Fear Itself

Show Reviews (22)

Good
514 votes
7.9
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    every episode is a new and different horror movie.which is great b/c it dont end on a cliffhanger.

    By jack756, Aug 08, 2011

    the show as great acting.



    the show even has good writing.



    the horror in each episode is amazing.



    someone people complain about this show,but i think the show is very good.



    this is the type of show on a dark,boring or rainy night you pop this in.and you enjoy what u see.



    the only problem is some eps are better than others.



    other than that this show rocks.



    its a shame it only lasted 1 season.

    0 0

  • 8.5

    Not a great show but certainly worth the weekly summer dose of horror on tv it promised. Each week we were treated to horror from a different directors and expectedly we got different results each week.

    By danharr, Oct 07, 2009

    Not a great show but certainly worth the weekly summer dose of horror on tv it promised. Each week we were treated to horror from a different directors and expectedly we got different results each week. I would advise one to judge this show on the basis of being one of the few horror outlets on network tv. For me with the limited resources and content flexibility they had to work with they came up with some real gems. The program also showcased some of tv's best and brightest actors who always brought a great performance to sometimes lack luster stories. As a summer show I think this would've been great and a lot better than reruns or reality tv.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.0

    It exploits our fears.

    By xSarah_Jane, Jan 29, 2009

    Fear Itself is a great show. It always leaves me questioning my own outcomes. I find that more often than not, I'm wrong about something in the show. I love it! I like the suspense and the horror in every episode. I love how we see many of our fears played out in front of our eyes. This isn't another show that centers around one supernatural being -- it ties in many of them. I just started to watch episode eight, and I'm really upset that it's on haitus. I really hope that it comes back.



    I personally love Family Man, and New Year's Day.moreless

    1 0

  • 7.0

    Show is somewhat decent, only because I enjoyed very few of the episodes from the whole season.

    By chris17blue, Jan 25, 2009

    Well, most of the episodes were predictable and some were just plain bad. A few of the bad ones (very bad) were "In Sickness and in Health" (acting was horrible), "Community" (WHAT??? This episode was so bad, the story, the characters, absolutely everything), and "Something With Bite"(I think this one was worst out of them all, and thats politely putting it into words). Some of the ones I actually enjoyed were "Skin and Bones", "Echoes" and "Family Man". "Skin and Bones" was very scary; I absolutely loved it. "Echoes" and "Family Man" tell incredible stories with an amazing end.



    In conclusion, some were good and some were bad, but overall a decent show.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.5

    Better than watching a 2-hour long horror bust.

    By bluejayfusion, Jan 12, 2009

    Fun show which crams fairly intricate stories into a short format- much is more satisfying than watching a full horror film only to determine it was mindless after its over. production values are impressive, the writing is decent and they actually use noteworthy directors (Mary Harron, John Landis) and some memorable actors (Brandon Routh, Rachel Miner. I am happy to hear that even after NBC dropped it, that FEARnet picked it up and is apparently making new episodes. I didn't expect it to hold my attention; was pissed that instead of free on-demand movies, I was getting some anthology show, but I've been pleasantly surprised.moreless

    1 0

  • 6.5

    Just meh.

    By DiIer, Nov 11, 2008

    I first got to watch it at my friends house then he told me to watch the rest of the episodes, he said it was a good show. I said that I would give it a try but after watching all the episodes I must say the show is... average. Yes there were some scary moments and unexpected plot twists but that is just not the thing I was looking for. It becomes quite predictable and for a long run it would be boring. One episode that was absolutely spectacular was the New Year's one. Very unpredictable. But all in all not scary and predictable, however it is a show to kill some time. So if you don't have anything to do, watch it if you want.moreless

    2 1

  • 7.0

    So, the formula for this series is old and well knwon: a collection of stand-alone horror/thriller stories, casting mostly guest starts and authors. Shows like "Fear Itself" have always been present on TV since Rod Serling's original "The Twilight Zone"..

    By BillieBJones, Aug 21, 2008

    ...back in the 60's. Many tried but didn't succeed to achieve as much success as it's pioneer. Other shows that followed that same line were The Outher Limits, Amazing Stories (both, as The Twilight Zone, picked for a "remake" recently), Night Visions, Night Gallery (also Serling's spawn). So you know exactly what to expect from "Fear Itself". It's far from being the best of it's kind, but it's decent enough to keep it's reputation. Another point is: with this kind of show it's always the matter of love it or hate it, there's no middle term most of the times, that's why the reviews are so unlike. So, in case you're not a tiny bit keen on spooky stories about death, fear, evil or the supernatural, stay away from this! The best stories are those where fear plays the main part, while the supernatural element, however unbelievable, is merely a tool or metaphor to it. That can be a really tough task, and Fear Itself achieves it in some moments, like the excelent "Family Man" (the best amongst the 8 episodes aired so far), and "Spooked"; while it proves itself a total failure in other episodes, like the trashy b-esque "Eater", or the decent but bland "In sickness and in health". But to know why you have to see for yourself, it's worth it and it won't hurt (it will in the most scare you)...moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Anyone who's seen the episode "Skin and Bones" and didn't get a chill must not have a pulse.

    By Taig, Aug 18, 2008

    Fear Itself is great stuff! Some episodes are better than others but that's true of any series. I just wish we had more horror series like this on TV. There seems to be a fairly wide range of directorial and writing styles (and even acting abilities and experience) in comparing episodes, but that's certainly not a problem for me. And Fear Itself has plenty of style.



    In my humble opinion, foibles not withstanding, Fear Itself can take its rightful place with Twilight Zone, Night Gallery, Outer Limits, Night Visions, Supernatural, etc. as some of the best the horror genre has to offer.moreless

    3 0

  • 6.9

    A tv series that shows common horrors that we've probably have all seen.

    By josiahb1791, Aug 07, 2008

    In my opinion, this show is great, but then, it's a total flop. Most of the plots are taken from common problems in horror shows. The occasional famous actor is nice to see here and there, but other then that it doesn't deliver quite as i would like. The commercials set the mood off and it takes awhile to get back into the show after watching a happy Tide commercial. I will say that sometimes, I do get somewhat frightened, but it's still not "new". I would like to see that there is less commercials and more new ideas to go with.moreless

    1 0

  • 7.3

    Fear Itself, but I do not fear it.

    By number48, Aug 01, 2008

    I figured that Fear Itself would have some flaws but I also decided to give it a chance because it is a horror anthology series created from the mind that created Masters of Horror. MY response to Fear Itself is a mixed perspective whereas I praise its attempt to reach out and become a horror classic but criticize its decline in attention-grabbing detail. So far, the show has been at an up and down rate of good and bad parts but I figure that I'll continue to give it a chance and at least see it through to the end. After all, there were a few winners in the mix. I just hope there are more.moreless

    0 1

Load More Reviews