Let's Give the Boy a Hand

Episode Reviews (23)

Superb
830 votes
9.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    The Ice Truck Killer shows Dexter his life with body parts.

    By DexterMorgan2, Feb 13, 2013

    A very good episode with Tony Tucci being proven innocent with his body parts left at scenes from Dexter's past Only Dexter is able to understand what the Ice Truck Killer is telling him and when he figures out Dexter is given an opportunity to kill Tony Tucci and Dexter was able to turn it down If Dexter would have killed him the Ice Truck Killer would have taken his photo then Dexter would've been in trouble It was good that Dexter left Deb the location of Tony Tucci to help her do well in homicide.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    The ice truck killer takes Dexter back to his past

    By 7dixob, Nov 13, 2012

    This episode shows that the ice truck killer knows that Dexter is a serial killer and because he knows that he is toying with Dexter leaving behind pictures of his childhood next to the body parts of La guerta's alive ice truck killer suspect.When La Guerta realises this she feels really bad and tries to make it up to the mother.When Dexter sees the photos of his past I thought Debra would be able to remember but she only remembered one crime scene but didn't think too much of it.I think the best part was where the ice truck killer led Dexter to the security guard and the ice truck killer gave Dexter the chance to kill him maybe thinking he might have done because he had already lost his hand and foot but Dexter never chose to kill him but if he did the ice truck killer would have taken his photo while he was killing him and then Dexter would be in trouble.The ice truck killer still remains unknown but Dexter is moving closer by each episode.

    moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    This episode made this one of my new favorite shows.

    By DoddsDonnelly, Sep 07, 2010

    The new information about dexter's past made him more really to me. I love how weird the show is, but I like that the show is not just about being weird its more. I was glad that Dexter didn't kill the guy that was left for him, it made him a real person that you can almost understand. It was nice that he let his sister find the body he says that he has no feelings but I think that kinda shows that he does. I was glad to see some sexual interaction happen between his girlfriend and him the big builded up was starting to make me mad. Her stealing the dog was classic finally starting to get a back bone.moreless

    4 0

  • 8.2

    Getting into Dexter's childhood..

    By Parricida, Aug 22, 2009

    So.. this time it is getting much more personal. I mean, the whole thing with that suspected Ice-truck killer and leaving his bodyparts in places from Dexter's childhood photographs. That just creepy but works very well with the story and the development leads to deeper dive into Dexter's personality and his thoughts.. I mean.. like the one when they are in Halloween shop... The concept of monster and wearing masks. I mean - it just works and it has a beautiful meaning if looking.



    So, I think it was great story and well worked out. Great episode with good story developments.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.6

    Dexter realizes he's a different animal.

    By emeraldmile, Feb 28, 2008

    Dexter realized the ice truck killer took time to study his life when he left him the butchered doll. The security guards severed body part show up at places associated with Dexter's past. Too bad the police don't know this.



    Dexter feels like the ice truck killer is showing him how he life is a lie because he hides behind masks unlike the ice truck killer who lives authentically. I'm not sure I buy it. In some regard the ice truck killer is wearing a mask of his own or else he would not blend into the background.



    While the ice truck killer seems to be driven by animal urges we learn that Dexter doesn't just kill. He has rules making him different than his friend. I'm glad Dexter realized what the audience knew.



    Another person knows Dexter's identity and what he does. That the second person that knows. The more people know the harder it will be for him to be safe.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.9

    Not too shabby!

    By WhipMyAss, Jan 10, 2008

    Once more they did it! They just catched everything that was most interesting about the clash between Dexter and the Ice Truck Killer and they made a whole episode of it. How fortunate we are!



    Seriously, this episode reminds me of "The Silence of the Lambs". We kinda are forced to jump into the psyche of both Dexter and the Ice Truck Killer without even realizing. Truth be told, it's a very superficial dive, but on the midst of the cross fire between two serial killers whilst one of them is obviously playing with the other, everything seems to be ready to engulf you while you try to watch everything at once.



    But it doesn't end there. For the first real time we meet more intimately most of the characters of the show. And what do we see? Paraphrasing Dexter: "Everyone hides who they are at least some of the time."



    In sum, stay tuned! This show is getting pumped up!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    Review

    By cavanagh15, Dec 26, 2007

    Another strong epsiode, but this episode really gave the story of the Ice Truck killer a whole new feel. I still love the fact that the Ice Truck killer has been such a giant part of season one and we still don't really know who the man is yet. The more the season goes on the more that I continue to think that it is Dexters dad until I see the Dad die. I thought I was going to get that in s01e03 when he was sick on the hospital bed, but that wasn't the case. Onto this episode - loved the change it up killing in this episode. Makes you wonder why the Ice Truck killer changed for this one person. This person is a man, which is why Im thinking he did it. Another good reason is that he was testing to see if Dexter would kill him - hence being at the hospital to take a picture of him. I find it weird that he left the camera, another great job of mystery writing by the writers as we try to put this person into some speculation here. Once again - great job with Dexter and Rita, I still believe that might be one of my favorite chemistries as far as actors go in a television series. And amen to Micheal Hall finnaly getting some real love from a woman - as far as I have seen. Overall I would say this is the strongest episode since the pilot - loved it. There were still slow scenes with the Luteniant and James, but I've come to just expect those.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    Let's Give the Boy a Hand abre com um monólogo de Dexter afirmando que, para manter sua fachada, ele teria que se afastar de outras pessoas.

    By CyberfoxKL, Oct 29, 2007

    Let's Give the Boy a Hand abre com um monólogo de Dexter afirmando que, para manter sua fachada, ele teria que se afastar de outras pessoas. Mas pouco depois, no primeiro dos flashbacks do episódio, Henry diz à ele que, para viver em paz, é preciso se encaixar. E para se encaixar, é preciso se socializar, não? Sorrir ao tirar uma foto em família é uma metáfora. Interagir com os outros é o que nos faz humanos. Isso significa que quando Dex dá de presente para sua irmã uma dica valiosa no caso do Ice Truck Killer ou aceita sem reclamações um "presente" de Rita (que poderia ser melhor, segundo ele), o nosso protagonista tenta se tornar um pouco mais normal para que os outros não percebam sua monstruosidade. Simples, não?



    (Por falar em monstruosidade, quando Dexter diz que nós nos disfarçamos de monstros no Halloween, vemos um garoto vestindo uma máscara de George W. Bush, só eu notei a piada?)



    O jogo de gato-e-rato entre Dex e ITK continua mais forte do que nunca. O assassino começa a jogar partes do corpo de Stanley Tucci pela cidade. Mas não em locais aleatórios. Todos são lugares onde Dexter já havia tirado fotos com sua família, o que mostra que o ITK é alguém (ou quer ser alguém) muito próximo do nosso serial killer preferido. Semana passada, LaGuerta havia iniciado uma busca por Stanley Tucci (o segurança do ginásio) por todo o estado, acreditando que ele era o culpado dos crimes. Qual não foi sua surpresa ao saber que Tucci estava voltando à Miami em suaves prestações? Mais que isso, Capitão Matthews exige que seja ela que conte para a mãe de Tucci que seu filho é inocente e que a polícia procurará com ele. Algo que certamente fez com que a Tenente engolisse seu orgulho e mostrasse um lado mais humano.



    O episódio ainda conta com mais duas subtramas. Doakes acaba sendo um dos principais responsáveis pela prisão de Guerrero, ao servir como isca. E o tira-camarada Angel acaba por nos revelar que seu casamento não vai nada bem, apesar das suas divertidas tentativas de achar uma jóia bonita para dar de presente à sua esposa.



    Voltando ao arco principal, ITK arma uma armadilha para Dexter, ou seria um presente? Tucci (ou o que sobrou dele), amarrado em uma mesa pronto para ser executado, do mesmo jeito que Dex já tirou de circulação vários outros. É a aí que a diferença entre os dois personagens se acentua. Dexter se nega a matá-lo, preferindo ligar para sua irmã, fazendo com que ela receba os louros pela descoberta, remetendo ao que eu tinha dito no primeiro parágrafo. Para complementar, nada melhor que este outro brilhante monólogo, proferido por ele no fim do episódio.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.1

    We get more background info on the people in Dexter's life.

    By expatriot, Sep 16, 2007

    Excellent episode that shows the writers are getting to grips with the other characters in this show. We get glimpses into the lives of the Lieutenant and Detective Angel, which enhance the quality of the show. It shows an insight into human emotions and feeling, especially of guilt.



    I loved this episode, because the ice truck killer uses photographs from Dexer's past, we get to see more flashbacks to young Dexter and I love those. They are so revealing and interesting.



    Sooner or later, the Lt must admit that Debs is doing some good work, even though it's Dexter helping her along.



    Oh yeah, Rita's Lara Croft was hilarious and was Dexter's comment !moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews