Garth Marenghi's Darkplace

Show Reviews (14)

Great
216 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.8

    Despite its rather short life, Garth Marenghi's Darkplace remains a comedy classic.

    By Calfkiller, Jun 10, 2011

    It's really hard to describe why Garth Marenghi's Darkplace is so good. Yes, it is incredibly funny. It is inteligently written and perfectedly performed. It shows astonishing attention to detail and a pitch perfect understanding of the material it is lampooning. But really, I think the biggest success of Darkplace is its wonderful collection of characters and a exceptionaly talented group of actors who brought them to life.



    At only 6 episodes long, it's surprising just how varied the episode are. From the opener which features the doors to hell opening up in a hospital in Romford, through to the finale with its infection of cosmic broccoli, you simply know that Darkplace is something different.



    The real strength of Darkplace is Garth Marenghi himself. Not merely content to be a successful writer, he has seen to the need to spread his genius via the medium of television. The sheer egotism of Garth Marenghi is hilarious enough, but his all round brilliance in everything he touches is even more so. Really, Darkplace is the biggest ego trip of any actor/writer/producer/director/etc, in the history of mankind.



    But what really makes Darkplace such a joy to watch is the wonderful one liners that pepper the scripts and elevate ordinary scenes into the absurd. From Garth's publisher Dean Learner, possibly one of the greatest comedic creations since Alan Partridge, through to the ditzy Dr. Liz Asher suffering the un-PC world of Garth, and onto the trigger happy Dr. Lucien Sanchez, Darkplace pokes fun in a way that makes you realise that it is only a few edited cuts from complete seriousness.



    Garth Marenghi's Darkplace may not have set the world alight as Garth himself predicted, but its lasting lecagy is 6 of the finest pieces of episodic comedy to come out of the UK in years. I could feel bitter and annoyed that it was never allowed to continue, but knowing that we have at least been giving the opportunity to step into the mind of Garth Marenghi himself for even a brief tour is simply more than enough to last a lifetime.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Darkplace is superb!

    By stephenage, Dec 12, 2007

    So manty people hate this programme and I don't know why, the immagination is brillaint and the spoof horror has had me crying with laughter. The way the show makes it self look bad is genius but some people just don't get it come on guys it's a comedy just sit back and enjoy. Actors playing actors playing characters is highly amusing and theres such a good cast including many of boosh fame, the ammount of cameos is brilliant Stephen Merchant turning up in episode two was a hilarious surprise and Jullien Barret popping up every now and then you have to love it. And to top it off the one and only Noel Fielding playing a monkey man!!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    A stylised comedy masterpiece that deserves more attention.

    By scott_naylor, Jul 30, 2007

    For anyone that is not sure of the premise of this series, its a show that was supposed to originally have been filmed in the 1980s and has since earned a cult reputation as one of the most terrifying and radical television programmes ever made. In-fact it wasn't but that is the premise. Instead it was made in 2004, so you really need to buy into the fact that the series has been made to look the way it looks on purpose, this is where most of the none verbal comedy comes from. You will notice props disapearing, actors stumbling lines & some of the most bizzare plot lines that you can imagine. This is a very underrated modern classic, try it out you wont be disappointed.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    hhhmmm....

    By Cool_cutedude, May 05, 2007

    Garth Marenghi's Darkplace is the brainchild of celebrated horror writer and self-styled "fabulist" Garth Marenghi, author of such genre classics as Afterbirth (a mutated placenta attacks Bristol) and Crab! ("One of the three best horror books about crabs I've ever read" - Hard Gore Magazine). Back in the 1980s, he branched out into television production, writing and starring in a series so radical, so scary and so downright crazy that when the bosses of Channel 4 saw what they had on their hands, they ran away screaming, like little girls. Only now, twenty years on and amid the worst programming drought in television history, have the station finally allowed the show on the air. Intercut with new interviews with Marenghi himself and his co-stars Dean Learner and Todd Rivers, Garth Marenghi's Darkplace is perhaps the most disturbing vision of hospital life ever broadcast.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.3

    "Garth Marenghi's what?"

    By shashi_, Mar 09, 2007

    This is one of those TV shows that just confuse you from the beginning, making you want to turn it off thinking "Is this real?"

    But you continue watching it.

    And realise that it is actually genius.

    They've made it so bad that it's actually funny, on purpose.

    Everyone should know Richard Ayodade from Channel 4's "The IT crowd". He's incredible with his alter ego "Dean Learner" i'd never heard of this until i was browsing Teleport TV, and it was above "Green Wing" in comedy. My friend and I decided to watch it.. 4 episodes later we're both splitting our sides with laughter.

    It's pure comedy and fun.

    R.I.P Skipper, Killed by wasps.

    Any more series?moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    Original and hilarious.

    By jacksback21, Dec 20, 2006

    A few words sum up everything that makes Garth Marenghi's Darkplace great; poor acting, terrible effects, bizarre script, no real plot, but fantastic humour. Obviously the terrible acting etc is on purpose, and its odd to say it, but the actors do a great job.



    Such is the extent of the greatness of this show that I will always remember such things as Dean Learner; the man who cannot act, One track Lover; fantastic song (and video) and finally a monkey on a bicycle being chased by a doctor on a bicycle. You cannot beat this type of comedy, its just pure TV gold.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.8

    Great Show!

    By ronin1272, Aug 31, 2006

    I caught an episode of this last week on the Sci-fi channel and was immediately hooked. I hurriedly set my DVR to record anymore episodes. I was disappointed to find that the shows run was so short. I do hope that it finds its way to DVD soon, as my DVR is not showing it coming on again anytime soon. I saw the episode about telekinesis and couldn't stop laughing at the absurdity of the "show". It is very well written and does remind one of an 80's television show. I loved the cut-in bits from the writer and the producer. I eagerly await my for my DVR to tape me some more. Enjoy!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.3

    The summary is based on little stories by a man named Garth Marenghi's Darkplace where it tells of all these weird things that go on at this hospital that these docters work at and find a way to stop it

    By oldblue80, Aug 27, 2006

    Hilarious you cant describe it in a funny way you just have to see it to understand the humor because if you try to tell someone how it goes it isn't as funny as watching it because they as in the tv show have the acting part and I dont so when i try to tell a friend about it it's hard to get them to see the humor with you explaining it but I really enjoyed it alot it is one of the shows that I like to watch but I dont know what time or on what days it is on i've seen it a couple of late nights on the sci-fi channel but also one of my friends showed it to me on the computer and thats when I first saw it and loved itmoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    This show is easily the funniest thing I have seen in years.

    By noonblueapples, Aug 01, 2006

    Darkplace is absolutely brilliant. It is funny beyond belief. The way they spoof 80's television is perfect down to every little detail. You can watch the episodes multiple times and find new subtle jokes. Why they would cancel such a show is beyond reason, because besides being hillarious as hell, the show has some of the best characters and probably the most quotable lines ever. Even though there are only 6 episodes I would easily place this show in my top ten. It is pure genius, laugh out loud, pee your pants comedy at its best. In an age where TV has gone to crap, this show is an amazing relief. God I wish there was a US DVD.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.5

    funny show

    By chrismart83, Mar 16, 2006

    garth marenghi's darkplace is a funny comedy which is underapprciated here in the uk. if you mention the show not many people will know what your talking about. but dont let that put you off, the show is about strange paranormal goings on in a hospital and features great characters and funny story lines, give it a try.

    0 0

Load More Reviews