The One with the Fake Monica

Episode Reviews (14)

Great
335 votes
8.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 5.9

    One of the worst episodes of Friends. Some of the clip episodes are better than this!

    By SHUCKLEMAN, May 25, 2011

    Well, this episode isn't actually 'bad', but it's not very good for Friends's standards, but I guess this was season 1.



    Monica's storyline was the worst. It was a creative and intelligent plot, and gave Monica a bit of character development, but seriously, who would discover that someone has stolen their credit card and decide to take tap-dancing lessons with them? The tap-dancing class was the funniest part of the girls' storyline though.



    Joey's storyline was fairly funny. The names were good, and him not knowing who Stallin was almost like seeing the season 5-10 Joey, which is only a good thing of course.



    Ross's storyline was also funny at one or two parts. His farewell to his monkey was done relatively well and I thought the animal-circus guy was very funny.



    Overall, I think only 60% of the episode is worth watching, so I've given it a '6'.moreless

    0 2

  • 9.0

    Awesome.

    By Sarah_LOST, Oct 12, 2010

    When Monica's credit card is stolen, she, along with Phoebe and Rachel, decides to catch the thief, but Monica begins a friendship with her. Joey enlists his friends to help him come up with a less ethnic-sounding stage name. And when Ross finds out that Marcel has reached sexual maturity and needs to be with other monkeys, he tries to get him accepted into the "Harvard of zoos", with an emotional goodbye. I have never really enjoyed this episode mostly because of the person who plays the fake monica, she really annoys me, however I'm still going to give it a nine because no episode from Friends can actually be rated under a nine in my personal opinion. Some funny jokes in this episode which helps it out.moreless

    0 1

  • 7.5

    OKish

    By efc91, Jul 31, 2009

    When Monica's credit card is stolen, she, along with Phoebe and Rachel, decide to catch the thief. Joey enlists his friends to help him come up with a less ethnic-sounding stage name. And when Ross finds out that Marcel has reached sexual maturity and needs to be with other monkeys, he tries to get him accepted into the Harvard of zoos. A quick slump in quality in season one of the show but this was better than the episode it followed. The stage name joke was funny Chandler was great telling Joey to call himself Stalin. I give it a 7.5 out of 10.moreless

    0 1

  • 8.5

    Goodbye Marcel.

    By Canogaparkcindy, May 17, 2009

    Gosh, I think this episode was downright sad. Seeing Marcel leave the show after trying so hard to get him back, it would seem like it was just a whole waste of time in "The One When The Monkey Gets Away" But I guess that is the sad part about it. Seeing Marcel in that cage, that was so sad. The Monica plot line was definitely strange. I like all the tap dancing scenes. Poor Fake Monica had to go to prison. Well now Monana is going to do something with her life. (No that was not a typo) Joey picking a stage name, eh.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    Pretty Good

    By chocoholic411, Mar 01, 2008

    A really good episode, top in season 1. The main people in the episode are Ross and Monica. Monica discovers that someone has been stealing her credit card and her identity and goes on a mission to find out who it is, following them to all the places that have been charged to her credit card. Meanwhile, Ross tried to find a good zoo for Marcel when he finds out that he has reached sexual maturity and can't be kept as a pet anymore. Also, Joey tries to find a less ethnic sounding stage name with some really quite funny consequences.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.6

    I really like THE ONE WITH THE FAKE MONICA

    By nairhart24, Aug 22, 2007

    I really like The One With the Fake Monica



    The One With the Fake Monica is a reason proving exactly why I watch this series, Friends, the best sitcom, in my opinion, to ever be on television (Seinfeld being the second best). This is show is funnier every time you watch it (along with all of the other Friends episodes, except, maybe, the pilot or the clip episodes, I don't really like clip episodes for any series, cause I've already seen everything in it)

    Funny Funny Funny Funny Funny

    Funny Funny Funny Funny Funny

    Yeah, so watch this episode along with all the other ones because it is so

    Funny!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.0

    Very good

    By xkelly123x, Jan 08, 2007

    When Monica's credit card is stolen, she, along with Phoebe and Rachel, decide to catch the thief and go to a tap dancing class hoping to meet her. Joey enlists his friends to help him come up with a less ethnic sounding stage name than Joey and falls for Chandlers suggestion of Joseph Stalin. And when Ross finds out that Marcel has reached sexual maturity and needs to be with other monkeys, he tries to get him accepted into the Harvard of zoos and meets some strange people. Mean while Monica be friends the woman who stole her credit card.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    aw...

    By angel_147, Dec 18, 2006

    Ross finally says bye to Marcel because he has finally reached sexual maturity and needs to be incarcerated with other monkeys. Ross aranges for him to get sent to a zoo.



    Someone is using Monica's card to buy things of there own. She is upset when she realises ' this person is living her life' So she decides that her, rachel and pheobe must go investigating. So she finds this person and goes under the name Monana who is pensalvanian dutch but rather than catching her thief she becomes friends with her. Only problem is eventually she gets put behind bars and Monica is left to go back to her boring life...!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.2

    Another great installment.

    By kellers1543, Sep 30, 2006

    The girls of the group decide to crack down on who is took Monica's credit cards. Joey trys to make everyone come up with a stage name for himself that would be a good one. Ross is forced to try and find Marcel a place for monkeys after he has reached sexual maturity. Ross tries to get him into a zoo like Harvard but has a lot of trouble doing so as it is like Harvard just a zoo form and filled with monkeys not smart young people as the Harvard students are at Harvard yes indeed they are smart.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews