Diagnosis Murder

Show Reviews (36)

Great
593 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.0

    A guilty pleasure

    By dogfood_uk, Oct 13, 2012

    Cheesier than a parmesan sandwich, this is a lazy Sunday afternoon favourite. The only low point for me has been the attempted introduction of every Van Dyke in existence to the program.



    The 'Obsession' episodes are a particular favourite of mine. Utterly ludicrous but brilliant fun.

    2 0

  • 8.5

    solid detective show

    By imfeliz202, Jan 02, 2012

    With a pleasant mix of drama,interesting characters, and a bit of comedy, Daignosis Murder is a solidly pleasant detective show. Working as a team, Dick Van Dyke's character is pleasantly accompanied by Scott Baio's character and the actress famous to those of us who love the soap opera The Young and the Restless as the murdered Drucilla. The mysteries themselves hold up well and have interesting settings. This show would fit in well today on USA as the people on the show certainly have character.It's a likeable show, certainly worth watching for mystery fans on a holiday weekend when all of the other shows may be reruns as well. At least these shows might be new to today's viewer.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    Dick Van Dyke heads up a great cast which includes his son as he finds time to work on murder cases while working as a busy doctor in a big hospital.

    By Lady_Lancaster, Aug 28, 2011

    I have to admit that some of the episodes of this show made me cringe, but not too many of them because mostly, they were just plain fun to watch as Dick Van Dyke, in his role as Dr. Mark Sloan set about solving crime while expertly administering medical treatment to the sick. Not bomb threats nor fires or any other kind of disaster will deter the good doctor and his team from performing their dual roles of investigators and doctors.Another great thing about the show was the excellent guest stars it produced on a regular basis. Good medicine, indeed and worth watching for new fans and old.moreless

    2 0

  • 4.0

    Dick Van Dyke can do better.

    By jamoon2006, Jan 28, 2008

    I'm a huge fan of Dick Van Dyke not only from his classic sitcom but from "Mary Poppins" and more. So it pains me when I watch "Diagnosis Murder" and see his considerable talent being wasted on cast-off whodunit fluff.



    There's a good track record with taking a likable, popular older star and building a mystery series around them (Angela Lansbury, Andy Griffith, Tom Bosley). But sometimes the elements don't come together, and even when you have an old pro like Van Dyke (or, more recently John Larroquette in the ill-conceived "McBride") it falls flat.



    What's wrong with "Diagnosis Murder?" Bad writing, worse acting - a supporting cast that has little-to-no chemistry with the leading man, and a star who doesn't seem to have his heart in the work. It's dull and lifeless - Mark Sloan lacks the character of Jessica Fletcher and Matlock. He's practically a void - he presents solutions and solves the cases and is going through the motions.



    It's really sad, because Dick Van Dyke can do drama. Just look at his turn as a murderer in "Columbo." But the material here is so far beneath him he can't elevate it. How this lasted eight seasons is beyond me. It should have been put out to pasture long before that.moreless

    1 4

  • 9.1

    This is my secret pleasure at half 2 on weekedays!

    By amy2310, Mar 15, 2007

    Ok, so has a student I find my self going in at random times and when I come home from half days at Uni I find myself watching this show! I can't quite put my finger on what it is that makes me love this show so much- could it be the cuteness of Jesse - replaced Jack in my affections even if he has height issues :D! Or could it be that Dick Van Dyke always reminds me of the sort of guy who you think would make a great grandad! With its daft stories and the ability to try and work out who killed who and why I find this a simple yet fully enjoyable pleasure!! xxmoreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Diagnosis Murder starred Dick Van Dyke as a doctor/police dective who ran a hospital called Community General.

    By Bountyhunterc28, Jan 31, 2007

    Diagnosis Murder was basically a drama but it had some humor to it to. It teamed up real-life father and son legend Dick Van Dyke and Barry Van Dyke as father Mark (Dick) and son Steve (Barry) This show got better with every episode I was instantly hooked, me and my mom always watched this show together, There was a few guest appearances like Matlock (Andy Griffith) and a few other. The season 5 finale was very shocking, not something I expected. I always expected the unexpected with this show.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.9

    A group of doctors and a police officer all come together to investigate suspicious deaths and stuff.

    By Burgess8220, Jan 08, 2007

    I love this programme! Plainly love it. Dick Van Dyke is Brilliant! He really is. And i love trying to work out who murdered who because im into forensics and stuff so when they give you the clues and stuff. But i never seem to work out the whole lot. Sometimes ive worked out who done it, but not how it was done and vice versa. The reason i gave it a 9.9 was becuase sometimes you already know who the murderer is and although i still like them i prefer to try and work it out myself. Jesse is really fit too soits just like the show has everything for me! (if only it had aliens and supernatural beings). Although they did have the episode with the vampire that was good. A great show and even thought i was only 1 when it started i love it.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.3

    The adventures of a doctor-cum-detective Mark Sloan, who helps the police solve murders that they usually think isn't or have arrested the wrong person.

    By neishi-boi, Jan 07, 2007

    Running for eight seasons between 1993 and 2001, and along with five made-for-television movies, Diagnosis Murder saw Dick Van Dyke play Dr. Mark Sloan, a doctor at Community General Hospital who helps the police solve cases that usually involve murder.



    This series is an average version of a cross between Murder, She Wrote and Quincy, where you tune in knowing that the murderer will be arrested in the end – a trait that most afternoon detective shows use. A few times though the murderer actually got killed, usually unintentionally.



    Not one of the best shows around, but if there is nothing else on TV on a rainy day, then you can waste an hour watching this – is also available on DVD, but unless you are a die-hard fan, then I wouldn’t recommend it.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    I have always loved this show, ever since I was a little girl. I'm just as big an addict now!

    By AcaciaJules, Jan 07, 2007

    Though I'm really a fan of anything that has Jesse, I love the entire series. I bought the 1st season as soon as I could afford it. Now they just need to put out more seasons to satisfy my insatiable need. I always loved the formula of this series, and the father/son duo of Dick and Barry Van Dyke. I was a bit leery when they had the grandson's on, those episode's weren't quite up to standards, but otherwise a wonderful series I was sad to see go. It was quite understandable why it needed to go off air, I mean Dick was in his late 70's, and no man that age should have to deal with the rigorous time consuming schedule of filming a weekly TV show. But it was in the top 10 ratings throughout most of it's long run. It was something to be proud of. Especially when you consider it's star was over 60 for the entire series! Long live Diagnosis Murder in syndication! I will always be a devoted watcher, and I hope everyone else will too.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews