Midnight

Episode Reviews (15)

Great
517 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 6.0

    Midnight

    By arkanitoo, Jul 16, 2012

    I confess that week after week I promise myself not to see the promotional video of the next episode. But I can not resist. You are so close there is one more click and we know that there are 30 seconds behind. We know more and we inevitably salivating for the next chapter.



    The promos can draw attention like no other, but are also the primary source of disillusionment. And it was thus that stuck to the promise of this being the 18th biggest surprise of the season I ran forward to viewing. And so I took the beautiful bath. Yes the water was very cold. Not only surprise was poor (not too sure if he should call a surprise) as the whole episode was, in general, boring.



    The case itself was boring. Even the top, which is usually always a good piece of suspense and terror, left much to be desired. It was easy to see that the alleged attacker was actually the victim. It is a mechanism that works well but, as is not new, it is quickly identified. It was easy to see the Observer. And above all it was easy to see that there was something wrong with those blue eyes, bright and shiny. Then begins the traditional hunting the monster, in this case a marrow-eating seductress. The investigation leads them to Dr. Nicholas Boone (Jefferson Mays), a man in a wheelchair who desperately seeks his wife. Who is she? Nothing less than the hunter and the prey of men from the FBI. Dr. Boone makes a deal: they pick up his wife and he tells everything he knows about ZFT group, alleged perpetrators of the mutation of the young.



    Done. Then follows a chase with the constant expectation of going to know the truth about this group. That's what we're here, that's what we learned more about an alleged battle between two dimensions in "Bad Dreams". Unfortunately not in the narrative manages to grab at any time and then identified the identity of the girl is nothing to show. Scenes are slow and no rhythm, as the nightclub scene with Peter (Joshua Jackson) and Olivia (Anna Torv) without rhythm or intensity and the car scene where the agent is attacked but the journey continues to look like a Sunday drive.



    The dynamic between Walter (John Noble) and Boone did not work and between the technical terms and microscopes just not to create any feeling for that which is sacrificed. Without prior leave us a clear recording with the great secret: the name of the founder of ZFT. No less than William Bell, the founder of Massive Dynamics. Surprise? Not really, anything that is not distrusted, we suspected that there is nothing, nothing we did not already know. All or nearly all, cases will lead to the same source, the same red hair that says they knew nothing. I mean, we're not so silly, or Massive Dynamics and was on one side or the other. Apparently it merges with the ZFT in fighting an enemy who does not know.



    In an episode bored we were without smiles. Only with the assurance that if this was the trump card of the season and then we can start to cry.moreless

    1 2

  • 8.5

    The Plot Thickens

    By dreamgoat, Jan 26, 2012

    Great episode, now we know who is funding ZFT. And really it was no real shocker, the company wasn't exactly nice so we should've expected this. Gripping part for me in this episode is a scientist give up the last of his spinal fluid to create a cure to save his infected wife. Now that's love, really feel sorry for the guy. Can't wait to see what happens next and what their going to do with this new information that they got on the ZFT.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.3

    Another great episode.

    By thefanof, Oct 23, 2010

    This is the kind of show Fringe needs to put on to keep those American Idol viewers sticking around. Have a psycho killer on the loose that it is not just a simple murderer, but also not too unbelievable that even the biggest sci-fi geek would disapprove of.



    My only real complaint here was that the comedy element of this show seems to disappearing. There was very minimal dialogue between Walter and Peter, and outside of a few sarcastic Peter Bishop lines, not a lot of laughs tonight. I understand there needs to be a serious tone, but every once and awhile JJ Abrams could throw us a joke.moreless

    1 3

  • 8.0

    A little more than a typical monster of the week episode.

    By D0NNER, Oct 23, 2010

    I've often criticized this show for its lack of focus when it comes to its own mythology and with this episode, it seems like the overall arc of the series has finally lurched foreword. This in itself is a good thing as it gives Fringe a sense of direction, but I felt that this episode was appealing for another reason -- it gratifies me to see people doing things simply because they are the right thing to do.



    This brings us to Dr. Boone who not only gives his wife his own spinal fluid, but later sacrifices himself to save her and then delivers on a promise as one of his final acts. Does this really excuse him doing work for ZFT? That's debatable, but a story of sacrifice and plain-old goodness in the face of evil is usually enough to make me happy.



    Fringe has been hit or miss for me; Mostly miss, but if they take the lessons of this episode and focus on humanity instead of sensationalism, I think this could become a worthy successor to The X-Files.



    "Midnight" could have been another boring monster of the week episode, but it redeemed itself with Dr. Boone and his quest to simply do the right thing.moreless

    3 0

  • 8.5

    A gruesome murderer is on the loose

    By vman85, Oct 23, 2010

    The Fringe-Team discovers a sickening serial killer on the loose who takes his victims spinal fluids but why? The team track down the man behind it, Nicholas Boone a budding scientist. Olivia questions him and Nick himself tells her they are making him do this, ZFT have his wife. Boone bargains with her get my wife back and I'll tell you everything. Well the team go to retrieve her at a restaurant but there's no sign of her, Boone finally tells Olivia that his wife is the killer and she's been infected.



    Nicholas and Walter share the laboratory in search of a cure; While Olivia and Peter scour the city in search of a pattern of her attacks. Peter and Olivia get a hint of where she might be they track her down at an underground night club. Boone makes a sacrifice to allow his wife to live. Before giving an overdose of spinal fluid for the antidote, he also films a confessional in which he names William Bell as the primary funding source for the ZFTmoreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    Someone is killing people and draining their spinal cord fluid. Olivia, Peter, and Walter go to great lengths to stop the deaths, which are happening more and more frequently.

    By cavanagh15, Oct 23, 2010

    Someone is killing people and draining their spinal cord fluid. Olivia, Peter, and Walter go to great lengths to stop the deaths, which are happening more and more frequently. I have a feeling a lot of my Fringe reviews are going to become me saying the same thing, so I will give the sum up version here as well. The show is hurt by episodes that act as standalones, like this one. Maybe they don't have enough "in the tank" so to speak to do episodes with Jones / Observer over and over again, but thats the real meat of the story. I have heard people say that these standalone episodes make the episodes with Jones better. I disagree. I think the episodes with Jones make these episodes worse, just because we are so much more interested in the big picture. If they are going to do this stadnalone stuff we need more Oliva / Peter interaction. Not that they have to get together, but just more personal connections in some way.moreless

    2 2

  • 9.5

    Another great episode!!



    Warning, spoilers contained below.

    By Dark_Davis, Oct 23, 2010

    So in this episode we find out that ZFT has someone's wife, and this person is willing to co-operate, but only when his wife is saved. A big break for the team if they could get more information on ZFT, too bad their informant died before he could tell them much. I have to admit, I really did want to know more about what Walter did to Olivia when she was little. So naturally, when they avoided touching on this, I was a little bit ticked off. Not to the point where it took away from the episode, but I really do want to know more! But all was not lost in the informant's death, as he did leave a tape with some answers. How many, we are not entirely sure of, but he did leave the name of who is funding ZFT, and that person is William Bell. I wonder how true this is, and if it is true, it makes a lot of sense. Pretty good episode, answered some big questions, even though it didn't answer some of the ones I wanted answered.moreless

    1 1

  • 9.0

    gruesome!

    By jordinajamaica, Aug 29, 2010

    A woman injected with super syphilis feeds herself with the spinal fluid from her victims. To do so she seduces them in a club and when they are alone she breaks their necks and sucks them.

    The investigations soon conduct them to a Doctor that was working for ZFT doing experiments like the supersyphilis. When he tried to leave the organitzation they infected his wife. He makes a deal with Olivia that if she brings her wife back to him alive and lets him work in an antidote for the supersyphilis he would tell Olivia all he knows about ZFT. Peter and Olivia with Charlie's help capture the wife in the club. Meanwhile Walter and the Doctor work on the antidote that ends up being based on the Doc's spinal fluid. Once they get it they injected to the wife and she gets better but the Doctor dies, not before having recorded a tape for Olivia with all the information he promised her.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.0

    Midnight

    By seriesguy3998, Aug 17, 2009

    Fringe Season 1 Episode 18 Midnight

    The Fringe Division investugates the murders of people who are drainned of their spinal coard liquid. This leads them to scientist of ZFT, who reveals his wife have been infected with an extinct Sifilis and that she's the killer. He agrees on helping the Fringe Division in telling them about ZFT if they help his wife.



    Fringe is an amazing show. This episode is so awesome, not as good as the previous "Bad Dreams but still amazing. This ep was grt. Full of suspense and revealing: according to this guy, William Bell is connecteed to ZFT! I wont continue saying anymore for the next episodes, to not spil it for the ones who havent seen it yet.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews