Doogie Howser, M.D.

Show Reviews (17)

Great
517 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 7.0

    Memories

    By FX, May 28, 2012

    NPH typing out his memoirs on a green screen DOS based operating system. Good times.

    1 0

  • 7.5

    i think that cancelling it was better than killing Doogie's career!

    By Danah, Dec 08, 2011

    i still remember my first love, it was for the young doctor. i LOVED each episode, i used to tape them so i can watch them over and over again. but the writers intended from the beginning to get Doogie to quit his job as a doctor and become a writer. and if the show's fourth season didn't suck as much as it did, it would've happened. i hate how the show ended but i really wouldn't have liked seeing Doogie NOT being a doctor.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    Doc and friend.

    By Mathlol1, Feb 28, 2011

    Love finding old shows once again. Hate the way the show ended. After decades, I'm able to look at the shows final season through a different perspective. Too bad television producers canned the show. Maybe viewers count decreased. I could be scripts and ideas lacked focus forcing a network move. There were numerous complications in characters, personalities neglected, flaws introduced. All the "lessons" of the two protagonists, Doogie and Vinnie, were never carried over to newer episodes. The show became a string of episodes and alienated the essence it once was. I think its apt to say comedy and rating demand fueled the plot over development and continuity.



    There was no closure. Characters were forgotten. Entire relationships and friendships amounted to nothing after countless episodes of mutual learning, understanding. The show essentially regressed to a primitive version of season 1 in which the characters had more opportunities due to their older age. Different topics were skimmed based on this pretense and the show Doogie Howser was lost. At any rate, the show was nice to watch once again if only for completion's sake. Neil Patrick Harris and Max Casella played memorable characters. Adjoined with a rich supporting cast, it made a great show.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    A good funny light hearted show that's not boring.

    By sfviewer, Apr 08, 2010

    You want to watch a good tv show that delivers, Doogie Howser MD is your show. This show starts off when Doogie is only 16 dealing with his hectic life just like everyone else. The last season shows him dealing with his young adult life figuring out what his life should be about. All the Doogie Howser episodes were good, even those that were a little melodramatic. You get good laughs with this show, you don't have to take it too seriously, which is a good thing, you just have to enjoy the show and have a good time. This show definitely has it.moreless

    4 0

  • 9.5

    A show about a genius kid doctor... with a heart.

    By paul_panhook, Feb 05, 2009

    I was 1 when this show came out. I never saw or watched it growing up. I didn't even know who Neil Patrick Harris was until I saw the first Harold and Kumar movie. But- I've been lucky recently. I went to IMDB.com and found all the episodes posted there by hulu.com. I've got time to waste or spare. I had heard good things about the show so I figured, "What the hell?" For the last week I have sat in front of this computer screen watching the show, I couldn't get enough. The only other show I can compare it to is Scrubs (if you've seen it), aside from Scrubs having more humor, these shows are about the same. They try and balance humor, morality, and the day to day activites of doctors. Anyway it was a great show and Doogie Howser is a great character. I think I favored the first two seasons over the last two but overall it was a show that was still going in it's prime. I wish it hadn't gone so soon. But better left a winner and then thrown out a loser. Hats off to Neil Patrick Harris and Max Casella (Vinnie, Doogie's best pal and neighbor). Their characters will forever be engraved in my television mind and memory. I will miss you Dr. Howser.moreless

    1 0

  • 7.2

    Doogie Howser, M.D. is about a 16 yr old genius who is a practising Surgeon.

    By RHam_01, Feb 28, 2007

    This was a show that I remember seeing way back when I was 7-8 years old. At that time one couldn't help but be fascinated by the young teenage genius who was a Doctor already!



    The way he spouted information about just about everything was awe inspiring for a kid. It was like he was this sort of Superkid.



    It was fun to see how they balanced his genius against his inexperience and youth. On one hand he was the best at his job... but on the other hand he acted just like any other clueless teenager in matters of the heart and his rebellions against his parents and authority.



    Every episode tested him as a person and taught him important lessons and that was always nice to see.



    The first season, in my opinion, was fantastic. From there on the show went rapidly downhill.



    I suppose if I really sit back and see this show today I might not really enjoy it that much. But as a kid and in that day and age it was a very good show.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    The Doctor Will See You Now

    By rajkbose, Jun 24, 2006

    When Family Ties first came on TV, Michael J Fox, as Alex Keaton, the boy genius became an overnight icon among most teenagers and their parents. Similarly, when Doogie Howser, MD was launched, this child prodigy who at 16 was a certified doctor was loved by everyone.



    Here was someone who was a a medical genius at 16, who could not only spout out scientific terms at the drop of a stethoscope, but was also a very skilled surgeon. At such a young age he had to deal with professional issues such as hospital bureaucracy, patient's pain, emotions of their loved ones and the limitations of medical science. At the same time he was your everyday teenager having to cope with issues such as peer pressure, girlfriends, parents, etc.



    This balancing act by this young doctor was not only entertaining but also a refreshing change from the run of the mill programs one comes across based on teenagers or the medical practice.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.7

    Another Blast From My Past On Dvd

    By alaska_amber, May 23, 2006

    This show was all about a 16 year old boy who just happen to be a doctor aka doogie howser md. it was a realy good show , the show only had four seasons and I was sad to see it go all four seasons of this show are out for rent or sale if your looking for a good series to get sucked into this one is a really good light humor family show !

    1 0

  • 8.5

    A pretty good show based on a very young Dr. that has his licence at a very young age because he is brilliant and got through school very quickly.

    By vicmackey31, May 20, 2006

    A pretty good show based on a very young Dr. that has his licence at a very young age because he is brilliant and got through school very quickly. Neil Patrick Harris had the starring role as Douglas "Doogie" Howser. He was fantastic and perfect for this role. His best friend was Max Casella as Vinnie Delpino. Max can now be seen on "The Sopranos". The rest of the cast was pretty good. They included Belinda Montgomery as Katherine O'Brien Howser, Robyn Lively as Michele Faber, Kathryn Layng as Nurse Curly Spaulding, Lucy Boryer as Janine Stewart, Lisa Dean Ryan as Wanda Plenn,

    Mitchell Anderson as Dr. Jack McGuire, James Sikking as Dr. David Howser, Lawrence Pressman as Dr. Benjamin Canfield and Darkus Redmond as Raymond Alexander. the show alway ended with Doogie type notes on his computer. The girls from sex and the city stole this a few years later for their show.

    moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews