Defiance

Show Reviews (81)

Good
660 votes
7.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    They shortened the opening theme!

    By DavideBertolini, Jul 06, 2014

    Why on earth would they do that? I love McCreary's music. I think it adds a lot to the atmosphere of the show. I want to hear the whole crescendo at the beginning of the episode!

    0 0

  • 1.0

    Please, stop this show

    By MonkeyPasta, Jul 03, 2014

    It's embarrassing even for SyFy. It's like Captain Power made his way to our time and learned the basics of Photoshop or whatever they use in movie industry to create cheap glossy effects and crappy textures.

    1 3

  • 5.0

    New season appraisal

    By Amorlind, Jun 30, 2014

    Disappointed by the beginning of the 2nd season...

    Too many cliches...

    The magic and the natural of the first season seem to be gone

    1 1

  • 3.0

    Defiantly disappointing...

    By ELMarcel, Jun 24, 2014

    A intriguing background story - the invasion, the various alien races, the terraforming, the war that led to a new world order - left out to show little stories about cops, monsters and ''You feel me?'' tantruns.

    What a pity.

    Everything interesting that could have been built with that compeling background story of the pilot is lost in a festival of cliches, bad quality of writing and increased destruction of logic and common sense.

    Decrease another point in my rating.

    24 14

  • 7.0

    Totally digging it.

    By DeviousT22, May 15, 2014

    Soooo even though Sci-fi is really my favorite television category, I'm always cautious starting a new one because often a potentially good sci-fi gets ruined by either bad actors or poor writing. That having been said...



    I think Defiance is Great so far! I would say more, but honestly, if you like sci-fi, just check it out for yourself.



    Edit: Lost 3 points for season finale. Won't spoil or anything, but generally a total cliff hanger with zero resolution to first season. Non-stop mysteries with no resolution = worst technique in TV history to get people to come back next season, and only really works on dumb monkeys. I'm always stupefied with how long people stuck with Lost, watched a little, grasped the theme, through it in the garbage...



    So anyways, mostly fun season, will probably give it a second chance next season, but if that ends up being the thing I will have to let this show go. Which will be sad, because it has potential.moreless

    3 1

  • 5.0

    Here we go again

    By Damianna15, Mar 16, 2014

    This show has Rockne S. O'Bannon all over it. I liked the first season because I like him, and LOVED Farscape. This is not Farscape, but I think it's worth a wait, and am anxious to see Season 2. All the aliens look Human--so to speak--and all the problems listed by others about the show seem reasonable, but. . . . Wait and see. I HATED BSG when it came out until a friend of mine told me to give it another go. Super glad now that I had even though the ending was SO BAD they had to follow up with--what was it, Caprica(?). I'd like to see what O'Bannon could do with Dr. Who. That's another show soon to be too quickly destroyed. Moffat needs to get out of the sand box with the complex stupidity. But again: wait and see where it goes.moreless

    1 2

  • 10

    That show is awesome :D

    By DragoDuval7164, Mar 04, 2014

    The alien, the monster, the action and the humor, all awesome, especially Irisa, damn she cute :D

    2 1

  • 5.0

    Watchable, but only just.

    By Belfaborac, Oct 23, 2013

    Given the shameless hype I expected a clever, well-made Sci-Fi show, but instead got a dystopian soap. There's nothing new here at all, unless you count the alien races. The characters are all well-known stereotypes we've seen countless times before.



    Basically it's just an old Western show that's been transported to the future and where some characters have been given heavy make-up. So while I've watched the first season, there's no way I'll bother watching the next one.

    5 6

  • 7.5

    ok, not great. (*some spoilers*)

    By stafdude, Sep 15, 2013

    Most of the main actors actually do a decent job considering the circumstances (J. Murray seems to play the same type of character in all shows, be it Dexter, Warehouse13 or Spartacus - however she does it well :) ). Irisa is mostly just annoying, she strikes u more like an obstinate teen than an actual alien devouring mother. What irks me about this show are a couple of things. The "aliens" are, as per usual, humanoids with skin paint, colored lenses and some latex pasted onto the face. Anyone w a brain realizes that any actual alien races will NOT look like humans (more convincing aliens can be found in halo, starship troopers, district 9, some species in the mass effect series). This of course is a budgetary issue I guess (CGI costs to much). The storyline is, so far, pretty generic ; outcasts with special abilities (visions), the coming of the big bad (angel of death), individuals vs the state (NY) etc... To me it feels more like a western with aliens, but maybe that will change. Like the music though, reminds me of Firefly (sigh). Overall not great, but better than whats around at the moment . Also, I really like the concept of tying a show to a video game. The best case scenario would be a show that actually follows developments in the game between seasons, but maybe that is too much to ask for...moreless

    2 2

Load More Reviews