was all "fck Defiance", now this week he's all "I've found a home". Who knew pancakes could bring races together



    This show has a weird way of downplaying death and focusing on the main characters. Nolan should have questioned the stupidity of his actions for much longer than a few sentences.





    The show meanders mostly and has some high points, but this isn't great sci-fi for me. I don't really care about any of the characters. I'm more interested in what happens to the town.









    moreless

    0 0

  • 1.0

    They lost me and my family.

    By NextToGone, Jul 21, 2015

    Alien fathers laying with their daughters. And a serial killer being turned on by his decapitated heads while raping and killing his wife. You crossed the line from entertainment to just flat out illegal porn. I hope many left you.

    0 1

  • 10

    A Syfy Masterpiece!!!!!

    By AdamBaehr, Jun 22, 2015

    I just finished Binge-watching both Seasons 1&2 and the first 3 episodes of S3 so that is what this review is based upon. I will start by saying OMG this show is Phenomenal. I had nothing to watch since GOT ended and I decided to watch this and thank God for that bc this show killed it in every area. I will start with the story it takes place on Earth in the year 2046 after multiple alien species landed years prior and centers upon Nolan and Irisa in the Town of Defiance. The story is simple but gets even better as time progresses. I will now talk about the cast which is in my opinion the best part. I will credit the 2 best actors in the show that being Nolan played by Grant Bowler and my favorite character Datak who is played by Tony Curran both are astounding actors. I will also say that all of the actors and actresses did an Amazing job of keeping the story engaging. I will now movie onto the action which I will say is sometimes a tad corny but the majority of the time it's Insanely Epic. I would recommend this show in a heart beat and S3 is so far the Best season yet. one of the main villains in S3 called General Rahm Tak who is played by Lee Tergesen is an absolutely mind blowing villain who is now probably just after 3 episodes my favorite villain of any television show to date. Go and Watch this show Now lolz.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    happy to watch this

    By DaleErickson6366, Jun 18, 2015

    There is not much on SyFy worth watching these days.



    This one is....

    1 0

  • 2.5

    Disappointed in the ending music

    By rsteiger1, Sep 28, 2014

    VERY disappointed in the choice of xtian music as the final song for the ending of the choice. There were many better choices> Why religious music? It is starting to resemble the xtian silliness that "Lost" descended into, effectively ruining it. Pushing personal beliefs like that makes the show begin to smell bad. I believe in religious freedom, but dislike having it used as a psychological imprint,,,out of place in this show. Have the writers forgotten that sci-fi fans are, as a rule, intelligent and free-minded? If the producers and creators of this show want a real lasting legacy take a clue from Straczynski.

    moreless

    2 3

  • 3.5

    Sci-Fi soap opera

    By mothershaboo, Sep 14, 2014

    Well they could have gone in lots of directions with the very exciting premise that is Defiances back story, but they decided to make east-enders in space. The greatest sci-fi disappointment ever, nothing ever happens. This show had so much potential and they choked when it came to realizing it. I have spent two seasons willing it to be better, to do something, anything. But the time has come to give up on this turkey.

    4 7

  • 10

    tip: if you don't enjoy sci-fi don't watch it.

    By jalka10, Sep 07, 2014

    Great characters , cool sci-fi and i really enjoyed the second season finale , can't wait for the new season !

    6 0

  • 10

    Defiance

    By jwlzen, Sep 04, 2014

    Love this show. Clever, smart, sexy with great characters.

    JWL

    4 3

  • 5.5

    Too much to offer but very little make any sense.

    By plaknas, Aug 31, 2014

    Since the last season the only thing that has happened is the expansion of the cast otherwise the story still seems to be at square 1. The show establishes a good set up but none of the mysteries about the Votans, humans and other creatures are being covered. The only thing we see is a sort of "Civil War" between the different human-alien races. The casting is "okay" even though the "protagonists" Joshua Nolan(Bowler) and Amanda Rosewater(Julie Benz) seem dull, they are more than compensated by the "Chief Antagonists" the Tarrs esp Jaime Murray who plays Stahma Tarr is simply outstanding. She really makes you hate her. 2014 has been a dull year for TV esp after after some fine shows like "true Detective" and Game of thrones ended none of the shows have been able to fill in the void left by them. Defiance is one such descent "time pass" for that void. It may not be the best but certainly better than anything else offered on TV. The show however has the Potential, they need to move the story forward instead of simply coming up with "futile" and "insignificant" episodes which involve killing of characters which are not even remotely relevant in the show.moreless

    7 2

  • 3.0

    Still trying to like it - it has such potential, not yet realized.

    By LizRowley, Aug 09, 2014

    The show has it's good points - but it's still got too much hate-and-grubbiness with too little counterbalance from kindness-compassion-friendship-tolerance-and-cleanliness (or at least obvious attempts at creating it). It would be nice to see something real like, just as an example, a farming area so you know where all the food feeding this little town is coming from ... or how about seeing things like a tailer shop in use, or a bakery, etc. Show how this town REALLY accomplishes its day-to-day survival, instead of all this 9-year-old make-believe-tough-guy showboating going on. And a little light humor and happiness shown here and there would be more realistic.

    Maybe if the writers take a clue from DeepSpaceNine? Now THERE was a show that knew how to show real interaction between cooperating alien races - and people in general. I was really hoping Defiance would be an ON-PLANET version of that, but am not seeing it so far.

    Again - if the writers take a lesson from DS9, this MIGHT turn out to be one of the long-running better series' on TV. I'm still watching and waiting to see this show's potential being reached. It has so MUCH potential, (good characters, but so far it hasn't learned to walk, yet alone run (so far as the ineraction between the characters is concerned).moreless

    7 3

Load More Reviews