Back to the Pilot

Episode Reviews (17)

Good
278 votes
7.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 3.5

    One slight step in a very wrong direction...

    By daniel_millar93, May 06, 2013

    The first thing I should mention about this episode is that it's not necessarily a bad one in terms of the overall plot. In fact, the way it's laid out is pretty diverse and quite clever in parts. So why the poor rating you ask? It all comes down to the 9/11 humor contained within. Basically what this episode is doing is insulting each and every person who died in a way that has become standard with this show over the years. There is absolutely no way they should have taken it to that degree and I shudder at how those people would react to something like this. I am also aware of the fact that the show's creator had a close call with that same event. I'm not saying flat out that the episode itself was wrong, but the humor sure was...moreless

    0 9

  • 10

    family guy road to the pilot

    By joekabyemela, Jun 16, 2012

    Fantastic absolutely fantasic this episode was great i loved it so much they go back to the first episode of family guy to find Brian's tennis ball and i liked it when they looked inside the house and they did a cutaway and they just stood there making Brian and Stewie worried they're like i know we shouldn't alter the past but should we call an ambulance. Very clever and funny episode i recommend this episode to all fans of the showmoreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Awesome episode

    By fsaenz0125, Apr 18, 2012

    Brian and Stewie travel back in time to the very first episode of the series. Although season 10 had been enjoyable, this may be on the best episode for the season. Brian and Stewie going back in time was very interesting. There are are parts I laughed like the dog saying "Son of a b***" after Brian not to tell any dog, the Griffins just standing there (because they are making a cutaway), Brian and Stewie almost got crashed by the blimp, the Kool Aid Guy's appearance, Brian and Stewie going to the future to found out the animation is clay like, Joe shooting Quagmire, Brian and Stewie kept traveling in 1999, and the ending (and a few more as well). Overall, an excellent episode. 10/10moreless

    3 0

  • 9.5

    This was Great.

    By JasonPeter1, Mar 06, 2012

    I thought 'Back to the Pilot' was one of the best episodes since 'Road To the Multiverse' the cutaways were short, the mistakes Brian and Stewie saw from the pilot were funny as like Peter's eye going over his nose and what they used to do during a cutaway when the Griffins were off screen. Brian's amateur footage preventing 9/11 was pretty damn funny considering he was using information that nobody knew at the time. Bush losing in 2004 with no 9/11 leading to another civil war was also pretty funny even though it killed 17 million people mostly through a series of concentrated nuclear strikes all along the Eastern seaboard ( Most likely a reference to the Hiroshima and Nagasaki nuclear bombings). But the most hysterical part was where alot of Brian and Stewie's show up from the future and a Peter because he was looking for the can. The only thing that dragged down my vote slightly was most parts of the episode wasn't HD but still I enjoyed the episode.moreless

    4 2

  • 9.0

    Good quirky, time travelling episode featuring Brian and Stewie.

    By kelv1969, Dec 05, 2011

    The only problem I have with it is, if they travel in time to 1999, when the first episode took place, how is it they haven't aged in the years since? Stewie is still a baby, 12 years on and Brian should be dead of old age. Weird.



    I like these Brian-Stewie episodes and think that Seth should have done a Stewie and Brian spin-off series rather than the Cleveland Show. It could have been a rival for Futurama

    3 2

  • 10

    Amazing episode!!!

    By PNest, Dec 05, 2011

    When Brian approaches Stewie about helping him find a tennis ball he'd buried, Stewie asks if Brian remembers the date that he lost it. Brian tells him that he buried it on January 31, 1999 (the day that the first episode of the series originally aired). Using Stewie's time machine to travel back to that date, the two soon come upon the Griffin family, but notice that their past looks more strange than they remembered it: The family continually pauses for cutaways, and Meg's voice sounds different. Telling Brian that he mustn't alter the past by getting the tennis ball and that he should instead memorize its location, Stewie goes into his room to set up their return to the present before Past Stewie suddenly enters. The two Stewies then meet, and Stewie tells Brian to come out from his hiding place after explaining himself to Past Stewie. However, Brian fell onto to Past Peter's car as he drives to the bachelor party at past Glenn Quagmire's house. Stewie finds Brian and the two then attempt to return to the present, but find that the transportation device's batteries are running low and moved only a bit forward in time. Later, the two manage to take advantage of Peter dumping his extra welfare money out of a blimp above Super Bowl XXXIII to collect the money needed to purchase new batteries. It was only after the two return to the present that Stewie learns that Brian told his past self about the September 11 attacks ahead of time, allowing Past Brian to stop the event and alter the timeline as a result.

