Family Ties

Show Reviews (31)

Great
839 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Ahead of its time

    By edwinacewongkaren, Dec 11, 2013

    I was watching it again through online streaming this past two weeks having a bit of Marathon, I watched it back in Indonesia in 1985 when it aired there but only started watching them from season 2 onwards at the time (coz I only knew Steven with the beard haha) anyways when I finally caught up with season 1, I though that the show was even better in the first season, it dealt with heavy materials that at the time maybe was "taboo" , political, sex, emancipation, alcoholism, corporate greed etc and those stuff that back then was not normally aired on public TV, and the materials that was being showcased still resonates to this decade . At the time when I watched it though I was 8 years old at the time I only knew the show as a family show. Now re-watching it I realized that the show was so much more than that and made me love this show even more. I hope that they would air this show on prime-time re-runs so that the today's generation could learn a lot because like I said Family Ties was ahead of its timesmoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    definitely gonna watch this show all over again!

    By MikeLynch, Feb 08, 2013

    Family Ties' is a wonderful show and it's one my top three favorite TV shows of all time. The whole actors and crew are great! Very good script and it's pretty hilarious and truly enjoyable in the half hour of air time. The story is fast moving and very entertaining. Eventhough it's almost more than 2 decades old, it can still be classified as one of the best comedy show aired in the television history. I remember I purchased a copy at . Thought I got scammed because it was exactly 2 weeks and my order didn't arrived. Well, the company showed honesty and said that my product was mishandled. They still delivered that product and I was happy to see that the package came in excellent condition. The quality is superlative. Now I enjoy watching Michael J Fox again! Lol Each episode of this show turned out to be great because of the good comedy! Simply love it!moreless

    0 0

  • 7.0

    I miss this show!

    By Sian88, Jan 13, 2012

    Please someone bring it back w I have so many memories watching it with my little brother

    0 0

  • 10

    perfect

    By futuramarama, Jul 22, 2011

    I started watching this on the Hub network, and this is great. Michael J. Fox is great as Alex Keaton, Michael Gross is great as patriarch Steven Keaton, and of course, the female actresses (Meredith Baxter-Birney, Justine Bateman, and Tina Yothers) are great too. The plots, for the most part, are relatable to those watching and many episodes are very funny. All the characters are good and none really annoy me. Classic TV Show right here.

    0 0

  • 10

    The one "family comedy" teenagers would actually like to watch.

    By VaMpIrEsSuCk, May 10, 2011

    Family Ties is such a funny show! I've it since I saw reruns when I was six or seven and I still like watching now that I'm a teenager. Of the "family classics" my parents talk about, family ties is one of the few I actually like It deals with real-life situations that regular teenagers face on an everyday basis, but puts a hilarious twist on it. Between Mallory, Alex, and Jennifer, the audience really connects with their personalities. It is a must-see for all ages, anf families. Definitely one of my all time favorite shows to watch with family and friends.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Without a doubt, one of the best television sitcoms of the 1980s which made the entire cast household names and launched Michael J. Fox into superstardom.

    By Lady_Lancaster, May 10, 2011

    The Keaton family, Steven,(Michael Gross) Elyse, (Meredith Baxter Birney) Alex, (Michael J. Fox) Mallory, (Justine Bateman) Jennifer (Tina Yothers) and Andrew (Brian Bonsall) became one of the best known and best-loved television families when their show began airing on 22nd September, 1982. Reminiscent of a 50s family in an 80s setting, the Keatons were a typical American family who had more than their fair share of ups and downs, most of them hilarious to the point of being side-splitting.



    Perfect comic timing and excellent writing as well as a string of talented regulars and guest stars such as Courtney Cox Arquette, Scott Valentine, Tom Hanks and Mark Price, kept the laughs coming from the first till the last episode. Michael J. Fox launced a highly impressive movie and television career after amassing a huge following among the show's loyal viewers. The names of Alex, Mallory and Jennifer were familiar to an entire generation of viewers and now, with the seasons moving to DVD, the show can be enjoyed all over again by old fans as well as grabbing a whole bunch of new ones! If you like good, clean, hilarious family fun, then "Family Ties" is a must-see series.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.1

    Actually, a wonderful show.

    By ktfahel, Nov 13, 2007

    "Family Ties" was my brother's favorite show while he was growing up. He would go off and play while "The Cosby Show" was on, but come running at 8:30 to watch Michael J. Fox & company. He never missed an episode.



    I am writing this instead of him because he suffered from severe depression, and committed suicide. "Family Ties" and MJF were some of the few things that brightened up his otherwise dark life. (Side note: "Back to the Future", which I took my brother to see for his 13th birthday, was the ONLY movie to ever make him laugh out loud, and for that I will forever thank Robert Zemeckis and MJF.)



    The show was different from anything else on TV at the time or since. The chemistry between the stars was wonderful; the writing was spot-on. I still enjoy watching any reruns that are aired. My favorite episode will always be "A, My Name is Alex".moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    This show was great, back when shows had meaning, they didn't try to force a view down your throat in fact they had different views and mocked them all.

    By kevinb4444, Mar 02, 2007

    I think this show was one of those like the Cosby show were there was always a lesson involved, but it still was good anyways because the jokes were funny for the time, and actors were also good. I said before they made fun of different views and tried to show the good of different views as well. The characters did that anyways, I can't say that about the actors in real life. It was a typical 80's primetime sit-com, it was good for the whole family and was entertaining to watch. They also had some episodes that were a bit more serious, and they were just as good as the regular episodes.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    American family teaches America how to be an American family

    By twilightboy, Dec 21, 2006

    Another show that i find magical, special, unique, off the wall. All these, make this show such an amazing piece of art. The stories are always so simple, yet so moving and powerful, i could relate to Alex and his love for money and this was another reason to watch, i think we became one in some kind of crazy way. If i could encompass the show in just one word that would have to be "Love", you could feel these people were really in love with each other and it showed through the screen. Great clean fun for the family unlike most of todays sitcoms.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews