The Runaway Bride

Episode Reviews (31)

Great
517 votes
8.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    The Runaway Bride

    By TrueTvWatcher, Oct 28, 2012

    The Runaway Bride was a crazy and entertaining Christmas themed episode of Doctor Who. I really enjoyed watching because the story was interesting and the characters were awesome. Donna was a really cool woman and The Empress of the Racnoss was a bad AS5 B*^@# in her own right. She reminded me of the demon lord from the movie "Legend" and it was interesting to watch her movements and expressions. I liked Donna and it was heart breaking to learn the truth about her groom. I liked how every thing played out. The space ship scenes were great. The ending was awesome! I look forward to watching what happens next!!!!!!!!!moreless

    1 0

  • 7.0

    What a let down!! After waiting so many months for the new Episode, this one totally let me down on how the story line was all bloched up.

    By warren_zeek, Mar 28, 2012

    First off, why would a special Episode be like this? come on now, Doctor Who should be thrilling and keep us on the edge of our seats for the next season.But why did the producers and writers let the viewers down? And that woman, who refused to go with the Doctor, I could not stand her one big. Not only was she thick, but she reminded me of a buffalo and not a very bright one at that too.



    Good thing that she is not going to be in the series. The actress who played Rose, actually picked up very well after the first episode.



    On a different note, wonder if the Doctor will get Rose back with the help of Captain Jack (from Torchwood).



    -Warrenmoreless

    2 3

  • 9.2

    We missed you Doc.

    By peggy777, Feb 01, 2011

    What a great beginning for a new season. It is great to see the Dr. back and in action. When I first started watching this show it took a time for me to warm up to it. I'm not sure what it was, maybe because sometimes the other aliens are so far off the wall that for me it was not very believable. But now, I really do enjoy the show, even with the unrealistic aliens. This episode I was touched because it showed how much the Dr. missed Rose and I know the fans will too. Never the less the run-a way bride was hilarious and definitely kept the Dr. busy with a new adventure. Welcome back Doc.moreless

    4 0

  • 9.1

    My favourite Christmas episode.

    By ben-the-hen, Sep 03, 2008

    This episode is definately my favourite christmas special episode. It included Catherine Tate who is my favourite comedienne. Donna is a classic character and I'm glad they brought her back in the 4th series. The Racnoss was a marvellous enemy, a giant spider, genius! At first I thought it was CGI at first, but Sarah Parish pulled off a brilliant performence. The Christmas episodes are always exciting, apart from Voyage of the Damned. I think this episode set things up for later seasons.



    The idea of the story was very good, and you didn't see the surprise twist coming, you really didn't know that Lance was in on it.



    Very good.moreless

    3 0

  • 9.1

    I would have scored this a perfect ten if some of the London accents weren't so thick-sounding.

    By Carycomic, Jul 07, 2007

    Then, again; I'm a bloody Yank. So, what do I know? Well, I know what I like. And, for the most part, I liked this episode! The mystery of how the titular bride got aboard the TARDIS is solved during the prologue of the episode. But, it was still hilarious to see and hear David Tennant's shock at finding Donna (brilliantly played by Catherine Tate) there, at all. I also loved the chase scene on the highway, with the Doctor trying to keep the TARDIS from crashing while engaged in conventional flight. Not to mention Donna's reaction to the sight of a flying blue police box. "You've gawt to be kidding me." Absolutely priceless! But, it was the revelation of who owned the H.C. Clements Company, and the identity of the villainous masterminds that really took me by surprise. When I first saw those long spindly legs, I thought it might be an escapee from the Planet of the Spiders (3rd Doctor era). However, the fact that the Empress was the sole survivor of another evil race (apparently wiped out by the Time Lords), and that Donna's fiance' Lance was collaborating with her, completely floored me!!! In short, this third season premier was smashing.moreless

    4 0

  • 9.6

    Catherine Tate and David Tennat work together to produce a christmas special.

    By chazzock, Apr 20, 2007

    A good episode to watch after christmas lunch, I liked the revival of the evil santas. The plot was original but not the strongest one in the world.



    Catherine Tate brings light comic relief to the episode with many brilliant one liners.



    The relationship between the Doctor and the bride was slightly odd, they didn't seem to understand each other at all.



    I loved the scene with the TARDIS flying down the motor way chasing after the taxi, the special effects were brilliant. I didn't know the TARDIS could be flown like that, but obviously it can be.



    I look forward to watching the coming series 3.moreless

    2 1

  • 8.3

    Fab C-Day viewing

    By Malora, Apr 15, 2007

    Christmas Day, 19:00, after the usual same but different, presents, over indulgence, Queen's speech, same old, same old. Last years Christmas invasion set a benchmark with David Tennant taking the role of the Doctor and well and truly inhabiting it. This year, companion gone, all alone we get treated to the fabulous Catherine Tate, playing a common as muck londoner just trying to get on with her life. And it works. Running around, exploding cash machines, motorway chasesd. The Doctor and Donna click, after a rocky start and spar with some great bantering, and have a good laugh at the sheer absurdity of their situation. Donna, of the various characters the Doctor has encountered over the years seems to have the clearest picture of him, seeing him for the tormented man, the man who has to make all the hard decisions, 'kill the bad guy' an' all that. Great viewing, left us waiting for season 3.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.1

    Donna is about to walk down the aisle on her wedding day when she suddenly turns up in the TARDIS.

    By pennyrua, Apr 03, 2007

    I really liked this Christmas Special. There was excitment, intrigue and a great performance by David Tennant as The Doctor. They also kept the spirit of Rose in the episode so die-hard fans would know she was not forgotten. The storyline was inventive and I was actually surprised by the twists and turns and Catherine Tate was fantastic as Donna, the clueless Bride. I don't usually like her show and she was virtually unrecognisable in the wedding dress but she and Tennant had a great chemistry and the episode worked really well. I love how Tennant is moulding The Doctor's character and he really is the best Doctor ever. -no offence to Eccleston fans!-moreless

    1 2

  • 9.1

    I liked it

    By hobbleit, Mar 06, 2007

    The second Christmas episode and the first one without Rose. I thought it was done really well, enough lip service was paid to Rose so you knew the Doctor was not over her departure but it didn't leave a black cloud hanging over the episode. Now, I'm not usually a fan of Catherine Tate, I can't stand her sketch show, but i actually really quite liked her in this. Donna was a hoot.



    I also liked the fact that The Doctor said the name of his home world. I've never really watched the original series but it just sent a shiver down my spine when he said Gallifrey.



    Highlights:

    The Doctor's pockets are bigger on the inside. Just llike the TARDIS.

    The motorway rescue. Thrilling heroics or what?



    I really liked it, not perfect but well above average.moreless

    0 1

Load More Reviews