The One with the Rumor

Episode Reviews (19)

Superb
284 votes
9.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 6.0

    809

    By Canogaparkcindy, Sep 27, 2010

    Wow, I am astonished at overrated this episode is. Brad Pitt comes in, and everybody praises this episode? This was probably one of the "weaker" Thanksgiving episodes of Friends. I can name a lot more Thanksgiving episodes that were 10x better than this. Everything that came out Brad Pitt's mouth was incredibly annoying. It was like the jokes were too out there, and I felt as if he was trying too hard to be funny. I'm not saying Brad Pitt is a bad actor, but in this case, I didn't like his character or his acting at all for some reason. No wonder he didn't win that Emmy nomination for this episode. I found myself in awe that he was even nominated.



    The whole episode revolved over a ridiculous high school rumor, and it seemed like everyone reverted back to themselves when this show started. And how they went on & on about the 2 different parts, and Ross making out with the librarian. It was just too much, I didn't like it at all. The only thing that helped this episode was Phoebe and her surprising humor. Joey was also a bit funny eating the turkey, also exaggerated, but quite funny. All the characters except Phoebe were completely exaggerated and so were the storyline. Just didn't enjoy this Thanksgiving very much.moreless

    2 2

  • 9.0

    TOW The Rumor

    By seriesguy3998, Sep 06, 2009

    Friends Season 8 Episode 09 The One With the Rumor Monica invites an old high school friend, Will (guest star Brad Pitt), to have thanksgiving dinner with them. Rachel discovers Will and Ross started a rumor at high school about her being a hermaphrodite. Joey sets his mind on eating an entire trukey.



    The One with the Rumor is one of the funniest thanksgiving episodes. It is so funny. Sometimes I just laugh when I remember it. It was rlly good.

    "you were the hermaphrodite from Long Island?" that cracks me up.

    This episode is amazing, is so great and so funny. My recomendation:

    watch this episode!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    "Everybody at my high school heard that! (To Rachel) You were the hermaphrodite cheerleader from Long Island?!"-Chandler Bing.

    By efc1991, Jan 10, 2008

    Monica invites a high school friend, Will (Brad Pitt) to her Thanksgiving dinner. He and Ross started a rumor about Rachel having both male and female "body parts". Joey tries to eat an entire turkey. Chandler and Phoebe avoid work. Another Fan favourite episode of Friends there is no surprise that it is one of mine, best of a great eigth season of the show, Brad Pitt was great but this episode isn't all about his brilliant guest star appearence, Ross and Racheal were great argueing just like old times and Joey eating nearly an entire large turkey to himself LOL.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Best episode ever of Friends!

    By pinkOTHgirl, Oct 14, 2007

    This has to be my all-time favorite episode of Friends. Every year, the thanksgiving episode is the one to look forward to. This was no exception. We learned that Ross was in the "I Hate Rachel Club" in high school. This then leads to secrets that come out from the gang in high school. It is so funny watching everyone go back and forth with stuff! This is an episode that everyone definitely needs to watch. It will make you laugh everytime you watch it and is an episode I never have gotten tired of. Best episode of the entire series!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    In this episode one of Ross' friends from college, Will (played by Brad Pitt), comes to thanksgiving dinner. Because of this a lot of embarrassing nicknames and other secrets from college are revealed, creating some hilarious moments.

    By fieke28, Sep 23, 2007

    I thought this was one of the best episodes of all the seasons from friends. Brad Pitt has an amazing guest role and the storyline of Joey trying to eat a whole turkey is hilarious. At the end he puts on Phoebe's maternity pants, a really funny sight!



    This is one of the episodes where the whole episode takes place just in the two apartments, and this creates a great ambiance.



    It's funny to see, that although Brad Pitt and jennifer Aniston were married at that time, Brad had to pretend he really hated her and he did a excellent job I thought!



    So if you haven't seen this episode yet, you really should!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.7

    pppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp

    By ka15, Jul 17, 2007

    loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved i t loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved itloved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved it loved itloved itloved itloved itvloved itloved itloved itloved itloved itlomoreless

    0 2

  • 10

    The hilarious 'I hate Rachel club'

    By MarinaPS, May 29, 2007

    So you put together the incredibly hot Brad Pitt and the awesome tv show Friends, what is the result of that? A super funny episode where you get introduced to the 'I hate Rachel club'! Hilarious! An amazing storyline around a guy who used to be fat and Rachel used to make fun of him and he grows up to be so good looking and never forgetting about his childhood traumas with Rachel! 'The one with the Rumor' it's a classic Friends episode for me, i love the fact that the writers used Brad Pitt's character hating Rachel instead of putting them together giving their relantionship!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    Brad Pitt in the I hate Rachel Club.

    By Black_Grace, May 03, 2007

    Great episode! Joey eats a whole turkey! Monica's fat friend from high school comes over which he used to be fat and he is Brad Pitt! Oh my god! He really must of hated Rachel to be in that club with her and have Ross and some Asian dude. I can't believe Ross slept with a 50 year old teacher! Pretty weird or should I say hot stuff. They sure got Rachel with that rumor about her being part female and part male.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    One of my favourite episodes - if not the best!!!!

    By StEpHaNiE2007, Apr 29, 2007

    Friends is famous for it's Thanksgiving episodes, with every season (apart from season 2) including a Thanksgiving episode. I love all of the Thanksgiving episodes, especially The One With the Rumour.



    Brad Pitt guest stars in this episode as Monica's former fat friend, Will. It is revealed that Will used to hate Rachel Green (played by his then wife Jennifer Aniston). After dinner a lot of home truths get told, including the fact that Will and Ross started a club, the "I hate Rachel" club, and that Ross made out with the 50 year old librarian. The storylines are fantastic and sooo funny, in particular Pheobe's reactions to Will (including looking up and congratulating the heavens for Will when she sees him).



    This episode is perfect!!!! One of the best friends episodes ever!!!!moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews