Crocodile

Episode Reviews (23)

Superb
1,009 votes
9.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Crocodile.

    By DexterMorgan2, Feb 13, 2013

    In this episode Deb makes progress in the Ice Truck investigation when she finds the truck but Dexter believes it was left on purpose and the painted fingernails inside is a message for him It was good that Debra was promoted to Homicide after Matthews pushed La Guerta to the decision It was very convenient where Dexter killed his victim in this episode The second episode wasn't as good as the first but its a good start to the season.

    1 0

  • 8.5

    An undercover cop is killed and the ice truck killer continues to taunt Dexter.

    By 7dixob, Oct 10, 2012

    Another good episode to start the season with this episode picking up after the first one.Dexter helps to solve a murder of an undercover cop while he is picking his next victim who was found not guilty in court when he killed a young man while he was driving but because he had been drinking Dexter feels that he will be his next victim.When Debra finds the ice truck Dexter knew it was the one he saw on the previous episode and when they look inside there are fingernails in a big block of ice which is a message left for Dexter.Debra was then promoted to homicide form vice because of her good work even though La guerta didn't like promoting her.While trying to stay on top of the ice truck killer Dexter manages to kill his next victim in a liquor store which was no surprise but when Dexter gets home the ice truck killer had left another message as things heat up for the next episode.moreless

    2 0

  • 8.8

    Much focus on char development

    By Parricida, Aug 17, 2009

    So, the story starts to envolv. When pilot was about getting the know the chars, then now it gets into deep - I mean.. Dexter.. They put so much time and effort trying to explain that char and what he feels and why he does those things and it really works - the way they portrait him in that good way.. it is ironic in some way but they manage to make viewers symphatice with him - char you would not expect people to do that.



    I like the developments around Dexter too - I mean Deb and Rita and the whole little "personal" relationship with Icetruck killer. The way giving the pieces of puzzle and then taking them away.. that game.. it promise to be exciting.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.5

    good but very slow moving.

    By DoddsDonnelly, Dec 16, 2008

    I like the show. Its very strange, and it makes me think cause its quite original. I just want it to move a little faster. I would like to understand the people a little bit more. I want a little bit more back story. I think that it would help to get more emotionally involved with the story. I am going to give it a couple more episodes and see how it goes. I like the the killer is messing with dexter it makes me think that it is someone he knows, and I like that he has a girl but the relationship is twack, His sister is a mess I wish i knew more about her, but I bet it's only a madder of time.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Tension and fast heart rate

    By ferriswheel01, Mar 10, 2008

    If I were Dexter apart from looking slightly hot I would be the complete opposite of how he was and is. I would be completely freaked out that some stranger has access to my apartment and is leaving me weird clues and letting me know that he knows that I kill killers. I love that the character is so calm and finds it really fun like a game of hide and seek and he knows the killer wants him to seek what he's hidden. I thought this episode was really great and I love that at the end of each episode I am left wanting a lot more.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.2

    Dexter plays with the icecream truck killer.

    By emeraldmile, Feb 25, 2008

    Dexter takes out another bad guy during this episode. I don't think I've given the term serial killer enough consideration. He kills a man who gets drunk and kills with his car, over and over again. It's not the traditional serial killer that I think of when I hear those two words. I think more messier and more one on one attention. The finger nails in the icecube a novel idea. I wonder why they were painted so many different colors. Dexter thinks it was a message to himself. I wonder what specific message they send.



    Rita and Dex get closer. I like the relationship, but I'm slighly confused about two things. Dexter can't have feelings for people but he seems to have them for her. Secondly, I thought he was dating her because she wasn't interested in sex. It seems like he might be in denial here. When she iniates he seems more than willing to go along. I hope this becomes clearer in the next few episodes.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.6

    Review

    By WhipMyAss, Jan 10, 2008

    Always interesting to me to watch the episode after the pilot. You can really get a feel for where the series is going to be going after the second episode. The first episode is designed to make you come back and continue watching, whereas the second one will give you a better feel for the show. Once again I felt the scenes between Dexter and Rita were my favorite scenes. I think the two actors mesh very well together and I think both of the backstorys of the two make it that much more interesting. I find Dexters tactics a little odd - he said in the pilot that he wasn't into anything sexual but he continues to grab and try to find a way to win. Its like hes playing a game to see how far he can get with her. They did go away from Dexter for several scenes - which is where I began to see where the show could lose a little bit of ratings from me. Micheal Hall is the best actor on the show, if not on television today. I think him being in every scene is a big deal and while he was in 80% of this epsiode there were a couple of scenes that I felt were a little slower. I didn't care for the black cop cheating with another cop's wife although I did find all of his actions interesting in hindsight. Did he ever really care about the cop at all or was it all just for his "girlfriend." The double date seemed weird considering that Deb broke up with the man about 20 minutes later, but the odd feeling at lunch made me view a little deeper inside Dexter's character. Overall a very solid episode with only a few minor details I thought were missing.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.6

    Not as good as pilot

    By jacobp76, Jan 02, 2008

    Only the second entry in the "Dexter" TV-show and the concept already slightly begins to weaken. There's less blood & excitement in episode two then there was in the pilot, but also the story lines start to revert to clich├ęd situations and the characters already start to develop towards typical cop stereotypes. The entire Miami police department is still after the Ice Truck serial killer, but he hasn't made any new moves apart from secretly contacting Dexter and challenging him to a showdown. There are two supplementary (and seemingly forced) sub plots in the second episode, namely the murder investigation of an undercover police officer and Dexter himself digging deeper into the trial of a recidivist hit-and-run felon. Completely opposite to the events in the pilot, where the camera deliberately zoomed in on the gory set pieces, the blood & splatter sequences now seem rushed and limited. The dialogs and interactions between the characters become funnier ("glad to see that sexual harassment seminar paid off") but Dexter's narrative thoughts & impressions are still whiny and a little dull to endure. If you speak Spanish, you can probably also predict the future character developments (like that of Officer Angel Batista) but I had no idea what he and the lieutenant were saying. James Remar is more clearly visible in this second episode, as Dexter also continues to have extended flashbacks about his adolescence. I hope the next installments will get much better, or at least equal the quality level of the pilot againmoreless

    0 0

  • 9.2

    Review

    By cavanagh15, Dec 26, 2007

    Always interesting to me to watch the episode after the pilot. You can really get a feel for where the series is going to be going after the second episode. The first episode is designed to make you come back and continue watching, whereas the second one will give you a better feel for the show. Once again I felt the scenes between Dexter and Rita were my favorite scenes. I think the two actors mesh very well together and I think both of the backstorys of the two make it that much more interesting. I find Dexters tactics a little odd - he said in the pilot that he wasn't into anything sexual but he continues to grab and try to find a way to win. Its like hes playing a game to see how far he can get with her. They did go away from Dexter for several scenes - which is where I began to see where the show could lose a little bit of ratings from me. Micheal Hall is the best actor on the show, if not on television today. I think him being in every scene is a big deal and while he was in 80% of this epsiode there were a couple of scenes that I felt were a little slower. I didn't care for the black cop cheating with another cop's wife although I did find all of his actions interesting in hindsight. Did he ever really care about the cop at all or was it all just for his "girlfriend." The double date seemed weird considering that Deb broke up with the man about 20 minutes later, but the odd feeling at lunch made me view a little deeper inside Dexter's character. Overall a very solid episode with only a few minor details I thought were missing.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews