Fraggle Rock

Show Reviews (34)

Great
742 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    "Dance Your Cares Away...Down At Fraggle Rock!"

    By WWinnieF, Dec 03, 2010

    Somewhere in the world, there was a workshop owned by a kindly, yet absent-minded inventor named Doc.



    As Doc tinkered with his experiments, his dog, Sprocket, stumbled upon a hole in the wall.



    Past that hole lied an underground slew of caves, tunnels, and collumns, and who else lived in those places but the Fraggles and the Doozers.



    The Doozers were small, green-skinned creatures who loved to work on building their little intricate structures (made from grounded radishes), whilst the Fraggles--who loved to eat Doozer constructions--enjoyed life by dancing and singing. The world of Fraggle Rock was intertwined with not only the surface world--which the Fraggles called "Outer Space"--but also with an outside kingdom manned by giant furry beings called Gorgs, of which there were three...the father and king, the mother and queen, and Fraggle-hunting Junior Gorg, the heir to the Fraggle throne.



    Along with Fraggles, Doozers, and Gorgs lived a wise compost of trash called Majorie, the all-knowing and all-seeing Trash Heap. She would give the Fraggles--and even Junior Gorg--advice on how to solve the problems the creatures often came across, but in the end, the best advice of all that she gave was also what Cantus the minstrel said earlier in that "We're a part of everything and everything is a part of us", once again acknowledging the intertwined relationships of all the species in the show.



    Along with Jim Henson's ingenius, it was that intertwined relationship--and the even smaller intricate relationships between the main five Fraggles (leaderly Gobo, adventurous Red, artistic Mokey, indecisive Wembley, and worrysome Boober)--that gave the show a magic that no one could truly leave, because it was a kind of worldly magic that connected not only the creatures in the show, but the performers themselves and the many fans who learned life lessons from what the show had to bring.moreless

    4 0

  • 9.1

    Who misses Jim Henson? I do.

    By Inbredpoet, Oct 26, 2010

    While I was thinking about this review, I first thought I should argue for the bringing it back argument. Then I thought about it longer and realized that sadly Jim Henson is dead. His son is doing quite well carrying his legacy, but Jim is the genius that made these puppets come to life. Without Jim it would be a faint shadow of it's former self.

    I love this show, it was all the happy, caring, loving, kids based programming that you still have today, but with more fun and some actual imagination thrown in. With Fraggle Rock you were always looking forward to what the story was today, and who was going to be the key player. (I remember my sister and I actually leaving if our favorites weren't in the episode (can you imagine kids today leaving the TV?) So much better than TV today, I'm not nostalgic, I just think that Fraggle Rock was funnier and more intelligent than what gets produced today. Bring Back Fraggle Rock, but just as reruns so todays children can enjoy good tv.moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    Even if you're born after fraggle-mania hit like I was, that doesn't mean you can't appreciate fine works like this!

    By Soulwoman, Nov 20, 2008

    Everyone nowadays knows about the famous Jim Henson muppets (Kermit, Piggy, Fozzie) or at the very least knows Sesame street. But the third king in the muppet franchise would definetely be Fraggle Rock. With all the episodes finally on DVD and an upcoming movie, this series is a must see. With classic characters like Wembley and Boober and the beloved voices of muppeteers Richard Hunt and Jim Henson one can't help but watch. The music is wonderful with special messages like "Pass it On" or "Children of Tomorrow" the list can go on! It also introduces some very special muppeteers to main roles including Kathy, Karen, and Steve! As I type this I can't help but think what it must have been like to live during the time of a muppet-mastermind like Richard or Jim!moreless

    2 0

  • 9.4

    "Dance your cares away. Worries for another day. Let the music play. Down at Fraggle Rock!"

    By wwfpooh, Feb 24, 2008

    Somewhere in the world, there was a workshop owned by a kindly, yet absent-minded inventor named Doc.



    As Doc tinkered with his experiments, his dog, Sprocket, stumbled upon a hole in the wall.



    Past that hole lied an underground slew of caves, tunnels, and collumns, and who else lived in those places but the Fraggles and the Doozers.



    The Doozers were small, green-skinned creatures who loved to work on building their little intricate structures (made from grounded radishes), whilst the Fraggles--who loved to eat Doozer constructions--enjoyed life by dancing and singing. The world of Fraggle Rock was intertwined with not only the surface world--which the Fraggles called "Outer Space"--but also with an outside kingdom manned by giant furry beings called Gorgs, of which there were three...the father and king, the mother and queen, and Fraggle-hunting Junior Gorg, the heir to the Fraggle throne.



    Along with Fraggles, Doozers, and Gorgs lived a wise compost of trash called Majorie, the all-knowing and all-seeing Trash Heap. She would give the Fraggles--and even Junior Gorg--advice on how to solve the problems the creatures often came across, but in the end, the best advice of all that she gave was also what Cantus the minstrel said earlier in that "We're a part of everything and everything is a part of us", once again acknowledging the intertwined relationships of all the species in the show.



    Along with Jim Henson's ingenius, it was that intertwined relationship--and the even smaller intricate relationships between the main five Fraggles (leaderly Gobo, adventurous Red, artistic Mokey, indecisive Wembley, and worrysome Boober)--that gave the show a magic that no one could truly leave, because it was a kind of worldly magic that connected not only the creatures in the show, but the performers themselves and the many fans who learned life lessons from what the show had to bring.



    Therefore, as Majorie--the Trash Heap--once said, "We cannot leave the magic": http://www.gosdin.net/rebound/fraggle/magic%20+final%20fraggle%20rock.mp3moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    one word: awesome!!!!

    By shiasfiya, Aug 28, 2007

    i used to watch this when i was little and i loved it then i saw it on the internet and immediately recognized it. the theme song was so fun and awesome. i miss a lot of these old shows i used to watch. now theyreall gone they made up the better years of my life and they can do the same for someone else. as we all know this is a jimhenson show containing puppets and it definately kept the tradition alive. the 80s come back everywhere else why not on tv? im sure a lot of people agree. with memoreless

    1 0

  • 9.8

    Puppets underground with human interaction from the lighthouse.

    By iamthelexx, Jun 29, 2007

    This series was in two styles, firstly, and best was the puppets, with Sprockett the Dog also a puppet, with humans who live in the lighthouse. Then came along the cartoon, which was unfortunate as this is when the series began to fail. The series concentrated on Gobo Fraggle, and his life in the caves with his friends, getting into scrapes with the ogres on the outside, and the occasional postcard from his uncle Travelling Matt. The fraggles lived on food provided by the Doozers, whose main aim in life was to build for the Fraggles to eat. Funny series, takes me back to my childhood, and can't wait for the movie release.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.8

    i love this show!!

    By Prdmomof3, Feb 16, 2007

    i wish they would bring this one back! even just show reruns of it i loved it as a kid and im pretty sure my kids would love it too. they already love the theme song as i have it on my computer and play it for them Sprocket was hilarious. it sucks when u remember something and you cant show it to your kids. so please please please bring it back and let a new generation of kids learn to love this show!!



    i dont know why its listed under kids shows!! come one you cant tell me that adults didnt love this show!! lolmoreless

    1 0

  • 6.8

    cool, great, fab, bring it back.

    By kittyhitkit, Feb 03, 2007

    this was an absoloute classic, i'd love it to come back on the box. My kids would love it. bring it back pleasssssee. carntt beat fragile rock . I never missed an episode when i was younger and neither did my sister and friends, it was just so in at the time such a classic kids programme. The song was also very catching , bring it back , bring it back preety please. I want my children to watch it as i am sure it would become a favorite of theres also.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Fraggle Rock was one of my favourite shows when I was a kid... and still is!

    By Stick49, Dec 23, 2006

    Anyone at any age can enjoy Fraggle Rock. I especially liked the Doozers, they're so cute and everyone had a favourite Fraggle... mine was Boober, no Wembley... no Gobo, ohhh no it was Red and Mokey. Ahh, who am I kidding they're all great. Now that it's on DVD I get to watch it whenever I want, commercial free. Looking so forward to the movie.

    0 0

Load More Reviews