Dilbert

Show Reviews (36)

Great
524 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    One of the most underrated TV shows of all time

    By Review-o-tron, Feb 16, 2014

    This show was excellent. Dogbert and Pointy-Haired Boss are the best characters. The reason this show diddn't last long because it was on the wrong network. If Scott Adams chose FOX or Comedy Central for the show, it would probably still be on the air now. At least we have the complete series dvd.

    0 0

  • 7.0

    Dilbert's transition to TV is far from perfect. Overall it is a decent effort, just not spectacular. If you want something truly special, read the comics.

    By Lord_Fly, Dec 04, 2010

    The pithy comments about office life that makes Dilbert work so well as a comic strip doesn't work as well in a TV show. While there are times when you laugh hysterically at a particular quip, a laugh here and there doesn't sustain you through a whole episode. Many episodes felt as if they had little momentum on their own, which left you waiting between jokes.



    The characters start out very one dimensional and remain the same throughout the series. As such we are left with stereotypes and clich├ęs that gets a little boring. The producers could have used the TV genera to explore these characters and add some depth, especially Dilbert himself.



    The episode quality appears to get better towards the end due to better story telling because episodes have a better overall theme to them. Albeit the show defiantly too a turn towards the outrageous,but animation thrives on this sort of absurdity.



    Overall Dilbert is an enjoyable show with moments of brilliance, unfortunately there is a lot of filler that one must wade through to get to the good bits.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Great animated show of the new millenium! It's about the title character who works in an corporate office. I love it!

    By RaineRP, Oct 09, 2010

    I was a fan of the show, since it began. I was eighteen years old and a senior in high school, when the show started. I was nineteen and out of high school, when the show ended. I remember watching it, when it premired on the now defunct network, UPN duing the show's mid-season replacement. One of my favorite characters is Dilbert and his dog, Dogbert. Dogbert is very, very smart. He helps Dilbert through out his situation at home and at work. Dilbert is an engineer at a coporate office. His pointy-haired boss could be evil sometimes. He received his Masters in electrical engineering from MIT. He understands it very well. He has good ideas, but has a poor social life. Dilbert loves computers and technology.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.5

    dilbert was a funny uder rated show

    By cube2k8, May 06, 2010

    dilbert is about a man that works in a souless corpertation and he works in a cublicle with his friends its a very funny show that i thought was cancaled way to early like there was this part with a bear that started to mall everyon in the office till they shot him wiht loads of trainkerlizer dotts which was funny. but anyway it was a great show and had alot of funny moments with a dog a red dog was also in the show and they had a car were they both pressed the ignition keys in and it fired a huge missle that destroyed all the cars and they got through traffic. i think that is classic and it kept making me laughmoreless

    0 0

  • 8.0

    Un popular, Under rated, But fantastic!!! Come backkkk. :(

    By Splendid_99, Dec 07, 2009

    Dilbert was originally a comic strip written by Scott Adams who wrote strips in the paper but also wrote many Dilbert books from 1989-Present. The book (show) was about a man who works in an office Cubicle as an Engineer for a company that changes its name frequently. There's characters in the show like the boss, Alice, Wally, the guy who talks loudly and of course one of the smartest memorable cartoon characters ever, Dogbert! In 1999 the first season aired in America and it started to grow on people but it was on a network that wasn't very popular called UPN. The show unfortunately lasted only 2 seasons and finished at the end of 2000. It aired in other countries as well like Australia, England, Canada etc. And may i point out it has one of the coolest Intro's ever!!!



    The show was highly under rated like many good comedies or cartoons, but it wasn't the same as a normal cartoon because this one wasn't intended for Children even though there are some not intended for children like South park and Family guy... But this show was more of an intelligent humor in retrospect. I think it is wonderful apart from a few Dull story lined episodes but the humor is great and the voice acting is great and the animation isn't overly worked.



    In fact even though it was under minded it still won 1 Golden Globe award in 1999/2000... I only hope that maybe f they aired re-runs on tv more often A station would maybe ask Scott Adams to write Season 3? Un-likely but still

    Must watch show if you have free time on your hands.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    Bring it back!!!!!!

    By jht1414, Aug 23, 2009

    Dilbert is probably my favorite animated show ever! It's based off of what is probably the best comic strip ever. The show the hilarious story of a cubical worker who works in a souless corporation with crazy and wacky co-workers. It's has great character design, and though it is based off of a comic strip, it's got a plot that works for a tv show with the comic strip humor worked into it. The situations they get into range from dilbert ending charitable giving among all the world, to dogbert writing a book about a fake medical condition. The show's craziness hilarity really blends well with the excellent plots. The only problem is that it cusses quite a bit so it isn't appropriate for kids.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Dilbert is a great cartoon series, not at a level for kids, but great for lovers of Dilbert

    By msn26586, Jul 30, 2008

    This series, based upon the Dilbert comic strip by Scott Adams. The way that each episode begins with a comedic sketch that sets up what will occur later on the episode. It is also great to watch the pointy-haired boss toy with the lives of the engineers under his watch. From the creation of the Gruntmaster 6000 and all the twists and turns that it goes through from Pointy-Haired Boss' idea to design, to the competition for the prototype of the Gruntmaster 6000, and to the trial through hell that the Gruntmaster 6000 goes through during testing. The episode with the testing on a "typical" family and that causing a black hole was probably my favorite episode. Something else I enjoyed was the trips to Elbonia. They were the most amusing episodes of the series. Overall, Dilbert, is a great cartoon series and very enjoyable.moreless

    2 0

  • 6.1

    I love Dilbert but somehow he fails to make the transformation from comic strip to cartoon without losing much of the humour.

    By thedarkknight67, Jul 10, 2008

    Just about every worker can symphonise with at least one of the characters in Dilbert. It seems like everyone has had a clueless 'pointy haired' boss or been frustrated by co-workers traits that are well played out in the comic strips but these characters fail to connect in this animated version. The larger than life characters that provide the puns and punch lines in the comic strip version are sadly just background for much of the time in the TV version and thus it lacks much of the edge that makes Dilbert great.



    It seems that the shows producers have been unsure who their audience is, where they thinking that they where making a childs cartoon and not realizing that it is adults who live in Dilbert's world. The end result is a show that doesn't seem to meet anybodies expectations.moreless

    0 1

  • 7.7

    Nothing else is like the brilliance that is Dilbert!

    By captaindillo, Dec 10, 2007

    I had only seen the cartoon a few times, before watching one episode of the series, after this, I went and brought the DVDs, the show is great, the animation, while being simple, is just great. The opening is great, the plots are hilarious and also the sureal meets smart humour take, is something that is exactly what i like. Dilbert had at least a season or 2 left in it, maybe even more. The comic strip is great, as well, but the series is just so brilliant. My favourite character is Dogbert, he's hilarious, and is a slightly more evil version of me, he's great, I also like Catbert, :lol:, I roll around on the floor cacking myself, everytime he comes on screen, he's a classic.



    All in all, I love this, if you see the DVD buy it, heck buy it for your friends even, that's how much I love the show.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews