Ed

Show Reviews (20)

Great
807 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 5.0

    why does c and the sentake so many day off.

    By donaldpotts75, Aug 18, 2013

    can u tell me why c and the sen. only work two moh out of the year? there get pay $250.000 ayear and do not. hope to hear fromu.

    0 0

  • 10

    I loved this show and am sincerely disappointed that it's still not available on DVD.

    By MichaelHallor, Aug 02, 2010

    This show was fantastic and really well put together. Every character was brilliant and the story lines were really effective. I know that it never got very high ratings, but it's still got enough of a niche audience that it should definitely be available on DVD or at least available for download. In this day and age when almost every show on TV is either a trashy reality show or a spin off of a show that started 20 years ago and does the same thing every week, shows like this need to be made readily available to fans of good television.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    After being fired from his job and finding out his wife has been cheating on him, Ed Stevens moves back to his home of Stuckeyville, buys a bowling alley, which he starts a lawyer's office in, and goes after his first love, Carol Vessey.

    By SsorHorse, May 06, 2010

    Ed was a very underappreciated show by Rob Burnett, former producer of The Late Show With David Letterman. This dramedy is one of the first great shows of this millenium. It was a heart-warming, sweet, random and suprisingly touching show. Ed knew how to combine laughter that would have the viewer grabbing their sides with great drama that would have the same viewer reaching for the tissues. The show was filled with such original characters as Phil Stubbs, played by Michael Ian Black, assistant manager at the Stuckeybowl, the bowling alley/lawfirm, and consistent attention grabber. There was also Warren Chezwick, played by Justin Long, the nervous, nerdy kid who just wanted the popular cheerleader, but was afraid he would never stand out. These are just a few of the outstanding characters. What made this show so great was the stories. No episode seemed like filler, which is more than I can say for most television shows, and each episode was an original idea that you definitely had not seen before, also very difficult to find. With the rise of the success of such Ed stars as Julie Bowen, Michael Ian Black and Justin Long, Ed should hopefully find its way to DVD. Some company like Shout! Factory, who did an amazing job with other underappreciated shows like Freaks & Geeks and Undeclared, would do a great job with this gem. This was a show that did not get the audience it deserved. A beautifully done, well written and acted, fun, sweet and emotional show, that should have had incredible success instead of struggling through four amazing seasonsmoreless

    3 0

  • 8.0

    Lawyer, bowling alley owner, combine them and you get hilarity.

    By anorthview, Apr 29, 2008

    This show was strong, and it was solid and funny and enjoyable, and family oriented, and and and :) I enjoyed every episode of this, I catch it whenever I can on TV and when I got into it never missed an episode. This show could have gone on for several years, but it made one large mistake, it removed the sexual tension, the will they won't they that drives so many shows for years. The only way they could have gotten it back was if they had turned one of the beloved 2 into a villain, and while they could have done so with Carol, this show was far to classy to sellout just for the sake of getting another season or 2.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.1

    Good, but that good.

    By da_dunker, Apr 30, 2007

    "Ed" was a one-of-a-kind gem: a show that could be quirky, hip, goofy and smart at the same time. "Ed" never failed to be funny, touching, thoughtful or inspirational (sometimes all in the same episode). Maybe it was the premise of a lawyer who set up shop in a bowling alley that he bought, but one could get the impression that some people may have not been interested for that reason. At any rate, the lucky who tuned in were delighted by the antics of the characters, appreciative of the depth and quality of writing, and witness to one of the most charming love stories to ever grace the small screen (or any screen for that matter). It is a pity that more people did not discover it in its initial run. Hopefully it will air again (in syndication or cable) in the US in the near future so that more people can discover this wonderful program.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Whey I can't faind it's DVD?

    By maxi61, Oct 08, 2006

    DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD - DVD.



    I'm sorry, but my English Languge is not good to write a Review!moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    I have seen many shows, but ed was just amazing!!! I have seem the show many times and it just keeps getting better and better!

    By marko_garfield, Apr 24, 2006

    I have seen many shows, but ed was just amazing!!! I have seem the show many times and it just keeps getting better and better!i dont know what more to write!! I mean the show is perfect, it's funny, touching, hillarious, i can't get enough of it! I l;ove the time Ed proposes to carol! Its the best episode of all!! I don't know what was it when they wanted a clown wedding, but ok everybody can make a mistake!!! I wish they would keep making he show!! Boo hoo- they wont!!! :( Anyway Its the best show ever!!! byemoreless

    0 0

  • 9.7

    Ed returns to his hometown to pursue his career and his high school sweetheart.

    By BMan12, Jan 24, 2006

    I miss this show. I think everyone knew it was going to end; the plot was pretty well worn out, but nobody wanted it to go. This was a special show. It was light and funny while still being serious enough to be a real show. It had many great concepts: the bowling alley lawyer, the ten dollar bets, the sitting on top of the bowling alley, the suit of armor, the homemade movie, the buying every condom for a hot date, the pies, the schemes from Phil, and Ed's ever-great ideas. It just needs to come out on DVD so I can watch it again.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.9

    Very funny Dramatic-Comedy

    By Ralphecution, Dec 24, 2005

    Ed is a great show to watch. Ed Stevens is a bowling alley lawyer which is funny because what is a bowling alley lawyer. Ed's cases are mostly funny but sometimes they're not at all and that's the dramatic part I think. The funny high school events that happen are the funniest things to happen on the show. It was I think underappreciated.

    0 0

  • 10

    The most underappreciated show ever. A perfect combination of romance (that is not excessively cheesy) and comedy. The story and characters are just flawless. I challenge anyone to watch the show properly and not like it.

    By kinbon, Nov 12, 2005

    The show evolves around the complex relationship of Ed Stevens, a small town lawyer and Carol Vessay, a local high school teacher. It all begins when Ed comes home early from work one day and finds that his wife is sleeping with the mail man and from there decides his life is need of major changes.



    So while drinking away his sorrows and looking back through his high school year book, he finds Carol's high school photo and then acting on a whim goes back to his hometown of Stuckville in search of her to ask her out on a date.



    With his charm, Ed convinces Carol to go on a date with him if he can bowl a strike with his eyes closed. Ed succeeds and to forever remember the moment, he buys the bowling alley and from then on he becomes known to the locals as "The Bowling Alley Lawyer".



    Then throughout the TV show, it shows the many ups and downs of the relationship between the two characters while throwing in the occasional side story showing the lives of the other characters in the show. This is the basic main plot to the show and the show is not mainly a court drama as people might think though for the first two series almost every episode has a court case in it which has some sort of moral story behind it.



    The show to me is very unique and I have never seen such a great story that the show has with it's two characters of Ed and Carol. The long running saga of will they or wont they is just perfect and full of obstacles that will keep on always wanting to watch the next episode to see what happens next.



    Truely a great show that was underappreciated and did not reach a big enough audience which was probably down to lack of advertising. Again, I challenge anyone to watch the show properly and not like it :)moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews