Duckman

Show Reviews (14)

Great
389 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.5

    An Underrated Classic about a Duck Detective and his Wacky Adventures.

    By DragonSword227, Jul 12, 2015

    Just like "The Simpsons", this is what started most adult animated sitcoms, which was not too common in the 90's. The most impressive thing about this show is it's writing and that it would relate with anything happening nowadays like Adam Sandler Movies. The jokes are also hilariously awkward and random. The characters are very entertaining and loads of fun to watch; Duckman, Cornfed, Bernice, Ajax, Charles, Mambo, Grand-mamma and King Chicken, all of the characters are great in their own way. This show is everything that Family Guy wishes it could be. Family Guy tries to be similar to Duckman, but fails completely because the writers don't know the charm that Duckman had. My favorite episode was probably "54 - Bev takes a Holiday" and my least favorite episode would have to be "55 - Love! Anger! Kvetching!" which was the very next episode from my favorite. The series had 4 seasons and 70 episodes in total. I wouldn't mind if this show got renewed for another 4 seasons, kind of like how Futurama came back from cancellation. Then after an 8th season, maybe end the entire series with a theatrical movie. That would be awesome, then Duckman would get the recognition that it deserves. I'll give the series a 9.5 / 10. It is an Outstanding series, that can even top "The Simpsons" and "South If you are into Adult Animation then give it a try. It's definitely worth anyone's time.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.5

    Wow! Why did they cancel this show so soon? It was as funny as hell!

    By KingBoo112, Apr 24, 2010

    The second best Klasky Csupo production! The Simpsons being the first, and Aaahh! Real Monsters! being the third. It follows the adventures of Eric Duckman, who is a maniacal duck who tries to being a detective and is a father of his late wife's children, and has to deal with her stupid cranky twin sister. I saw a lot of episodes on HBO, and it was so damn funny! I have to say, this show's almost like a Family Guy show but without cutaway gags. I just don't understand why this show got cancelled in 3 years. It's also a scary thing that when Everett Peck (creator of Duckman) returned to cartoon network in 2006, he made a show on Cartoon Network that was no where near as good as Duckman.....It was a bad show called Squirrel Boy, that's very creepy how a creator of a hilarious show writer can be mutated into an untalented writer. Overall, this show was great. Why did it have to go so soon?moreless

    2 0

  • 9.0

    Duckman- where The Simpsons and South Park meet.

    By DoToThat, Jun 22, 2009

    Although Duckman hasn't been around for over a decade, I must say- it's still gets to me as the first time I saw it. Duckman is a show about a duck, in a world consisted of many animals- mainly humans. Duckman has a dirty mind, dirty mouth, big ego and glasses. He has some insane family, and some few weird friends. and he is a loser. Duckman has this half-baked taste to it- it's not exactly The Simpsons, as in family love doesn't always triumph and it is way less subtle in its messages, but on the other hand, it doesn't deliver the message right up to your face as South Park does so successfully. It's somewhere in the middle, a show for adults that children really wouldn't get, and yet sweet in its own wacky way. As you can see, it was really ahead of its time. It set the ground to nowadays adult cartoons and held a riot all on its own. Duckman might not be as well known as The Simpsons, South Park of Family Guy, but I'll always keep a special place for it in my memory for a show well done.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    "And to think, Entertainment Weekly panned us."

    By mowub, Feb 06, 2009

    For those who enjoy adult animation, Duckman is an excellent choice. The show follows a Duckman (Jason Alexander), a crazed, sex-starved duck who tries to juggle being a detective (and a bad one at that) and fathering his late wife's children, and putting up with her angry twin sister. The dialogue is exceptionally written: Both intelligent and low-brow at the same time, especially during Duckman's rants. The animation is bizarre, yet inventive, thanks to Everett Peck and Klasky-Csupo. In a way, Duckman was one of the first animated series that was truly adult: More envelope-pushing and provocative than The Simpsons, and may have paved the way for raunchier stuff like South Park. The entire series is now on DVD, and I highly recommend picking it up.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    A parody of everything American.

    By ssimonds1, May 09, 2007

    This is by far the funniest creation to come out of Klasky Csupo productions (The first few seasons of the Simpsons don't count since they were subcontractors)



    The show had a very strong cast, great writing and a catch phrase that everyone can relate to: "What the hell are you looking at." Besides the regular cast, Duckman somehow drew in great guest stars; Estel Getty, Paul Sorvino, Robert Klien just to name a few.



    I, for one, am glad that it was on cable and not on network TV. It would not have made it though half a season on any of the big four.



    I understand that the entire series is now available on DVD. If you haven't had the pleasure of viewing this hillarious show, do it now.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    The voice in your head say this is funny

    By bonefactory, Apr 26, 2006

    Unlike the often innocuous criticism found in "The Simpsons" (a pretty good show in its own right), and the rude-for-rudeness-sake humour in "South Park," every bit of this series follows a plan. The criticism of US society, from its mercantilism to its selfishness, carries much more bite than it does in any other animated series.



    The cultural references in "Duckman" also tend to be obscure sometimes (anyone browsing the fan sites will realize most have not even been caught). In that, it is different from "The Simpsons," which usually uses pop culture instead of the high-brow stuff often hidden in "Duckman." As other people writing about it notice, there is a growth in the characters (Bernice, Duckman and Cornfed). Also, by making the main character not just an offensive neurotic but in fact someone who is living a personal tragedy (as is made clear in episodes like "The Once and Future Duck" ('You'll love her until the end of your days...') and in "Bev Takes a Holiday" (when he takes a chance to tell Beverly all those things he couldn't tell Beatrice), the series is anchored in a deep sense of reality.



    One can't avoid feeling sorry for him and his lucid madnessmoreless

    2 0

  • 9.6

    Wow, a crazy show with big name voices and always something insane to say.

    By swampape, Mar 16, 2006

    This show is one of my all time favorites! Jason Alexander (George from Seinfeld) has the perfect voice and freak-out attitude to play the title character. A Duck who always finds something perverse and cruel to do or say. His depravity knew no bounds and his ethics had no floor. His faithful sidekick was a pig named Cornfed who was his straightman and cleaned up after his debacles. The rest of the family was wonderful too. The guest appearances from people like Tim Curry, Ben Stein, Gilbert Godfreid, etc. just made things so much the better. I always found something hilarious and offensive in almost every episode.



    Definitely not something the little ones should watch and it is surprising it got on the air and lasted as long as it did. I wish it were still on and more episodes being made. How I miss my dose of Duckman and the reruns only satisfy for so long.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Amazingly intelligent and witty this show was lightyears ahead of its time!

    By sisyphusuk, Feb 08, 2006

    Duckman, a show I used to watch as small child, and just recently got back into once I managed to find some copies of the episodes.



    As a child I didnt get most of the jokes, but I still enjoyed the show! As an adult, this is one of the few shows to genuinely make me laugh!



    I recommend this show without reservation to any and all age groups (although a few of the jokes are a bit risque!)



    Let us all take off our tops and rejoice!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    A great hilarious show

    By cale12, Jan 14, 2006

    Jason Alexander was the perfect match to do the voice of Duckman. Duckman was a great show and was hilarious. If it weren't for it with Fluffy and Uranus we wouldn't have Kenny off of South Park. Duckman was one of the first great cartoon comedies. If you love Family Guy or anything like that this is the show for you. It's GREAT as Tony the Tiger would say.

    0 0

  • 10

    Before South Park, Family Guy, American Dad and contemporaneous with Beavis and Butt-Head - politically incorrect, irreverent funny, thy name is Duckman.

    By mihai_sirbu, Dec 25, 2005

    Nowadays, South Park is an established institutions, Family Guy and American Dad are considered ground-breaking, and the irreverences of Beavis and Butt-Head is thought to be the seed of it all. But between 1994 and 1997, and amazing show called Duckman ran, which was much funnier and off-the-wall than Beavis and Butt-Head and just as politically incorrect in a funny way as Family Guy, or even more, but 7-8 years before Family Guy even began. Who nowadays thinks something as Family Guy could have been on the air almost a decade agon, when the comparatively mild Beavis and Butt-Head were considered the epitome of "bad taste funny"? And yet, there was Duckman, wonderfully voiced by Jason Alexander (try listening to him in Seinfeld while visualizing Duckman - it's weird and quite funny), drawn in an original manner, in a crazy world. And yet, you sort of cared about Duckman, because there was more character development there than in Family Guy or American Dad, which are more of a collection of one-liners than of character humor.

    It's sad that Duckman does not have the classic status bestowed upon Beavis and Butt-Head, that it is not available on DVD (what the hell is up wih that!), and that Duckman's minute-long cursing rants do not warp the minds of more teens.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews