The One with the Prom Video

Episode Reviews (19)

Superb
426 votes
9.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    The resolution to the fallout from Ross's list and one of the top five greatest episodes, IMO. A+ for Ross/Rachel-shippers.

    By tripllle, Nov 17, 2011

    This episode has a STRONG Ross and Rachel story, and keeps the whole cast together. Add some great flashbacks and Fat Monica, and you've got quite an episode here. Plus, we get some great foreshadowing when Phoebe utters one of my favorite lines of the series: "See? He's her lobster!!"



    I like that it's not a flashback in the way that Chandler's Thanksgiving memories are, but rather the whole gang watching an old VHS tape from Monica and Rachel's prom. It adds credibility to the whole thing.



    Other fun things:

    - This one comes after weeks of Ross and Rachel fans reeling from one of the hardest scenes to watch in the series, when Rachel finds Ross's list. "Not Rachem?" The eventual reunion was a long time coming, and it delivered.

    - Chandler's infamous man-bracelet, dubbed "the woman repeller, the eyesore from the Liberace House of Crap, the reject from the Mr. T collection," all while poor Joey was listening.

    - Fat Monica! "The camera adds ten pounds!" "So, how many cameras were actually on you?"

    - 80s hair! (and nose...)moreless

    3 0

  • 9.5

    One of the sweetest episodes in TV history!

    By ArielManto, Nov 17, 2011

    After all the ups and downs with Ross and Rachel's relationship it was very nice to see these two finally get together. We see Rachel and Monica get ready for their Prom dates and at that time, we learn, that Monica was a bit overweight and Rachel hasn't had her nose-job jet. And Ross's hair and moustache completed the ridiculous 80s style.

    But the funniest parts of this episode were delivered by Chandler (as so often) when he tries to get rid of the "woman repeller". A golden bracelet given to him by Joey for their great frindship. Thank God for those two!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    R&R get back together.

    By Canogaparkcindy, May 25, 2011

    This is one of the things that I like about the season. Ross and Rachel finally get back together. I just thought it was a pretty weird reason to get back together for something that happened about ten years ago.The whole past thing was very funny though. The kiss was really passionate two. I like how the plot revolved around Monica's room being turned in to a gym. Poor 80s Ross, I felt really bad for him. The bracelet plot was pretty much a filler. But it was very funny. Overall a great episode but a highlight of the season. :)moreless

    0 1

  • 9.5

    Awesome

    By efc91, Aug 10, 2009

    After getting his big break, with Days of Our Lives, Joey pays Chandler back with $812 and an extremely tacky bracelet. Also, an unemployed Monica is hard up for money. And Monica and Rachel's prom video reveals Monica's former girth, Rachel's former nose and the way Ross has always felt about Rachel. This video brings Rachel to forgive Ross for the list. I used to think that this episode was over rated but now I see why everyone likes it it is funny and totally develops Ross and Rachels relationship. I now rate this a 9.5 out of 10. very good indeed.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Joey pays Chandler with some interesting gifts.

    Ross is still pining for Rachel, who's trying to move on.

    Monica's still out of a job and meets with her parents to borrow money. They bring her a box of random items, including an old prom vid

    By bd2007, Jul 27, 2007

    This show is classic "Friends" - one of my favorites! In my opinion, "Friends" really didn't hit it's stride until season 3, but there were some really amazing episodes in the first 2 seasons and this is one of them.

    The scene in which Chandler is making fun of the bracelet still cracks me up and it's always nice to see the sensitive side of Joey.

    But the real star of this episode is the prom video where we finally see the characters in high school and realize the depth of Ross' feelings for Rachel. Rachel realizes this too, which is why she kisses him, thus establishing their relationship.

    I think this was a brilliant move on the part of the writers because not only did they give us a hilarious glimpse into the past and finally get Ross and Rachel together, but they also made us care even more about this relationship because we saw just how much Ross loved her and became even more invested in the relationship.

    Overall, this episode is funny and poignant, while also moving the plot of the show forward, something that is frequently forgotten in many sitcoms.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    "See he's her lobster"

    By Monica-Geller, May 09, 2007

    This was a great episdoe and one with my favorite quotes! Rachel and Ross FINALLY get together! Monica gets a box of her old stuff from her parent's house and in it there's a video from her's and Rachel's senior prom. Ross doesn't want to watch it becasue he remembers wanting to take Rachel when her date doesn't show up but after he's gotten ready CHip shows up to Rachel to the dance. After Rachel sees this she realizes just how much he cares for her and she goes over to him and kisses him! It was perfect! I love this episode.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    The episode where Rachel gives up on the "there will never be an us" thing upon seeing the prom video.

    By tweesha37, Mar 28, 2007

    The prom video showed of one of the things Ross has done to show her love for Rachel. He excitedly wanted to go to the prom with Rachel upon knowing that Chip couldn't come. He was all excited about it. His parents were all supportive about it. However, when he was all set, (he even had the flowers for her - which he got in the vase)Chip was already downstairs. Breaking his heart into pieces. When Rachel and the gang saw this video. Rachel was really touched and he came up to Ross who was already standing in the door ready to leave. When he reached Ross, she just kissed him. And this is the official episode where Ross and Rachel have a relationship.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    The best episode for a reason

    By Starlet2586, Mar 21, 2007

    This episode of Friends is absolutely perfect. First, the Joey and Chandler storyline with the bracelets is too cute for words. Joey and Chandler are the most adorable pair of friends on television and the bracelet storyline is so funny. I love that Joey has Chandler's bracelet engraved! Phoebe and the lobsters...so funny! "Do the claws again!" Oh, Phoebs. The prom video itself is hysterical. From Rachel's nose to Monica's weight to Ross' pedophile mustache...hysterical! And of course, we all fall in love with Ross once again when we see how he was willing to save Rachel back in college when her boyfriend stands her up. And I guess, the rest is history...moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    do the claws again

    By xkelly123x, Jan 15, 2007

    After getting his big break, with Days of Our Lives, Joey pays Chandler back with $812 and an extremely tacky bracelet whch chandler then puts down in front of joey and after losing it has to buy another one with out joey knowing to prove hat a good friend he is. Also, an unemployed Monica is hard up for money. And Monica and Rachel's prom video reveals Monica's former girth, Rachel's former nose and the way Ross has always felt about Rachel. This video brings Rachel to forgive Ross for the list.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.5

    He's her lobster!

    By SMGslayer97, Nov 06, 2006

    This was a great way to finally bring Ross and Rachael together, again. Watching the prom video is great, too. You get a blast from the past that brings lot of laughs.



    Joey: Some girl ate Monica!!

    Monica: Shut up, the camera adds ten pounds.

    Chandler: Ahh, so how many cameras are actually on you?

    0 0

Load More Reviews