Dragon Ball

Show Reviews (93)

Great
1,842 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Dragonball Z's Prequel is a worthy show to view!

    By DBTrilogy100, Mar 13, 2013

    Dragonball Z's prequel, Dragonball, tells the story of Goku's childhood and reveals the origins of characters such as Bulma, Chi-Chi, Ox King, Master Roshi, Yamcha, Krillin, Tien, Korin and even Piccolo! The show follows a pattern of Goku going on a Dragonball Quest then participating in the World Martial Arts Tournaments. Goku's past adversaries include Emperor Pilaf (with his minions Shu & Mai), Supreme Commander Red & the Red Ribbon Army, Mercenary Tao & the Crane Hermit and Piccolo's sinister father, King Piccolo (who is the most evil of the villains before the DBZ era)! I saw DBZ 1st, so therefore saw DB as a prequel; DB is more fantasy oriented then its science-fiction oriented sequel. A great show that I recommend to those who have questions concerning the past of DBZ characters.moreless

    7 1

  • 9.0

    It was entertaining to watch this show

    By miran131, Feb 27, 2012

    I just remember watching it as a kid, it was good.

    1 0

  • 9.0

    An Extraordinary series, one of the greatest animes ever in my opinion.

    By Weezing101, Jan 23, 2011

    I'm sure there are people who hate this series but I have never met any of those people. I am not a big fan of the American version, besides the voices. I prefer the original uncut Japanese version with English subtitles. I like to see anime the way it was supposed to be seen, not how America wants us to see it. Dragonball is about the life of a kid from another planet named Goku. I do not want to spoil anything for you so please go watch it and find out what it is about. It is great. After the Dragonball series comes Dragonball Z which is a follow-up from this series. Watch it as well if you haven't. By the way, if you did not know, Dragonball is based on the Japanese comic series of the same name.moreless

    1 0

  • 0.0

    Absolute Rubbish!!!

    By BryanPhilips, Jan 14, 2011

    Wait! Before all the Dragon Ball fans start going nuts you might want to know that I used to be a DBZ fan.



    I grew up watching this and I LOVED the show.





    Any now about 6 years later I look back and I think.... WHAT A WASTE OF TIME.



    I learned nothing from that moronic show.



    This show is a complete waste of time!



    There are better things to do than watch this rubbish.



    Change the channel and put on a better show e.g. Futurama.



    Hell, I'd rather watch Sesame Street than sit through an episode of DBZ.moreless

    1 14

  • 0.0

    I HATE THAT SHOW

    By pimpin313, Jan 04, 2011

    omi gosh that show is so stupid if that show were cookies than nobody would eat them cuz everyone hates dbz as much as i do so....... to the creators of dragon ball z i want you to.......STOP MAKING STINKY SHOWS! cuz you are making me angry and you wont like me when im angry!

    1 7

  • 1.0

    Boring lame action show.

    By YamataDragon, Jan 04, 2011

    Danny Phantom could easily crush all of the stupid lame heroes & villians in this show. Why make another Dragon Ball show when there is already one on the air? I guess they just have to torture us with another one because they want to. It's action shows like this that make me sick. Just take it off the flippin' air.

    1 12

  • 9.0

    Classic 80's anime that spawned a franchise that's still alive and well today.

    By macabre190788, Oct 14, 2010

    I love Dragon Ball, it is in my opinion, unquestionably one of the absolute best anime shows ever made, and the sequel series Dragon Ball Z is just as great, or possibly even better than this one. I'm currently watching Dragon Ball GT for the first time, and it's pretty good actually...so far at least, some annoyances, but I'll talk about that when I review that series. Dragon Ball was unbelievably popular when it aired, and still Dragon Ball Z Kai manages to pull in consistent high ratings in Japan and the US. People love the show, while others hate it, one individual I talked to, a die hard Naruto and Bleach fan thinks this is the absolute worst anime ever made, he despises it, however I made him admit that he has a bit of respect for it in the sense that Naruto probably wouldn't exst if it weren't for Dragon Ball, but to each their own. The show has spawned sequel shows, countless video games, toys and other merchandise, so there's no doubt it still has numerous fans all over the world.



    Dragon Ball, this first series, is terrific, the adventure/comedy is great, thanks to the fantastic characters. Goku is such a naive, innocent character, I have a problem with other anime shows where the main hero is an obnoxious, full of himself, jerk, Goku is awesome, while still not being smug or annoying. I could go through all the other characters, but there are so many, Bulma is cool as well, Lunch or Launch is one of my favorite characters, too bad she's hardly in Dragon Ball Z at all, Master Roshi and Oolong deliver the perverted comedy that's so common in anime, however, where I had a problem with similar stuff in shows like Keroro Gunso, where the girls are 12-13, here the girls are at least of legal age, at least after my country's rules, so when they have to endure the more humiliating moments, it's not toe-curlingy uncomfortable. They do show a bit of nudity in the show, even uncovered breasts with nipples on full display, but so what? I don't mind kids seeing Dragon Ball, a bit of non-sexual nudity is perfectly fine in my book. Some of the violence however can be very intense, particularly some of the stuff in the last battle between Goku and Piccolo Jr.



    The first three seasons expertly balances comedy and adventure, with some action, now I don't think the action is all that great in the majority of the first three seasons, I blame that on the animation, I guess they had a limited budget, it looks dated, of course that has it's own charm, but the action scenes suffer and are stiff and slow. However, the fourth and fifth seasons have some amazing fight scenes that are really awesome. The show is surprisingly consistent in quality and manages to keep things fresh with new surprises and characters. Of course there are some mediocre eisodes and the last five episodes flat out stinks, they're lousy and boring beyond belief, I'm glad Dragon Ball Z is a direct continuation, it would be embarrassing if these five episodes were the last we would've seen from Dragon Ball. Another thing I hate is how big moments and surprises are way too obvious, and then they spend up to multiple episodes having the characters going "who's that?", "what's happening?" and such, they drag it out and they do this a couple of times. Also, the amount of shots of people gawking at something incredible can be a bit annoying sometimes.



    Part of the success of Dragon Ball can be credited it's charm, it has a genuine heart and isn't just about the kamehameha's and intense battles. I love it, I mean, I'm not a raving fanboy who thinks it's absolutely flawless in every single way, there are a few faults, but ultimately it's a great series that's well worth checking out.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    one of the greatest animes to ever be made

    By cube2k8, Jul 09, 2010

    dragonball was a huge show it came out in the 90s and i used to watch it all the time. goku who is a sayian and was raised by a man that discoverd him but the man died when goku transformed into a ape. goku and help of others go and finded the dragonballs. he comes across huge and powerful enimes. using his power pole and his kamaiamia wave. and ridsa nimbus clowd. i enjoyed the show it also had alot of comdedy in it which made the show one of the best animes to ever be made i think.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Realy cool animation film :)

    By Svajokle, Jun 28, 2010

    This is one of that animation films i like. ecpecialy i like first season - Dragonball. The story begins then elder named Gohan who lives in the earth find a starnge boy. He is strange because he have a tail. Gohan give name for the child - Goku. Gohan raised him and trained Goku in martial arts until he died. Until Gohan dead Goku meet young girl named Bulma whos search the dragon balls who can make three whishes. There are seven dragon balls in diferent places of the all world. Together they going to long jurney. I can't tell all story. Story is very long and very cool.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews