Degrassi High

Show Reviews (20)

Great
442 votes
8.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.5

    An old story that seems to be actual, even more than 20 years later.

    By memmapunk, Jun 05, 2011

    I hate everybody, but myself. That was the way all these teenagers were feeling, and I am sure cause I remember feeling that way.



    20 years later and this show is still actual. I like the way they deal with normal issues, that our teenagers have to live also today. The first date, the sex talk, divorcing parents, losing families, sex before marriage, unwanted pregnancies, anorexia, drugs, friendship and loneliness.



    Do I suggest somebody to watch it? Yes I do.. you won't see super actresses or actors, but kids that have issues that 20 yrs later are still the same, difference, parents seems to be paying more attention to the kids of that time..



    This show brought values, and the consecuences of wrong decisions, and i think people should watch it. Go Degrassi! [Spike Fan! but she was a witch with Shane at the end]moreless

    2 0

  • 8.8

    Only Adjectives:Intense, slightly unrealistic, Dramatic, lovable, romantic, tear-inducing, atractive, and relatable.

    By shumba497, Jun 05, 2011

    Degrassi is a show that is very near and dear to my heart. Ive been watching it from season one and I'm loving every second. This show makes you feel like your developing a bond with the characters. you watch them grow up, and they grow up with you. you go through what they go through, and it shows good and bad ways to deal with your problems. they make mistakes for you so you can learn from theirs, instead of making those mistakes yourselves. It is however a little over dramatic in the sence that it wants to relate to it's audience. And is not intensley hard hitting, for a show that claims "Degrassi, it goes ther." but this show is intended for the teen crowed from 14 to about 17 I would say, therefor it dosent need to be to "adult content." but it does deal with serious topics such as pregnancy, death, drug use, std's,and internal, mental, and physical handicaps. it allows you to see your favorite characters rise and fall, and that fellow tv viewers, is what makes a drama fantastic.(keep in mind that this opinion is from me, a teenager's point of view, and may not be enjoyable to an adult audience.)moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Classic show

    By tommygunnyman, Jun 05, 2011

    Degrassi High is a classic show for teens. It really shows the hardships of growing up and some of the things teens have to face. It's also rewarding to see the degrassi stars when they were younger compared to those that joined degrassi tng. The show was definitely ahead of it's time. It dealt with various issues that teens face. They showed numerous issues that included sex, teen pregnancy, drugs and more. The only thing I hate is that it was kind of short in my opinion. I'm talking about Degrassi High not junior. I wish there were more episodes but other than that I recommend it to all.moreless

    1 1

  • 8.9

    omg i still love this show!

    By xkichanx, Jun 05, 2011

    Although this show ended before I was born I like still love it. I mean I've seen most of the episodes and it seems sooo good. It like can still apply to times today because the high school are like the high schools now. I love the characters too. Like even the mean ones have their moments. I love Degrassi! It's soooo good. I wish they still made new episodes. Well, that probably won't be possible after like 17 years. bleh. well whatever, Degrassi was great while it was running and it's still great even after all these years! Ow Owmoreless

    1 0

  • 10

    ok, so this show has brought me closer to myself. when the eppisode when elli cut herself it brought me back. i used to cut myself and the episode showed me how to cope with the stress.

    By llamacrazz, Oct 08, 2006

    ok, so this show has brought me closer to myself. when the eppisode when elli cut herself it brought me back. i used to cut myself and the episode showed me how to cope with the stress. when i cut i noticed that friends cared, just like paige did for ellie. so all the things you put out on the show, like the rape episode, maybe is like the real trauma that rape vitims go through. thank you for the light that ive finally reached. this show brought me to a whole new level in my life that brought me confidence in myself and with other perople. you really inspire teens to be themselve, no matter how bad that honesty could be. (and a special thanks to stacy farber, you are my tru hero!)moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    Degrassi was definitely ahead of its time!

    By Stig14, Sep 10, 2006

    Degrassi High was the original... sort of. It all started with the Kids Of Degrassi Street, then moved on with the kids as they aged into Junior High, and finally into high school. Many of the same characters were there throughout the series in both Junior High and High. They started out young... very young! and we grew with them. They weren't the best actors in the world, but they were real.



    The story lines, however, were very cutting edge, and very much ahead of their time. This little Canadian show dealt with lots of issues that teens have to face all the time: trouble at home, sex, AIDS, bullies, shop lifting, peer pressure, running for school council... they had it all. And they dealt with it realistically, too. It still holds up today, and in fact, Degrassi:TNG is using a lot of these story lines all over again. A great show that everyone should watch!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    One of my favourite shows growing up - and it's a Canadian show too. The Junior High years were good - but man oh man did they blow it out of the water with Degrassi High.

    By RenLissa_Can, Jul 12, 2006

    There are only a few shows from the 80's/90's that I still like to go back and watch over and over - and this is one of them. I mean, even just to go back and see what the kids were wearing and talking about. It's like a time capsule playing out on the television. But even better than that are the characters and cutting edge storylines. What show, back in the late 80's and early 90's was tacking such issues as HIV, suicide, abortion, and abusive relationships with such integrity and honesty? And we're not talking about a bunch of sophisticated, older actors; these were a bunch of teenagers – dealing with issues that real teenagers faced. Not only that – but we got to grow up with these characters. When they first start out the kids are 12/13 and we see them graduate from high school. We fall in love with all of them, no matter how flawed and messed up their lives became, so that when they were going through emotional upheaval, we felt it too. I can't wait until this is out on DVD.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Degrassi, a show about highschool students and how reality lives can be, is my one of my personal favorites. It helps tenagers to realize that they are are not alone and this could happen to other people! They have great actors and actresses and did a gre

    By awsomely_hyper, Apr 17, 2006

    Degrassi, a show about highschool students and how reality lives can be, is my one of my personal favorites. It helps tenagers to realize that they are are not alone and this could happen to other people! They have great actors and actresses and I thought they did a great job!!

    0 0

  • 10

    Degrassi is a good show to watch if you want a lesson in something! I thought this show as better than the junior high series. And I think it is kinda cheesy but hey its a teen show just kidding! I think this show is the greatest ha ha ha.

    By gorobu, Feb 24, 2006

    Ok so like long ago there was this show that came out in the late 80's It was called degrassi junior high a catchy them song and such! I thought it was sort of cheesy but then when they progressed it was getting better!

    As you may know now there is another Degrassi out right now on the channel The - N It's called degrassi the next generation Its cool but hey if you like the classic than watch that one(degrassi junior high and high)! I thought that the new degrassi was kinda of copying the classics and such but you know,It still gives this feeling of things like school well duh it is based about a school!

    I like Degrassi High better than all put together and I thought it was funny,sad,and plain scary lol! This had to be the greatest show on tv well not the greatest show but it was good! If you missed degrassi high they are at the n but right now there only showing degrassi junior high I think they are at the second season right now!

    But if you don't feel like watching degrassi junior high at twelve than by the dvd set but they dont have the degrassi high dvds or anything with it but im wating. I will be writng more stuff about degrassi but that will be on my profile.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews