Where No Fan Has Gone Before

Episode Reviews (14)

Superb
340 votes
9.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Best Ever (from a Trekkie's point of view)

    By mobbs456, Apr 01, 2010

    As a fan of Star Trek (TNG and OS) I really, really, really love this episode.

    The comedy factor is turned all the way up to eleven and the story itself is very Trek like indeed. All the main characters are great - Fry in his fanlike state, Bender's no car attitude, Leela making out with James T Kirk and Brannigan's Court Martial.



    But its the guest stars that rule this episode. Leonard Nimoy (who is a frequent guest star), William Shatner, Nichelle Nichols, Walter Koeing, George Takei and even a bit part by John Franks. So overall another fantastic episode of Futurama - I Highly Recommend this to every single person out there. Live Long and Prosper.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    A Great Crossover Episode. Matt Groening and David X. Cohen are never gona run out of ideas.

    By Samuel2484, Jan 10, 2009

    What an episode! This really blew me away. I mean you've got Star Trek and on top of that you've got Futurama. When I first heard of this episode I was thinking " I hope they crossover with one of the good 'Star Trek' series" and they completely nailed it by doing the "Original Series". This was one of my favourite episodes. what was also great was that they got the actual actors to do the voices of the Star Trek Crew and it was so funny! The writers have got to be pretty good to be able to write a "Star Trek" Themed Episode on "Futurama" and still be able to make it funny. A Great episode, Watch it, you'll love it! "Resistance is Futile!"moreless

    1 0

  • 9.9

    Unbelievable brilliant parody of Star Trek TOS

    By hrtonslv, Aug 21, 2008

    I'm quite sure the Trekkies (I'm one of them) were totally amused by this episode for two reasons. First, it is of our cult show with most of the original characters speaking the voice of their won character, and two, an extremely well referenced script cleverly crafting facts and data from the original episodes that were not only right on, but hilariously funny! Frye even got the episode numbers right! I'm quite sure the writer did a lot of research and fact finding of the Star Trek episodes in preparing the script. The first time I saw it was with a bunch of younger guys than me and at each commercial break I was going on and on about the "in" jokes the show referenced and explaining the connection of the jokes to the old episodes.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Parody, the final frontier.

    By MightyElroy, Apr 10, 2008

    This is one of those special episodes that shows how good Futurama can be at making parodies of our pop culture. It is hard to find a bigger pop culture icon than Star Trek, and this episode is a work of genius. Having most of the surviving orignal cast (plus a TNG cameo) was perfect. The script was outstanding, the jokes were perfectly timed, and the little Trek touches were the icing on the cake. This shows that the producers, writers, and director of this show really cared about Star Trek, and although they made fun of it, it was all done in good spirit and with a quirky sort of respect. Congrats on a fine episode.moreless

    2 0

  • 8.6

    Plain old wierd, but a good episode

    By Iverson82094, Jan 28, 2008

    Fry is put on trial for his life for traveling to the forbidden planet of Omega 3 to retrieve all 79 episodes of "Star Trek", and he must defend the claim that human kind needs "Star Trek" to give them hope for the future. In the 23rd Century, "Star Trek" fans had evolved to such a level that they corrupted the world's governments and all things "Star Trek" were then banned to Omega 3. Fry sets out on his mission with Leela, Bender and Leonard Nimoy's head in a jar, only to discover William Shatner, Nichelle Nichols, George Takei and Walter Koening are living on Omega 3 under the watchful eye of Melllvar, an evil energy creature -- and "Star Trek's" biggest fan.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.5

    Going where many fans have loved going before

    By Japanthewoman, Dec 12, 2007

    I loved this episode. There were so many Trekkie in jokes. I found the whole episode enjoyable all the way through and it's one of my favorite ones to watch again and again on the DVDs. I love how everyone of the Star Trek cast is willing to parody themselves, especially William Shatner. What makes me enjoy this episode even more is the fact I actually understand all of the jokes, I like what that says about me. I had been thoroughly enjoying the series and I knew it was only a matter of time before they made reference to this particular science fiction classic.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    In my opinion, this episode is one of the best in Futurama. There are a few references to Star Trek throughout the series and they are finally addressed in this episode.

    By thedeathdefyer, Aug 05, 2007

    We have all heard Fry spit out a few references to Star Trek throughout Futurama and this episode finally pays tribute to that.



    The classic TOS style that accompianies this episode couldn't have been done better. From the music to the jokes they all fit in with that classic Trek feel. My favourite memory of this episode was the witty jokes that I have come to expect from Futurama, such as "My foot's cold" after William Shatner tosses his shoe away. I would reccomment this episode to anyone that a) likes Star Trek and b) is a fan of Futurama. It's one of the best.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.7

    Planet Express ship vs Enterprise

    By mataletea, Feb 03, 2007

    As the title suggests this episode has a high content of Star Trek content. The fact that Star Trek has been banned is contradicted a little from previous episodes but still makes for a very fuuny premise.



    With the characters confusing past events like the Star Trek Wars and the Star Wars Trek. The surviving members of the original Star Trek series all make cameos in this episode.



    Fry is very passionate, urging the rest of the crew to help him rescue the banned tapes, with the others not really understanding why he cared so much about a television program.



    Fry battling Melllvar for the right to be called the ultimate Star Trek fan is a highlight.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Star Trek meets The Planet Express

    By Carnego, Jul 20, 2006

    This was the funniest episode of Futurama that I have ever seen. William Shatner and his crew are stuck on a planet with a Energy-Being, who is a fan of Star Trek, and the Planet Express crew is there as well. Melllvar starts a Star trek convention that is filled with events like Shatner talking the rap Slim Shadie, autograph signings, and a Star Trek trivia game which Fry wins. Melllvar then puts the Star Trek crew in a battle to the death with The Planet Express crew. The Planet Express crew is winning but, they decide to work together and escape. This is one of the reasons why the show was so good and had so many fans.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews