The One with the Blackout

Episode Reviews (34)

Superb
450 votes
9.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    The Blackout

    By dewgladden, Feb 17, 2013

    Man I wish I was in Chandler's position when it happened I think the Blackout favored him the most he got to spend hours with Jill Goodacre and Ross lost the girl to a Italian guy when he failed to make his move and don't forget about the Cat attacking him to We learn Ross gets kicked out of Disneyland and Phoebe thinks Milwaukee is a weird place This episode proved that Blackouts bring people together

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Great

    By efc91, Jul 31, 2009

    There's a blackout in the city, Chandler gets stuck in an ATM vestibule with Jill Goodacre, and Ross attempts to tell Rachel that he has feelings for her. This was one of the funniest episodes of the first season of Friends. Chandler was brilliant in this one. Rachel was funny with Paulo. Ross was funnier the bit with the cat and where he Joey and Rachel listen for a noise. Joey and Chandler on the phone all good stuff and Mr Heckles made a appearence which was good. I am going to give this episode of Friends a high 9 out of 10moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Awesome.

    By Sarah_LOST, Feb 08, 2009

    During a power outage, Rachel falls for the owner of a lost kitten, a dark, attractive Italian guy. Meanwhile, Chandler is trapped in an automated-teller vestibule with Jill Goodacre. What can I say about this episode? I mean it was awesome, I love every minute of this episode every time I watch it. It's so funny with Chandler trapped in a vestibule with Jill. I love this episode so much, really funny. My favourite parts is when it is Chandler and Jill, when he is thinking of what to do and say, so funny. Some awesome lines and scenes in this episode. I also love when Ross is trying to tell Rachel his feelings for her, it is so cute.moreless

    0 1

  • 10

    Best episode of Season 1!

    By Canogaparkcindy, Aug 18, 2008

    A really good conception, a blackout in New York, a bunch of plots could amazingly fit well in there. Paulo is introduced unfortunately. And Ross admits that he has feelings for Rachel! And it sucks just when he's about to admit it, the cat ruins his life, which is the best scene cause when the gang is singing the Carpenters song & he's being attacked by the cat, hysterical. The subplot with Chandler was amazing, he's trapped in an ATM vestibule with a model named Jill Goodacre. I like how she turned out really nice at the end after Chandler was choking, anyway in my opinion this is the best episode of Season 1, only because so many funny moments happens!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.7

    Chandler: You know, on second thought, gum would be perfection. (Thinking) Gum would be perfection? Gum would be perfection. Could have said, gum would be nice, or, I'll have a stick, but no no no no. For me, gum is perfection. I loathe myself.

    By Sarah_Is_Lost, Aug 15, 2008

    During a power outage, Rachel falls for the owner of a lost kitten, a dark, attractive Italian guy. Meanwhile, Chandler is trapped in an automated-teller vestibule with Jill Goodacre. What can I say about this episode? I mean it was awesome, I love every minute of this episode every time I watch it. It's so funny with Chandler trapped in a vestibule with Jill. I love this episode so much, really funny. My favourite parts is when it is Chandler and Jill, when he is thinking of what to do and say, so funny. Some awesome lines and scenes in this episode. I also love when Ross is trying to tell Rachel his feelings for her, it is so cute.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.8

    "I'm in a automated-teller vestibule with Jill Goodacre"-Chandler Bing.

    By efc1991, Jan 10, 2008

    During a power outage, Rachel falls for the owner of a lost kitten, a dark, attractive Italian guy. Meanwhile, Chandler is trapped in an automated-teller vestibule with a gorgeous model. This is an excellent episode I really liked the first series but many fans of Friends think season one was the weaker season out of the ten, TOWT Blackout was great I loved Ross's story the best part with the cat, I also loved Chandler being trapped, it was perfection LOL it was great when Chandler was on the phone with Joey, This was my best episode of the season closly followed by TOWT Poker.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    One of the best and funniest episodes of the entire series without a doubt. Why? Matthew Perry.

    By gwen13579, Dec 31, 2007

    Matthew Perry proves exactly why Chandler Bing is such a loved and funny character in the show, perhaps the most well-liked character too. I know he's definitely my favorite. Matthew has this rare ability to be either incredibly funny or incredibly serious or incredibly romantic. Whichever one he reverts to, you totally believe him as he plays it.



    The Blackout is a standout episode of Friends, and given that this is such an early episode, and there are 10 years of episodes, this is an amazing achievement. The writing is on absolute top form, in fact it couldn't be better if it tried. So, much credit to the writers (I believe it was the same ones who wrote the Poker episode which was another standout). Includes possibly the funniest quote ever on the show: "On second thought, gum would be perfection."



    The really great thing is the way in which the Chandler scenes are constructed. He's trapped during the blackout in an ATM vestibule with Jill Goodacre, and we hear Matthew's voiceover which reveals his thoughts as Chandler stands around uneasily near this other woman trapped with him. EVERY word that comes out of Chandler's mouth is pure comedy genius. I've never laughed so hard than seeing him in this episode. To add to this, the rest of the gang at Monica's apartment make the episode fantastic too. Whether it be Phoebe playing guitar, or Ross being jealous of Rachel's Italian new man Paolo ... you name it. This is a classic Friends episode.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Considering this is a Season 1 episode, its abosolutely fantastic.

    By SHUCKLEMAN, Oct 13, 2007

    This episode it so funny. Chandler gets locked in a vestibule with Jill Goodacre (a beautiful celebrity) and Monica, Phoebe, Rachel Joey and Ross are all stuck in Monica's appartment due to the blackout. This is a fantastic Ross and Rachel episode. I love it when Ross is trying to tell Rachel what he thinks of her, and the cat jumps on his head whilst the rest of the gang sing 'Top of the World'. I also love Paolo's unfortunate appearence (for Ross anyway) in this episode. The best thing about this episode has to be Chandler locked in the vestibule. It is incredibly funny, hearing his thoughts as he tries to impress Jill. Overall, a fantastic episode, especially considering how early on it is.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    During a power outage, Rachel falls for the owner of a lost kitten, a dark, attractive Italian guy. Meanwhile, Chandler is trapped in an automated-teller vestibule with a gorgeous model. (DVD Summary)

    By cutieflutie1216, Sep 25, 2007

    This episode is Matthew Perry's favorite episode in the series and I can see why. A hilarious idea, the NBC Blackout Thursday was used in every show's plot, but Friends was the best. Although the power outage interrupted our first chance to see Phoebe's show, her funny improvisations throughout the episode more than make up for it. Also, the necessary plot of Rachel falling for someone other than Ross prolonging the start of their relationship was introduced through the Italian Paolo. Last, but certainly not least, is Chandler trapped in an ATM vestibule with Jill Goodacre. Chandler's inner monologue is the funniest part of the entire episode. A series classic.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews