The Late Philip J. Fry

Episode Reviews (15)

Great
387 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    A touching and hilarious episode

    By gpph, Dec 28, 2013

    This episode is always clever, often beautiful, and at times genuinely moving; I teared up at the whole Cavern on the Green scene. It's also fucking hilarious. This is my favorite Futurama episode, and one of my favorite episodes of TV ever.

    0 0

  • 10

    I would go back in time just to watch this episode again!

    By Samuel2484, Aug 17, 2011

    Wow, what an episode! This is without a doubt, one of my favourite episodes of season 6. I love a good Futurama time-travel episode and this one definitely counts as one of them. I loved the story between Fry and Leela as they went forward in time, the different time periods that they travel to and I thought that the ending was one of the smartest things that they've ever done. *SPOILER* The idea of the universe starting from the beginning over again after the end of the universe was a fantastic theory to put into the story, nearing the end of the universe I started to suspect that that's what might happen, but I loved the "kinda" flash backs through Futurama's history as they traveled nearer and nearer to the present, with the aliens destroying Earth, the rebuilt castles and seeing the conference room's past with little winks to previous episodes and I just thought that this episode was fantastic. The side story worked as well and I would have to give this episode a 9/10. Good going Futurama!moreless

    11 0

  • 9.0

    Great and defining episode in the same way as The Farnsworth Parabox and Time Keeps On Slippin'

    By realitybytez, May 13, 2011

    Fry is developing a habit of being late everywhere he goes, including being there to celebrate Leela's birthday. Right before he is about to leave to go see Leela, he travels with the Professor and Bender in a time machine that only travels forward in time. The trio then has to figure out a way to get back to their own time..



    ___________



    Great and defining episode in the same mindtwisting way as The Farnsworth Parabox, Time Keeps On Slippin' and The Sting. Same kind apocalyptic, time-jumping science fiction humour.



    Without a doubt, the fans put heavy expectations and pressure on the new season, but this delivers. Futurama has maybe lost some of it's edge, but I hope they manage to keep the series multi-layered, original and subtle, filled with good ideas.



    This one goes right next to the classic top rated episodes. 9/10moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    The most stimulating episode of the new season so far...one can only wonder if the level of quality here will be sustained until September.

    By GESM123, May 13, 2011

    The ersatz crap we sat through over the past month finally seems to be subsiding.

    Finally, the characters and plots are the primacy rather than the jokes; even you Futurama apologists who disregard the lack of gentility in the newer episodes while praising the expressive eclecticism of the earlier ones will likely agree that this is the zenith of season 6. I won't ruin the plot for those of you who don't take kindly to spoilers, but I can guarantee that it never slips into mundanity or seems characterless; there isn't a single moment here where the jokes cause the plot to become monotonous tedium. Perhaps it's because their purpose is to accentuate the story line rather than overwhelm it, unlike those in previous episodes. My only gripe with this episode is how protracted the plot (seems to) become towards the end (which may come off to some viewers as excess ambition), but that's a minor complaint that most likely won't be affecting too much of the audience.moreless

    7 0

  • 10

    Futurama at its best, and what a blast it was!

    By AdrenalinDragon, Feb 20, 2011

    "The Late Philip J. Fry"



    Grade: A*



    Easily one of the best episodes of Futurama ever! The episode was very funny, but what made it stand out for me was the time-travel storyline. I liked catching all the past Futurama references, as well as the changes of history throughout time travel, plus I loved that song they used for it. The animation was beautiful, and the whole thing was well written and Emmy worthy indeed.



    Not only was the episode exciting and full of good jokes, but the emotional aspect of Leela missing Fry was also very touching. The message that she leaves for him is tearjerker worthy, as Fry realises he has to move on and accept that he had a great life with her, was kind of a bittersweet moment. Despite realising that the whole universe was in a repeated time-loop, it was nice to end the episode with Fry reaching on-time for the date with Leela. Overall, I'm going to give this one a 10/10, and it's by far the best episode of this season so far!moreless

    18 2

  • 10

    The Proffesser takes Fry and Bender into his time machine that can only go forward in time. So they just keep on going, hoping to get to a time in which the technology exists to go backwards in time.

    By Partdridge, Feb 16, 2011

    This is an absolutely brilliant episode of "Futurama!" The Whole time travelling thing can get done to death in science fiction shows, but I think this is the first time the "Futurama" characters have gone even further ahead in time than the future they live in.



    Yes this episode has it all. Its hilarious and clever and its plot is ingenious and jam packed with ideas. What could really go wrong with an episode that has all the best lead characters in the show trapped together in a time machine? Though the always too serious Leela does feature in a relevant side story, that does works in well with the entire first class storyline.moreless

    3 0

  • 9.0

    Very creative and funny.

    By LukeJames525, Feb 16, 2011

    After a great and heartwarming episode with Bender, I thought the following episode wouldn't be nearly as good. It turns out I was wrong, because this episode was amazing! Everything went right! From the hilarious opening to the touching message from Leela to Fry, every moment of this episode was entertaining. I loved the plot, it was highly original, and there were also plenty of funny gags. I liked Elzar's birthday song, the forward time machine, and every moment in the future that was visited. There also wasn't a single cringeworthy moment in the whole episode. This episode was definitely one of the stronger episodes of this season. I hope we get more episodes this season as good as this one.moreless

    5 0

  • 8.0

    An episode you'll think about for days

    By JohnWeston, Nov 13, 2010

    The Human mind cannot fathom infinity nor the End of Everything (wouldn't let me all cap that) and this episode went there...Twice!. Not to spoil anything but 2 days later I'm still thinking about this episode and life in general. There were funny moments like 30 years later with Leela in charge and some of the Futures that are impossibly far into the future. Like unfathomably far. Some of them really funny (Humans enslaved by a Giraffe) others W.T.F. (Swordsmen on birds sticking said swords in ones anal cavity) The Episode gets really deep near the end and to me disturbing. Though I highly doubt that this is how it'll all go down (and the unfathomable to us timeframe in which it happens) it still makes you think. Although there are inconsitancies with other episodes (Nibblonians, God, the Eyncylopod) it doesn't take away from from overall impact of the episode. There's LOTS of humor, alot of emotion and development of Fry and Leela's relationship. And an ending that goes were no American show has gone before. Anime like Akira, Eveangelion, Trigun, and Wolf's rain have gone where this episode goes but no NO other American show does what this single episode has done. I give it an 8 though because there are unaddressed inconsistencies....and I can't forgive hitting Elanor Roosevelt either. But this episode really messed with my head and that makes it genius.moreless

    3 2

  • 9.0

    Fry gets pulled into another adventure as he journeys with Bender and the Professor in the Professor's new time machine. Only problem is, it only goes forward in time.

    By paul_panhook, Nov 13, 2010

    What at best, is a creative episode, "The Late Philip J. Fry" is kept simple but smart. It's fun to see some of the funniest characters travel throughout time and space, getting their retrospect on how things turn out. Another Futurama storyline dealing with time travel is fun, but isn't it’s most sophisticated. On the other hand, it’s more of another episode dealing with the Fry and Leela relationship and reassuring fans more than ever, that they were made for each other. I also like the ending and its outtake on the theory of the end of the universe. To say the least, it’s definitely worth a watch.moreless

    3 1

Load More Reviews