I Dream of Jesus

Episode Reviews (51)

Good
511 votes
7.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.0

    Surfin' Bird is awesome, but no thanks for the Jesus part

    By French_Paul_1988, Nov 27, 2014

    The Surfin' Bird running gag was awesome, but the plot with Jesus afterwards was quite boring. Still a good grade (8/10) just for the best running gag in FG.

    0 0

  • 8.5

    When everybody says the bird is the word!

    By NatT96, Nov 21, 2013

    A classic still talked nostalgic episode from 2008.

    3 0

  • 10

    FUNNIEST EPISODE!

    By therealdeal, Nov 11, 2012

    I love this episode. I usually hate repetitive jokes, but somehow they made it work! Christian people, stop being so sensitive and laugh at your own religion once in a while. I'm Jewish and I found the episode Family Goy hilarious. LONG LIVE FAMILY GUY!!!!!!!!!

    6 0

  • 4.0

    Jesus and a bird and a yeti.

    By Thenostekh, Sep 22, 2012

    A tad nonsensical (as is expected from Family Guy) and the premise doesn't really conclude that well. But props for giving The Cramps another ten seconds of fame.



    As for the whole Jesus thing...he was characterised poorly and the jokes surrounding him were a little trite and stupid.



    Fun on a drunken night regardless. :)

    1 2

  • 6.0

    Once again, a boring ep of Family Guy

    By fsaenz0125, Jun 24, 2012

    When Peter becomes completely obsessed with "Surfin' Bird", a 1963 hit song from the Trashmen, Brian and Stewie are determined to destroy every last copy of it. When Peter goes searching every record store in Quahog for it, he runs into Jesus, who decides to make his second coming. This episode was a little better than the season opener but it is still boring. I did liked the Surfing Bird gag, that was funny to watch, but it is not the funniest running gag. Other funny parts are Stewie putting the gun to his nose, Brian and Stewie destroy the CD, Peter finding Jesus, Lois' breasts grow and Brian's reaction (freakin' random), the cow going "Whoo, I'm in Hollywood," the ending, and a couple more parts. Overall 6/10moreless

    2 3

  • 1.0

    ATROCIOUS. Their was no real premise, and portraying Christ in this fashion is totally out of line. As if Jesus was immature, right, like he would have died a sacrificial death if he was. McFarlane says "I'm irreverent, that makes me funny". Disappointing

    By edgesitter, Jan 21, 2012

    THIS WAS ATROCIOUS. Their was no real premise, and portraying Christ in this fashion is totally out of line. As if Jesus was immature, right, like he would have died a sacrificial death if he wasn't. The only funny section was the "Office Space" reference. Seth McFarlane should give up now. Rather than being inventive and funny he relies on disgusting people to show how "nonconformist" and "edgy" he is. As if anybody cares about what he thinks, when he clearly produces such crap. I hope that the rest of this season isn't some ridiculous shock fest that is void of any real humor. Distasteful to say the least.moreless

    20 20

  • 2.0

    Great idea, but an awful execution once again proves Seth's lack of creativity in this show.

    By That_TV_Dude, Jan 01, 2012

    It's amazing how Seth can be able to turn a good idea of an episode so bad in so little time. When I saw promos for this episode it looked like an amazing episode, but sadly it was all hyped up with very little substance. In this episode of Family Guy, the Griffins go to a 50s style restaurant and while eating Peter hears his favorite song, Surfing Bird. He goes on a dance montage, and after being able to take the record home he plays it all the time, sings it, and makes jokes about it that leads to him singing it. Now it was funny the first couple of times, but it got irritating fast and lost it's humor. To make things worse this episode uses this joke for the first 10 minutes of this show, that's almost half an episode right there. Stewie and Brian decide to take the record and destroy it in an Office Space reference joke that was pretty good. Peter decides to go find a new record of Surfing Bird, and in one record store finds Jesus Christ himself. Now you would think that this would be an excellent plot device. Peter meeting Jesus Christ and having fun together sounds so great, but Seth proves again how he can waste such a good plot idea. Peter and Jesus decide to hang out together and eventually word is spread of Jesus' return and Jesus hangs out more with celebrities instead of Peter. Now I can understand that they wanted to portray Jesus as a flawed person, but honestly this was such a poor attempt to make him one. I will admit I am a Christian and I can fund religious jokes funny, but how this episode portrays Jesus Christ as a person who abandons his friends for better ones is an awful parody. If Jesus was tempted by like a reincarnation of the Anti-Christ then that would make an excellent use of plot device, but Jesus acting like an uncaring person in most of the episode was dreadful, and unfunny. Eventually Peter finds Jesus in jail and scolds him for his behavior. Jesus understands and decides to leave Earth again knowing that the people aren't ready for him. Why he thinks that when there are so many people who want to see him is beyond me. The episode ends with Peter being granted a gift from Jesus, another record of Surfing Bird and him dancing again. This plot had such good potential in it, but it was such a waste of effort, and shows Family Guy's continuing downfall from grace. The jokes got really old fast, Jesus was portrayed as a jerk instead of a kind man, and the episode relied too much on the Surfing Bird gag. I know several friends who saw this episode and some were Atheists and even they said that the way Jesus was portrayed was awful. Hopefully Seth will never try something like this ever again, and you are advised to steer clear of this episode.moreless

    5 6

  • 1.0

    This is just plain boring

    By jmbsonic555, Oct 10, 2011

    When Peter becomes completely obsessed with "Surfin' Bird", a 1963 hit song from the Trashmen, Brian and Stewie are determined to destroy every last copy of it. When Peter goes searching every record store in Quahog for it, he runs into Jesus, who decides to make his second coming.



    This has to be one of the worst episode of family guy, please avoid this episode.



    1/10

    1 2

  • 2.0

    Started funny, became terrible

    By Southparkfa, Sep 04, 2011

    In this episode of Family Guy, the Griffins go out to dinner at a 50's diner, and while there Peter's all-time favorite song, Surfin Bird by the Trashmen, plays and he loves it, and he eventually gets the copy of it. Excluding many of the bad racist and handicapped jokes at the diner, I actually enjoyed the Surfin Bird jokes, I found pretty funny. What I didn't find funny was everything after Peter meets Jesus at a record store. I'm Christian and usually I don't let religious jokes get to me, but when half the episode is about jesus becoming a total jerk, it's very hard for me to laugh at it. I will say though I liked the very end when Peter got another copy of Surfin Bird from Jesus. Overall, I liked the premise of Surfin Bird and Peter's obssesion with it, but the deciption of Jesus ruined the rest of it for me. One of the worsts for sure. 2/10 F------------------moreless

    2 3

  • 5.0

    A mediocre "Family Guy" episode of Season 7

    By tigerdude22, Jun 07, 2011

    I didn't think that this episode was that great. This episode actually started out good but then this episode just got weaker as it went along. I thought that song "Surfin' Bird" that Peter just kept on playing and singing was so annoying and it seemed like it just went on forever. I mean I like to hear "Surfin' Bird" from Peter rather than the band Trashmen who sang it because it was horrible but the "Surfin' Bird" song actually sounds better when Peter sings it. It was funny the first 2-3 minutes Peter sang the "Surfin' Bird" song but then it just got plain annoying. I'm a catholic person so I didn't like the fact that Peter actually met Jesus at the record store but I'm not letting him get in the way even though it's mainly why my score is so low. That's what I don't like about Seth MacFarlane sometimes... he makes an episode that deals with religion or at least has a symbol of religion. Mayor West's cameo appearance was also hilarious. I thought it was hilarious when Brian and Stewie bought all of the "Surfin' Bird" records at the store so Peter won't play it. It was pretty funny when Peter requested Jesus that he would make Lois' boobs larger. Jesus also making his appearance on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno and MTV Movie Awards was very funny. The parts that really dragged was when everyone was wondering if Jesus really is Jesus Christ and he does it by giving everyone at the table sundaes, Jesus neglecting Peter's friendship with him wasn't good at all, and Jesus being found in Mary-Kate Olsen's apartments. I really hated that the writers portrayed Jesus Christ as an immature man which he isn't in real life so that's offended me. The ending was hilarious when Peter sang the song "Surfin' Bird" (AGAIN) even though I was annoyed enough by it in the beginning of the episode. Anyways, the way the writers portrayed Jesus Christ was unexceptable. Overall, this episode was just mediocre and I hope Seth MacFarlane makes better episodes than this and stop using religion that would offend people like me besides some of the funny moments that were in this episode. 5/10



    Note: marebear2009 requested me to review this episode.moreless

    2 1

Load More Reviews