Everybody Hates Chris

Show Reviews (167)

Great
3,478 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 1.0

    Stupid Sitcom! Kids show my ass! >:(

    By a34trgv1, Sep 07, 2014

    Ever since Nick@Nite started airing reruns of this show, I've never felt so much hatred for a television series since The Simpsons. Chris is an unlikable, disloyal, coward who is bullied everyday at school (by the same bully, mind you) and never once asks for help. In one episode, he told his Mom that he didn't want to go to school because he was picked on: does she call the school? Does she talk to the bully's parents? Does she talk to the bully? NOOOOOOOO!!!!!! She does ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!!!!!!! Lady, your son is being bullied in school everyday: DOOOO SOMETHING!!!!!! That's just the tip of the iceberg, as this show is full of unlikable, annoying and racially offensive characters. Chris' Dad, Julius, is so cheap, he makes Mr. Krabs look like Michael Jackson. Every scene he's in, he's always worrying about money. DUDE!!!!! Calm the duck down!!! Money is no object (in my opinion), as long as you have a roof over your head, food to eat, fresh water to drink, and a family that loves you, NOTHING ELSE MATTERS!!!!! Then there's Rochelle, Chris' mother: she is not a good parent. I know you're suppose to discipline your kids, but this is down right boarder line child abuse. "Knocking you into last night?" "Smacking the chaps of your lips?" "Making your behind hot as well?" Not even my mother threaten me like that, and when she did, it wasn't this harsh. She also swears right in front of her kids; I count in one episode where she swore twice in front of her kids. I'm surprised they don't swear to; remember: Monkey see, monkey do. Parent say, child do. Rochelle's constant use of profanity should have plagued these kids; speaking of which, Chris' brother and sister are (in a nutshell) my brother and sister. They're always going at it with each other, Tonya is always telling on them (sometimes when they do nothing wrong) and Drew is very annoying (not like my brother thought; my brother just loves hearing himself talk, Drew just likes stealing Chris' girls). The rest of the cast are no better: Kill-Moves is a schizophrenic hobo who should either be in a homeless shelter or an insane asylum (which ever comes first), Ritsky is a dude who sells stolen material and never goes to jail for it, Jerome is a thief who also never goes to jail, and James is a criminal who should be in juvy. Then there's Ms. Marcello: GOOD GOD, IS SHE ANNOYING!!!! She's racist, she knows she's racist, and she never gets any consequences for it. NEWS FLASH, RACIST TEACHERS ARE ALWAYS REPORTED AND FIRED!!!!! She had every right to be called a bitch in one episode, because that's what she is: a racist, stupid, annoying bitch! What's worse is the fact that this is based off of Chris Rock's childhood, which doesn't add up in the slightest. In reality, Chris grew up in the 70s (not 80s, you pricks), he was pulled from school because of bullying, he had no sister, and his Mom's name is Rosalie. If you're going to make a series based on your childhood, that stay true to the source material; your source material. And even as a series on it's own, it's bad; the characters are unlikable, each episode is torture porn for the main protagonist, and no one (I literally mean no one) does anything about it. Also the jokes are very offensive, very bad, and very poorly executed. The setting is also off; this is suppose to be Bedford Stuy, one of the most dangerous neighborhoods in the country. People don't just rob you, they go as far as to shoot you or stab you or jump you or whatever. Does the show have it's few of them: Greg is tolerable, the judge was okay, and the last episode was sort of good, as it's depicted almost frame for frame on how Chris Rock dropped out of high school and got his GED. But all and all, this series sucks balls; the characters are unlikable, the plot of each episode is the same, and the jokes are offensive and poorly executed. I don't recommend anyone to watch it unless you're someone who'll laugh at anything. That's all I have to say, I hope this series disappears forever one day.moreless

    0 2

  • 8.0

    I like it

    By Raven77, Dec 19, 2013

    Even though this show makes a fw offensive jokes, I think it made up for it with the clever diolauge and the intresting plots. All the charaters are worthy of notice and I think that the show really did its best it could do all the way to the end. Nice job people.

    0 0

  • 8.5

    Amazing

    By IHateNumbers123, Feb 10, 2013

    Great comedy, just don't know how to describe it! :)

    0 2

  • 7.0

    Not so good

    By TeleKoopa, Jan 18, 2013

    I know this is gonna get many dislikes but... Chris is the dumbest in his family. He does anything to look cool (join with delinquents, go to an adult party being only 13, break his own brother's arm, really?). In my opinion the funniest parts are Julius and Rochelle's plots, they're great. However, the show still mentions innapropriate things openly.

    2 3

  • 10

    evrey body hates chris is very funny and really interesting and it is my personal favorite just like the o.c

    By ch4nt3113, Jul 16, 2012

    i love watching evreybody hates chris and it is good that it is based on his life because someone might be a fan of chris rock and they can see how his chilhood used to be . it is an absolute entertaing hour to watch that and absolutly interesting evrey week on sunday i watch that i cant wait to see the next episode why cant it come on evrey day?? but i am glad it dosent come on evrey day because then i might like miss a few episodes so its better to come on once a week plus i cant wait till the next episode comes on and the whole week gets me thinking whats going to happen next???moreless

    3 4

  • 10

    i love it

    By ColinStevens1, Feb 26, 2012

    i think that chris rock did a tremendus job with the show its one of my favorites

    2 2

  • 8.0

    This show is pretty good, but i have a few problems with this show.

    By mnman, Jan 22, 2012

    Everybody Hates Chris is a funny show and i laugh at it, but i have a few problems with it. The only place they show this show is Nick@Nite well sometimes. I don't think they do that anymore. The problems are the bullies at school are mean to Chris and annoying, and basicly everyone hates him, that's he problem i have. The good thinks about the show is the funny Chris Rock and he narrates the show which i find funny. Now he has a brother named Drew Rock, Tanya Rock, and he has parents named Rachelle Rock, and Julius Rock. Now the funniest character would have to be Julius Rock. HE is so funny and he just cracks me up. Chris also has a best friend named Greg who is pretty funny. Overall 8/10.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.0

    actually decent

    By futuramarama, Jun 28, 2011

    the first time i watched this show, i did not like it. But this week they have been having marathons and i enjoy it. a lot of the 80's jokes i probably do not get, but it is still good. the only thing i genuinely do not like is his mother, i don't like the personality nor do i like the actress. But i just ignore her most of the time. This is a pretty funny show and I think if people watched it they may like it. I recommend it. My overall grade is a B+ because as i said, i dislike his mothermoreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    This show cracks me up so much but there are a few problems though

    By tigerdude22, Jun 28, 2011

    "Everybody Hates Chris" is a great show and this show makes me laugh very hard. It isn't my favorite show because of the fact that I have a few problems with this show but it is very enjoyable and just plain hilarious. Also, the hilarious Chris Rock narrates this show about his childhood with Tyler James Williams as teenage Chris Rock. Chris Rock has a brother named Drew Rock, a sister named Tanya Rock, a mother named Rochelle Rock, and a father named Julius Rock. I love Terry Crews and he always cracks me up as Julius Rock (the man who worries about money alot). Chris Rock also has a best friend named Greg Wuliger. There are more characters as well such as Kill Moves, Mr. Omar, Doc, and more. My least favorite character in this show is Tonya. I just despise that girl so much, she always gets whatever she wants from Rochelle and Julius. She loves to get Chris and Drew in trouble especially Chris. She even blames them for her trouble that she causes. She also eavesdrops on the schemes that Chris or Drew are up to and she demands to keep her mouth shut for them. She gets in trouble once in a while which is good but most of the time... she just gets away with everything and I hate her so much for that. Tonya is one of the problems I have with this show. The other problems is how Chris is being hated so much at school just because Chris is black (to me, that's not funny... that is just being messed up to another race), Caruso beating up Chris, most of the episodes also have cruddy endings. Overall, I have a few problems with this show that can improve so much more but the humor in this show is absolutely excellent and makes me laugh very hard. 8/10moreless

    0 0

  • 5.3

    I'd watch this if I had nothing else to watch, or do.

    By ellearr, Apr 28, 2011

    As someone who loves Chris rock, this turned out to be one huge disappointment. It just wasn't funny. I watched around three episodes until I decided to stop. I wanted to give it a chance since I thought Chris Rock was one great comedian, but the whole time I was watching the show, I never burst into laughter like the way I do with Chris Rock's other shows/movies. I know it's supposed to be different because this shows Chris Rock's childhood, but I was expecting even just a little amount of humor, which I didn't get. It's sad how one amazing comedian didn't follow through with his own show.moreless

    0 9

Load More Reviews