    While watching the local news, it is also discovered that former President George W. Bush, who has lost the 2004 election, has returned to Texas and seceded from the United States, along with the rest of the southern United States, resulting in a second Civil War. Brian insists that things will still be better in the end, but when they travel five years into the future they find a computer generated post-apocalyptic future caused by nuclear attacks all across the United States. Admitting that he made a mistake, Brian asks how the situation can be resolved. The two then return to prevent Brian from telling his past self about the attacks. They then return to the present, whereupon Stewie learns that Brian has taken credit for the Harry Potter series, and they seek to repair this by again trying to prevent themselves from telling any future events. This causes hundreds of Stewies and Brians to appear, however, to prevent them from telling the future. Having had enough of this, one Stewie tells his numerous future selves to take their respective Brians and return to their time. From there, Stewie takes Brian back a minute before their past selves arrive and forces them to return to their time. With that, the altered timeline ceases to exist along with its corresponding Stewie and Brian.'



    this was a amazing time traveling episode!

    everything about this episode was great!moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Very funny and creative...the best of season 10 so far!

    By marebear2009, Nov 28, 2011

    I thought this was an excellent episode, and it's my favorite of season 10 so far. First of all, the storyline was probably the most original thing I've seen on the show. It was awesome to see Brian and Stewie travel back to the very first episode, and the comments they made about Meg's voice sounding different, Stewie looking different, etc, were hilarious. The Kool-aid man's part in this episode, Brian writing the Harry Potter books, Cookie Monster, and the terrorists' attempt to attack St. Louis were also hilarious. The most clever scene to me, though, was when we see what the characters actually do when there are cutaways being shown (which, as it turns out, is absolutely nothing. Lol!). The 3D animation was also awesome to look at, and Joe as a cyborg and Quagmire as a frog were pretty funny. The ending was good, too. So, overall, this is my favorite episode of the season so far, and my overall grade for this episode will definitely be an A+! Marebear2009, out!



    ~dedicated to tigerdude22~moreless

    1 0

  • 7.0

    This was great. It was much better than Stewie goes for a Drive and much better than Road to the North Pole. But there is one thing that is preventing me from giving it a 10. Here it is. Brian

    By thundercat2000, Nov 24, 2011

    Brian shows Stewie a tennis ball he found that he had great memories with. Stewie takes him back in time to the original site where it was buried. They noticed that the house is much differant and sees the family but they looked differant. They've traveled back to 1999. The batteries in Stewies' time machine ran out and on the way back they relived some past events like the super bowl and Peter in court. They managed to get back but they altered the past.

    I enjoyed this. It was another road to episode but it was a relief from last weeks' episode. Stewie was smarter in this one and I want the evil, smart Stewie. back. It was fun seeing how the show has evolved from the way it looked back then to now and how they poked fun at it realizing how it changed. I loved it when they returned to the football game and take the money and how Brian had pockets. Seeing The Kool Ade pitcher miss his cue was funny and blames Brian and Stewie. Seeing so many Brians and Stewies coming back to warn each other gave me a headache at first but I laughed when they came back in differant forms. Seeing them in barber shop poles was funny and I loved when Stewie got a double D chest. The same for a dead Brian.

    Now here is why I gave it a 7. Brian was a big douche. He warned the Brian from 1999 about 9/11. He was on the plane and filmed himself stopping the terrorists while saying catchphrases like an 80s action hero. He also took all the glory and also for writing the Harry Potter books. He was very selfish and the old Brian would never do this. I know it was tragic but the old Brian would have just respected those who have died and never forget what happened. He should have also write his own novels instead of stealing another persons' ideas. This was not the Brian I know and old is dead. RIP.

    Overall, this was a great episode. Much better than Road to the North Pole but I wish they would make them simpler again like Road to Rhode Island. Now I wish Stewie would get smart again and stay that way.

    moreless

    4 3

  • 10

    Family Guy is Back?

    By giggidygoo88, Nov 22, 2011

    I was looking back on previous ratings on episodes and this particular episode has the highest rating out of all episodes. I in fact agree. This was a great Episode. Family Guy has been on a bit of a slump but maybe this episode brought it back to life!!!!!!!!

    6 1

  • 10

    What's the *&*#$?

    By MrSneer, Nov 22, 2011

    Now here, finally, we have a well-written episode. It jumps right to the story, and doesn't hit any snags along the way. I've griped about horrible momentum in the past, but this episode nailed it. There wasn't a moment where you could tell they'd run out of ideas... the writers were very creative with this concept, and for once I say, Good Work!

    I had to laugh at observations directed at Peter and his nameless buddies from the pilot. There were a lot of good jokes in this episode, which is very odd, considering Family Guy hasn't been funny in ages. I never thought I'd write a good review to be honest. I guess even old Cyril Sneer knows when he sees a good thing.

    So I'm telling you, if you're as cynical as I am when it comes to Family Guy, give this episode a go.moreless

    5 0

Load More Reviews